LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


External flash and 7D sometimes work?

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 14 Feb 2010 (Sunday) 05:38   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
Aznattic
Mostly Lurking
Joined Jan 2009
13 posts
Houston, TX
[MORE/SHARE]

I got a 7D about a week ago, and i have a strange problem with my external Sigma EF-500 DG Super flash and the 7D.

The problem is that sometimes the Sigma works, sometimes it does not. The flash could be charged and ready but it still won't light up. The flash's light meter checks all the time, but yet the flash still doesn't fire sometimes. When it does, most of the time the pictures are greatly over exposed even with the flash set at +-0 and the shutter speed high and the iso low on the camera. The Sigma's flash shoe horn lock is messed up, but the flash always worked on my XTI and currently works great on an XT body with no issues.

Is there something i missed in the 7D manual? I currently don't have another external flash to test whether it is the body that has a problem.

Ideas? Thanks.

Post #1, Feb 14, 2010 05:38:43




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
oldvultureface
Goldmember
oldvultureface's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
3,931 posts
Northwest Indiana
[MORE/SHARE]

Without having a Canon branded flash available, the only thing I can suggest is to clean the contacts on the hot shoe and flash.

Post #2, Feb 14, 2010 06:35:44


OVF

LOG IN TO REPLY
Aznattic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Jan 2009
13 posts
Houston, TX
[MORE/SHARE]

I am trying to borrow one today, i just find it would be extremely odd for it to work fine in an XTI, XT, body but a 7D body it refuses to work on properly? =/

When i go through the 7D's menu and disable flash altogether, the flash doesn't work at all, which is good.

I just tested out some shots both same shutter speed, iso, F stop; only difference was a -+0 and a +3 setting on the flash. Both looked equally overexposed, as if the level of flash power means nothing.

Post #3, Feb 14, 2010 07:05:25




LOG IN TO REPLY
swjim
Goldmember
Joined Jan 2006
1,662 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

My money says that the IR signal was getting interrupted in some way. Where were you shooting when you had the problems?

Post #4, Feb 14, 2010 08:30:47


Jim
[URL="http://photograp​hy-on-the.net/forum/showpost​.php?p=9591991&postcou​nt=2208%22[URL=%22[URL​]http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showpost​.php?p=9591991&postcou​nt=2208[/URL"]Gear List
[URL="http://photograp​hy-on-the.net/forum/showpost​.php?p=9593935&postcou​nt=2"]

LOG IN TO REPLY
Aznattic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Jan 2009
13 posts
Houston, TX
[MORE/SHARE]

Today i took it out to mardis gras at night. External flash wouldn't work at all. Had some time to play with it in the car, worked sometimes or over exposed. Tried it in my house with medium amounts of light, didn't work or over exposed. Tried it with the XT, works perfectly, i could control the flash exposure and actually have it work once again.

I had this problem earlier this week while messing around with the 7D, and i thought the shoehorn lock was just acting up again but it works fine on the XT.

Still trying to get my hands on a Canon flash to fully confirm, i just don't see why the Sigma flash wouldn't work though.

Post #5, Feb 14, 2010 08:53:27




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
eosphotomanoftennessee
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2008
268 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

From what I can see from the Sigma specs your 500 model is TTL but NOT E-TTL as would be required for automatic metering for new Canons.

Post #6, Feb 14, 2010 09:55:40


Doug, osphotoman@yahoo.com
7D
;), Canon SX1 IS, Film Rebel for history
300L, 70-200L, 50 1.8, 28-105 EF, Sigma 18-50 EF-S
580Speedlite, AB Ring Flash, Excalibur 320, 2- Morris Optical Slaves
Adobe CS5 Extended, Wacom Graphics Tablet

LOG IN TO REPLY
Aznattic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Jan 2009
13 posts
Houston, TX
[MORE/SHARE]

The flash does support ETTL II though. Now i am starting to think it is the camera.

Even though the flash isn't Canon, shouldn't i be able to adjust it's settings in the Menu Flash option? It does not let me.

Post #7, Feb 17, 2010 07:57:43




LOG IN TO REPLY
agv8or
Goldmember
agv8or's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
1,141 posts
Midwest
[MORE/SHARE]

Aznattic wrote in post #9626148external link
The flash does support ETTL II though. Now i am starting to think it is the camera.

Even though the flash isn't Canon, shouldn't i be able to adjust it's settings in the Menu Flash option? It does not let me.


The cameras flash menu only works with the 580EXII and 430EXII. Even the older 580EX, 430EX and 550EX will not work with the cameras flash menu for adjusting flash settings.

Post #8, Feb 17, 2010 09:07:32


Rand

Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
msowsun's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
8,423 posts
Oakville Ont. Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

Aznattic wrote in post #9606411external link
The Sigma's flash shoe horn lock is messed up, but the flash always worked on my XTI and currently works great on an XT body with no issues.

That is probably the problem.

The 40D, 50D, 7D, 5D Mk II, 1D Mk III and Mk IV, all have a slightly different hotshoe to accommodate the 580EX II weather seal rubber boot.

This may be enough to cause contact problems with your "Messed up" Sigma flash.

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40_5D2.jpg

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40D_40D2.jpg

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40Dshoe.jpg
IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40_30Dshoe.jpg

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40_500D.jpg

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40_450D.jpg

Post #9, Feb 17, 2010 09:56:24


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 5D Mk III / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / EF 100mm 2.8 Macro USM / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF Extender 1.4x II /
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostreamexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
speedline_fc
Senior Member
speedline_fc's Avatar
Joined Jun 2007
281 posts
So Cal
[MORE/SHARE]

There's an update for for the Sigma EF 500 DG flash to make it compatible with the 50D and 7D. I can't find the original posts that I read a few months ago, but here's a thread that refers to it

http://photography-on-the.net .../showthread.php?p=9​529364

I contacted Sigma a couple months ago and asked them about the existence of a fix for the EF 500 DG and the person that wrote back said:

Thank you for choosing Sigma products.



The update is only available for the flash designated with the EO ETTL II on the back of it.



You would send the flash to the address below with a note describing why you are sending it in with your contact information.



Sigma Corporation of America

15 Fleetwood Court

Ronkonkoma, NY 11779

ATt: Service Department

Post #10, Feb 17, 2010 16:06:35


My Flickrexternal link
http://photography-on-the.net ...php?p=9822373#post9​822373

LOG IN TO REPLY
astrocrab
Hatchling
Joined Nov 2010
1 post
[MORE/SHARE]

Aznattic wrote in post #9606411external link
I got a 7D about a week ago, and i have a strange problem with my external Sigma EF-500 DG Super flash and the 7D.

The problem is that sometimes the Sigma works, sometimes it does not.
Is there something i missed in the 7D manual? I currently don't have another external flash to test whether it is the body that has a problem.

Ideas? Thanks.

i just have upgrade my 7d with a new 1.2.3 version firmware and this sigma flash +7d issue has gone. i have tryed 70 shoots and there is no missed flash at all. (i have sigma 530 super and 7d)

Post #11, Nov 25, 2010 16:47:47




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)


LIST NEARBY THREADS
2,846 views & 0 likes for this thread
External flash and 7D sometimes work?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00082 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
937 guests, 759 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Beatle807

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.