LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Remote Control Video Start / Stop on T2i

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing
Thread started 31 Mar 2010 (Wednesday) 12:46   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
noSup4u
Hatchling
Joined Feb 2010
4 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have been searching for weeks trying to accomplish this and have come up empty. I know canon specifically released the RC-6 with the T2i. It appears identical to the RC-5. I have tried to the RC-5 and RC-1 and can't get either to remotely start or stop video. They work fine as normal shutter release for stills.

Does anyone know if the RC-6 enables start / stop of video? I am just now starting to see them available.

Does anyone have an alternate solution? I do typically carry a decent netbook (n280 oclocked a bit, 2gb ram upgrade) but would prefer wireless / IR options over wired control due to the specifics of the project in mind.

Thank you!

Post #1, Mar 31, 2010 12:46:38




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
promocop
Senior Member
promocop's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
223 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Yes, it does, talked to Canon CPS today. Good luck trying to find one

Post #2, Mar 31, 2010 20:42:39




LOG IN TO REPLY
vento
Senior Member
vento's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
232 posts
Austin, TX
[MORE/SHARE]

i believe in order for the video to be triggered, the remote has to have a 2s option. i bought a cheap ebay infrared remote and it works fine. just remember to turn it on in the menu.

http://****/bc4A0external link

mine looks similar to the one in the above link.

Post #3, Apr 02, 2010 22:25:01


Stuff..

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mihow
Senior Member
Joined Feb 2010
221 posts
Oceanside California ( Southern California )
[MORE/SHARE]

hey vento can u message me once u get it and tell me if it works good, for that price ill pick one up...

Post #4, Apr 06, 2010 22:55:40


MIKE'S GEAR
CANON 550D
| CANON 15-85 MM | CANON EW-78E HOOD | CANON 430 EX II | OM-EW OMNI BOUNCE | CANON BG-E8 GRIP | SIGMA 30MM 1.4
WISHLIST: CANON 35MM L | CANON 24MM L | TOKINA 11-16MM 2.8 | WILLING TO TAKE DONATIONS

LOG IN TO REPLY
carshop
Goldmember
carshop's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
1,844 posts
Ontario, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

vento wrote in post #9923263external link
i believe in order for the video to be triggered, the remote has to have a 2s option. i bought a cheap ebay infrared remote and it works fine. just remember to turn it on in the menu.

http://****/bc4A0external link

mine looks similar to the one in the above link.

I have the same remote, but cant get the video to work on my 7D
what are your settings?
thanks

Post #5, Apr 09, 2010 20:28:49


ShawnSmugmugexternal link/Flickrexternal link/LikeMyFacebookexternal link
Canon 7D Gripped|Canon 20D
Canon 70-200 2.8 IS|Canon 24-105|Canon 18-135
Canon 580 EX II|Sigma 18-50 2.8
Canon 55-250|Sigma 17-35 2.8| 2 Pocket Wizard II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
promocop
Senior Member
promocop's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
223 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

In still mode, 2 second delay and instant. In live/video mode...cant fiogure it out. One stop/starts video and one setting triggers still frame. Call into CPS

Post #6, Apr 23, 2010 09:03:38 as a reply to carshop's post 13 days earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Trey ­ T
Senior Member
Trey T's Avatar
Joined May 2009
869 posts
Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

www.zacuto.comexternal link has the solution.

Post #7, Apr 23, 2010 10:55:22


10 Most overpaid jobexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
JLim
Member
Joined Sep 2008
41 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

did anyone get it for their t2i to work?

i know it's really cheap at $3.80...
maybe i'll just get it and hope for it to work...

Post #8, Apr 28, 2010 01:13:26




LOG IN TO REPLY
KinoC
Senior Member
KinoC's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
523 posts
South Florida
[MORE/SHARE]

I just tried the RC1 and it triggered the video recording on the 5DMII. BTW, it has to be in the 2's.

