LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Shutter speed with video?

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 26 Feb 2010 (Friday) 23:05   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
musicmaster
Saw the Light
Joined Dec 2007
841 posts
Naperville, IL
[MORE/SHARE]

This confused me today while messing with my 7D - that you select the shutter speed... I'm like wait, the shutter isn't being used!

Can someone explain that to me?

Also, why are the video files so large? a 1 minute 1080p video was almost 350MB. Considering blu-ray discs are 25GB and contain 2+ hours of video, at that rate, only 75 minutes would fit on a blu-ray disc.

Post #1, Feb 26, 2010 23:05:38


Gripped 7D, Tamron 17-50 F/2.8, 70-200L F/2.8, 300L F/4 IS, Canon 50 1.4, 2x YN-460 II, 430EX, Cybersync
Want list: 300mm F/2.8, Sigma 30 F/1.4.
www.bgimaging.netexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
haknslash
Senior Member
haknslash's Avatar
Joined Nov 2009
425 posts
Crimson Tide state
[MORE/SHARE]

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=805807

Basically your sensor is turning off and on.

Yes the RAW file size is huge. However most people edit and the file size will drop. Especially if you transcode to a different format prior to post.

Post #2, Feb 26, 2010 23:23:10


7D | 50 f/1.4 | 85 f/1.8 | 135 f/2 L | 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
gotak
Senior Member
Joined May 2009
949 posts
Toronto, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

The shutter speed is controlling a electronic shutter. Basically how often the image is read off the sensor. And like stills you can "freeze" motion with faster shutter, sort of anyhow. Try say a fan and take videos of it at different shutter speeds with the 7D. You'll see what I mean. In general, you can keep it from 1/30 to 1/60 and things will be good. If you want to get momentary frozen images in your video then set higher shutters.

As for size. Well you are trying to compress a lot of data in real time. And while there's two digic 4s we don't know for sure they are being used for video. I believe in the 5D2 a separate encoder chip is used for video. Anyhow, it makes sense (from a power consumption point of view) that a lower compression ratio is a good. To achieve higher compression they would need a more powerful encoder which will most likely draw more power.

Post #3, Feb 26, 2010 23:24:36


http://bubble-trees.com/external link
7D x2,, 50 f1.8, 11-16 f2.8, 17-55 f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 IS II, 100 2.8L, 430EX, 580EX, Di866, pixel king wireless TTL trigger.

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
648 views & 0 likes for this thread
Shutter speed with video?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00148 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1011 guests, 811 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is JohnHensley

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.