Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 14 Feb 2010 (Sunday) 05:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

External flash and 7D sometimes work?

 
Aznattic
Member
34 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Houston, TX
     
Feb 14, 2010 05:38 |  #1

I got a 7D about a week ago, and i have a strange problem with my external Sigma EF-500 DG Super flash and the 7D.

The problem is that sometimes the Sigma works, sometimes it does not. The flash could be charged and ready but it still won't light up. The flash's light meter checks all the time, but yet the flash still doesn't fire sometimes. When it does, most of the time the pictures are greatly over exposed even with the flash set at +-0 and the shutter speed high and the iso low on the camera. The Sigma's flash shoe horn lock is messed up, but the flash always worked on my XTI and currently works great on an XT body with no issues.

Is there something i missed in the 7D manual? I currently don't have another external flash to test whether it is the body that has a problem.

Ideas? Thanks.


7D II - Canon 24-70 II F2.8 - Sigma 85 1.4 - Sigma 30mm 1.4 - Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,213 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 212
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Feb 14, 2010 06:35 |  #2

Without having a Canon branded flash available, the only thing I can suggest is to clean the contacts on the hot shoe and flash.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aznattic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
34 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Houston, TX
     
Feb 14, 2010 07:05 |  #3

I am trying to borrow one today, i just find it would be extremely odd for it to work fine in an XTI, XT, body but a 7D body it refuses to work on properly? =/

When i go through the 7D's menu and disable flash altogether, the flash doesn't work at all, which is good.

I just tested out some shots both same shutter speed, iso, F stop; only difference was a -+0 and a +3 setting on the flash. Both looked equally overexposed, as if the level of flash power means nothing.


7D II - Canon 24-70 II F2.8 - Sigma 85 1.4 - Sigma 30mm 1.4 - Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
swjim
Goldmember
1,663 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2006
     
Feb 14, 2010 08:30 |  #4

My money says that the IR signal was getting interrupted in some way. Where were you shooting when you had the problems?


Jim

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aznattic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
34 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Houston, TX
     
Feb 14, 2010 08:53 |  #5

Today i took it out to mardis gras at night. External flash wouldn't work at all. Had some time to play with it in the car, worked sometimes or over exposed. Tried it in my house with medium amounts of light, didn't work or over exposed. Tried it with the XT, works perfectly, i could control the flash exposure and actually have it work once again.

I had this problem earlier this week while messing around with the 7D, and i thought the shoehorn lock was just acting up again but it works fine on the XT.

Still trying to get my hands on a Canon flash to fully confirm, i just don't see why the Sigma flash wouldn't work though.


7D II - Canon 24-70 II F2.8 - Sigma 85 1.4 - Sigma 30mm 1.4 - Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eosphotomanoftennessee
Senior Member
268 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Feb 14, 2010 09:55 |  #6

From what I can see from the Sigma specs your 500 model is TTL but NOT E-TTL as would be required for automatic metering for new Canons.


Doug, osphotoman@yahoo.com (external link)
7D
;), Canon SX1 IS, Film Rebel for history
300L, 70-200L, 50 1.8, 28-105 EF, Sigma 18-50 EF-S
580Speedlite, AB Ring Flash, Excalibur 320, 2- Morris Optical Slaves
Adobe CS5 Extended, Wacom Graphics Tablet

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aznattic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
34 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Houston, TX
     
Feb 17, 2010 07:57 |  #7

The flash does support ETTL II though. Now i am starting to think it is the camera.

Even though the flash isn't Canon, shouldn't i be able to adjust it's settings in the Menu Flash option? It does not let me.


7D II - Canon 24-70 II F2.8 - Sigma 85 1.4 - Sigma 30mm 1.4 - Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agv8or
Goldmember
Avatar
2,148 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 358
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Midwest
     
Feb 17, 2010 09:07 |  #8

Aznattic wrote in post #9626148 (external link)
The flash does support ETTL II though. Now i am starting to think it is the camera.

Even though the flash isn't Canon, shouldn't i be able to adjust it's settings in the Menu Flash option? It does not let me.


The cameras flash menu only works with the 580EXII and 430EXII. Even the older 580EX, 430EX and 550EX will not work with the cameras flash menu for adjusting flash settings.


Rand

Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,203 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 226
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Feb 17, 2010 09:56 |  #9

Aznattic wrote in post #9606411 (external link)
The Sigma's flash shoe horn lock is messed up, but the flash always worked on my XTI and currently works great on an XT body with no issues.

That is probably the problem.

The 40D, 50D, 7D, 5D Mk II, 1D Mk III and Mk IV, all have a slightly different hotshoe to accommodate the 580EX II weather seal rubber boot.

This may be enough to cause contact problems with your "Messed up" Sigma flash.

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40_5D2.jpg

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40D_40D2.jpg

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40Dshoe.jpg
IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40_30Dshoe.jpg

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40_500D.jpg

IMAGE: http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/msowsun/photo%20stuff/Newer/40_450D.jpg

Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
speedline_fc
Senior Member
Avatar
282 posts
Joined Jun 2007
Location: So Cal
     
Feb 17, 2010 16:06 |  #10

There's an update for for the Sigma EF 500 DG flash to make it compatible with the 50D and 7D. I can't find the original posts that I read a few months ago, but here's a thread that refers to it

http://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?p=9529364

I contacted Sigma a couple months ago and asked them about the existence of a fix for the EF 500 DG and the person that wrote back said:

Thank you for choosing Sigma products.



The update is only available for the flash designated with the EO ETTL II on the back of it.



You would send the flash to the address below with a note describing why you are sending it in with your contact information.



Sigma Corporation of America

15 Fleetwood Court

Ronkonkoma, NY 11779

ATt: Service Department


My Flickr (external link)
http://photography-on-the.net …php?p=9822373#p​ost9822373

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
astrocrab
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Nov 2010
     
Nov 25, 2010 16:47 |  #11

Aznattic wrote in post #9606411 (external link)
I got a 7D about a week ago, and i have a strange problem with my external Sigma EF-500 DG Super flash and the 7D.

The problem is that sometimes the Sigma works, sometimes it does not.
Is there something i missed in the 7D manual? I currently don't have another external flash to test whether it is the body that has a problem.

Ideas? Thanks.

i just have upgrade my 7d with a new 1.2.3 version firmware and this sigma flash +7d issue has gone. i have tryed 70 shoots and there is no missed flash at all. (i have sigma 530 super and 7d)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,015 views & 0 likes for this thread
External flash and 7D sometimes work?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Chris1978
815 guests, 449 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.