Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 26 Feb 2010 (Friday) 23:05
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Shutter speed with video?

Saw the Light
841 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Naperville, IL
Feb 26, 2010 23:05 |  #1

This confused me today while messing with my 7D - that you select the shutter speed... I'm like wait, the shutter isn't being used!

Can someone explain that to me?

Also, why are the video files so large? a 1 minute 1080p video was almost 350MB. Considering blu-ray discs are 25GB and contain 2+ hours of video, at that rate, only 75 minutes would fit on a blu-ray disc.

Gripped 7D, Tamron 17-50 F/2.8, 70-200L F/2.8, 300L F/4 IS, Canon 50 1.4, 2x YN-460 II, 430EX, Cybersync
Want list: 300mm F/2.8, Sigma 30 F/1.4.
www.bgimaging.netexternal link

Senior Member
haknslash's Avatar
425 posts
Joined Nov 2009
Crimson Tide state
Feb 26, 2010 23:23 |  #2​ad.php?t=805807

Basically your sensor is turning off and on.

Yes the RAW file size is huge. However most people edit and the file size will drop. Especially if you transcode to a different format prior to post.

7D | 50 f/1.4 | 85 f/1.8 | 135 f/2 L | 430EX II

Senior Member
949 posts
Joined May 2009
Toronto, Canada
Feb 26, 2010 23:24 |  #3

The shutter speed is controlling a electronic shutter. Basically how often the image is read off the sensor. And like stills you can "freeze" motion with faster shutter, sort of anyhow. Try say a fan and take videos of it at different shutter speeds with the 7D. You'll see what I mean. In general, you can keep it from 1/30 to 1/60 and things will be good. If you want to get momentary frozen images in your video then set higher shutters.

As for size. Well you are trying to compress a lot of data in real time. And while there's two digic 4s we don't know for sure they are being used for video. I believe in the 5D2 a separate encoder chip is used for video. Anyhow, it makes sense (from a power consumption point of view) that a lower compression ratio is a good. To achieve higher compression they would need a more powerful encoder which will most likely draw more power. link
7D x2,, 50 f1.8, 11-16 f2.8, 17-55 f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 IS II, 100 2.8L, 430EX, 580EX, Di866, pixel king wireless TTL trigger.


722 views & 0 likes for this thread
Shutter speed with video?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
Spent 0.00072 for 4 database queries.
Latest registered member is Han H
757 guests, 648 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015