Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st of March 2010 (Mon)   #1
transmission
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
Default can one do double exposure with the S90 ?

like in the old days of film camera ?? i mean in-camera and not through software post processing...
transmission is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of March 2010 (Mon)   #2
gonzogolf
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23,854
Default Re: can one do double exposure with the S90 ?

No, you cant do that with digital in camera. With film you opened the shutter twice. Recording a partial image on the film each time. With digital, the sensor doesnt hold a recorded image in the way film does but rather writes it to an electronic file. So to achieve the same thing you need to make two images and merge them in post. Which is also much much easier by the way.
gonzogolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of March 2010 (Mon)   #3
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
 
Woolburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Posts: 66,045
Default Re: can one do double exposure with the S90 ?

You can do double exposure with any camera that lets you keep the shutter open and block the lens. If the camera doesn't have manual control, I don't know how you could do it effectively.
__________________
People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons, Coloring Book, Refrigerator Art and What I Really Think About
Woolburr is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 7th of March 2010 (Sun)   #4
teresa486
Member
 
teresa486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Default Re: can one do double exposure with the S90 ?

Yes, if you set the shutter to stay open as long as it will let you. Some cameras have a "bulb" setting which allows you to keep the shutter open until you release it. Try this for fun: Open the shutter as long as it will let you. Be in a COMPLETELY dark room. Once the shutter is open, take a flashlight and turn it on and off in a few places. Then release the shutter. It's pretty cool to do. You can shine the light in your face in different spots and it looks like you are headless and floating around the room! LOL
teresa486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of March 2010 (Mon)   #5
Dick Emery
Member
 
Dick Emery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 695
Default Re: can one do double exposure with the S90 ?

Do it in post. Open two images in a paint program that supports layers. Set the second photo layer to semi-transparent using the blending tool. You can also blend only one portion of the photos which is a powerful way to make extra effects. There is so much control in post production it's not worth worrying about double exposures in digital.
__________________
Canon 450D/XSi (Retired), Canon 70D, Canon 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 STM, Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 EF-S IS, Canon 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 EF-S IS, Canon 80-200mm f/4.5-5.6 EF II, Sigma 30mm F1.4, 430EX Mk I, Canon Powershot S2 IS, Canon Powershot S90 IS, Sigma 1.6x closeup lens.
My Flickr
www.maunders.com
Dick Emery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2010 (Tue)   #6
pearts
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 218
Default Re: can one do double exposure with the S90 ?

the lx3 has a menu option that lets you do that...
pearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2010 (Tue)   #7
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
 
Woolburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Posts: 66,045
Default Re: can one do double exposure with the S90 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pearts View Post
the lx3 has a menu option that lets you do that...
That is nice, but what does it have to do with an S90?
__________________
People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons, Coloring Book, Refrigerator Art and What I Really Think About
Woolburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of March 2010 (Thu)   #8
MikeFairbanks
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,428
Default Re: can one do double exposure with the S90 ?

There's really no reason to have the camera do this when it's extremely easy in post production (as long as the software has layers). Adobe Photoshop Elements, which can be had for well under 99 bucks (depending on various discounts) can easily blend two exposures in five minutes. And even better is that you determine how dominant (or equal) the each exposure is.
__________________
Thank you.
MikeFairbanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you do a double exposure? puggle General Photography Talk 2 22nd of April 2009 (Wed) 11:04
double exposure fun Emenresu People 7 22nd of October 2006 (Sun) 06:27
Double Exposure - EOS TimmyMallet General Photography Talk 2 9th of February 2006 (Thu) 20:32
Double exposure jr#8 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 36 23rd of January 2006 (Mon) 10:54
D60 and double exposure Jerry White Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 30th of October 2002 (Wed) 11:19


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.