Post #9, Apr 29, 2010 22:40:15


KC
1Dx |5D MII | 7D|16-35 MII|24-70 MII|70-200 MII

LOG IN TO REPLY
peter ­ nap
Senior Member
Joined Mar 2009
581 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have an RC5 and a 7D. Canon said it wouldn't trigger the video (I needed the RC1 or 6)
but it does. Turn it on in the camera (Timer 2 sec) and throw the live view lever. Pressing the remote will start the video.

What it won't do is take stills in live view.

Post #10, Apr 30, 2010 09:45:37




LOG IN TO REPLY
carshop
Goldmember
carshop's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
1,844 posts
Ontario, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks, will try!

Post #11, Apr 30, 2010 12:50:09


ShawnSmugmugexternal link/Flickrexternal link/LikeMyFacebookexternal link
Canon 7D Gripped|Canon 20D
Canon 70-200 2.8 IS|Canon 24-105|Canon 18-135
Canon 580 EX II|Sigma 18-50 2.8
Canon 55-250|Sigma 17-35 2.8| 2 Pocket Wizard II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
ColdnFrosty
Hatchling
Joined Feb 2011
1 post
[MORE/SHARE]

I don't think anyone has mentioned that in order to use the remote with video mode you need to enable remote in the menu settings (while the mode switch is on movie). By default, it is set to disable.

noSup4u wrote in post #9907482external link
I have been searching for weeks trying to accomplish this and have come up empty. I know canon specifically released the RC-6 with the T2i. It appears identical to the RC-5. I have tried to the RC-5 and RC-1 and can't get either to remotely start or stop video. They work fine as normal shutter release for stills.

Does anyone know if the RC-6 enables start / stop of video? I am just now starting to see them available.

Does anyone have an alternate solution? I do typically carry a decent netbook (n280 oclocked a bit, 2gb ram upgrade) but would prefer wireless / IR options over wired control due to the specifics of the project in mind.

Thank you!

Post #12, Feb 28, 2011 10:04:11




LOG IN TO REPLY
archp2011
Hatchling
Joined Jan 2011
7 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have a generic RC-6 from China that works for stills but I have been trying for an hour to get it to start/stop video on my T2i without success. The only thing it does is to take a still during video. I have read about setting the remote and/or camera to 2 seconds. Does that mean setting the self-timer on the camera to 2 seconds or is there some setting on the genuine RC-6 that has to be set tp 2 seconds. I have looked at various images of the genuine RC-6 but cannot see any switch for setting the seconds. Similarly I cannot find any copy of the included documentation from Canon. Does anyone have a way to start/stop video without touching the camera or a RC-6 clone that works for video? If so how?

Post #13, Nov 06, 2012 09:53:12 as a reply to ColdnFrosty's post over 1 year earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sims
Goldmember
John Sims's Avatar
Joined Sep 2006
1,437 posts
Essex & Gower UK
[MORE/SHARE]

Magic Lantern allows you to reconfigure the shutter release button to start stop video which then does the same with a cable release. I thought "What a good idea" but after trying it for a bit realised there are so many other things you want to do before pressing the button it was a bit pointless.

Post #14, Nov 06, 2012 11:06:04


John Sims
Canon 60D, 30D, 10D, AE1 & some other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
Reut-snapper
Hatchling
Joined Apr 2014
1 post
[MORE/SHARE]

Sorry newb here. Please don't flame me if I am teaching grandma etc... But I think the position 2 in the manual refers to the little switch on the underside of the RC-6 remote. Push this to the setting marked 2 and it will work with the video setting on the camera, return it and it will do stills. Mine is a 9.99 RC-6 from ebay and works a 550D well in both modes.

Post #15, Apr 23, 2014 15:51:06




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
10,711 views & 0 likes for this thread
Remote Control Video Start / Stop on T2i
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00186 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
889 guests, 675 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Wiebe2014

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.