Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 31 Mar 2010 (Wednesday) 12:46
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Remote Control Video Start / Stop on T2i

 
noSup4u
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Feb 2010
     
Mar 31, 2010 12:46 |  #1

I have been searching for weeks trying to accomplish this and have come up empty. I know canon specifically released the RC-6 with the T2i. It appears identical to the RC-5. I have tried to the RC-5 and RC-1 and can't get either to remotely start or stop video. They work fine as normal shutter release for stills.

Does anyone know if the RC-6 enables start / stop of video? I am just now starting to see them available.

Does anyone have an alternate solution? I do typically carry a decent netbook (n280 oclocked a bit, 2gb ram upgrade) but would prefer wireless / IR options over wired control due to the specifics of the project in mind.

Thank you!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
promocop
Member
Avatar
223 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
Mar 31, 2010 20:42 |  #2

Yes, it does, talked to Canon CPS today. Good luck trying to find one




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
vento
Member
Avatar
232 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
     
Apr 02, 2010 22:25 |  #3

i believe in order for the video to be triggered, the remote has to have a 2s option. i bought a cheap ebay infrared remote and it works fine. just remember to turn it on in the menu.

http://****/bc4A0 (external link)

mine looks similar to the one in the above link.


Stuff..

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mihow
Member
221 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Oceanside California ( Southern California )
     
Apr 06, 2010 22:55 |  #4

hey vento can u message me once u get it and tell me if it works good, for that price ill pick one up...


MIKE'S GEAR
CANON 550D
| CANON 15-85 MM | CANON EW-78E HOOD | CANON 430 EX II | OM-EW OMNI BOUNCE | CANON BG-E8 GRIP | SIGMA 30MM 1.4
WISHLIST: CANON 35MM L | CANON 24MM L | TOKINA 11-16MM 2.8 | WILLING TO TAKE DONATIONS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
carshop
Goldmember
Avatar
1,845 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Apr 09, 2010 20:28 |  #5

vento wrote in post #9923263 (external link)
i believe in order for the video to be triggered, the remote has to have a 2s option. i bought a cheap ebay infrared remote and it works fine. just remember to turn it on in the menu.

http://****/bc4A0 (external link)

mine looks similar to the one in the above link.

I have the same remote, but cant get the video to work on my 7D
what are your settings?
thanks


ShawnSmugmug (external link)/Flickr (external link)/LikeMyFacebook (external link)
Canon 7D Gripped|Canon 20D
Canon 70-200 2.8 IS|Canon 24-105|Canon 18-135
Canon 580 EX II|Sigma 18-50 2.8
Canon 55-250|Sigma 17-35 2.8| 2 Pocket Wizard II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
promocop
Member
Avatar
223 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
Apr 23, 2010 09:03 as a reply to  @ carshop's post |  #6

In still mode, 2 second delay and instant. In live/video mode...cant fiogure it out. One stop/starts video and one setting triggers still frame. Call into CPS




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Trey ­ T
Senior Member
Avatar
869 posts
Joined May 2009
Location: Texas
     
Apr 23, 2010 10:55 |  #7

www.zacuto.com (external link) has the solution.


10 Most overpaid job (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JLim
Member
41 posts
Joined Sep 2008
     
Apr 28, 2010 01:13 |  #8

did anyone get it for their t2i to work?

i know it's really cheap at $3.80...
maybe i'll just get it and hope for it to work...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KinoC
Senior Member
Avatar
524 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 14
Joined Jun 2009
Location: South Florida
     
Apr 29, 2010 22:40 |  #9

I just tried the RC1 and it triggered the video recording on the 5DMII. BTW, it has to be in the 2's.


KC
1Dx |5D MII | 7D|16-35 MII|24-70 MII|70-200 MII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peter ­ nap
Senior Member
581 posts
Joined Mar 2009
     
Apr 30, 2010 09:45 |  #10

I have an RC5 and a 7D. Canon said it wouldn't trigger the video (I needed the RC1 or 6)
but it does. Turn it on in the camera (Timer 2 sec) and throw the live view lever. Pressing the remote will start the video.

What it won't do is take stills in live view.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
carshop
Goldmember
Avatar
1,845 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Apr 30, 2010 12:50 |  #11

Thanks, will try!


ShawnSmugmug (external link)/Flickr (external link)/LikeMyFacebook (external link)
Canon 7D Gripped|Canon 20D
Canon 70-200 2.8 IS|Canon 24-105|Canon 18-135
Canon 580 EX II|Sigma 18-50 2.8
Canon 55-250|Sigma 17-35 2.8| 2 Pocket Wizard II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ColdnFrosty
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 28, 2011 10:04 |  #12

I don't think anyone has mentioned that in order to use the remote with video mode you need to enable remote in the menu settings (while the mode switch is on movie). By default, it is set to disable.

noSup4u wrote in post #9907482 (external link)
I have been searching for weeks trying to accomplish this and have come up empty. I know canon specifically released the RC-6 with the T2i. It appears identical to the RC-5. I have tried to the RC-5 and RC-1 and can't get either to remotely start or stop video. They work fine as normal shutter release for stills.

Does anyone know if the RC-6 enables start / stop of video? I am just now starting to see them available.

Does anyone have an alternate solution? I do typically carry a decent netbook (n280 oclocked a bit, 2gb ram upgrade) but would prefer wireless / IR options over wired control due to the specifics of the project in mind.

Thank you!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
archp2011
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Jan 2011
     
Nov 06, 2012 09:53 as a reply to  @ ColdnFrosty's post |  #13

I have a generic RC-6 from China that works for stills but I have been trying for an hour to get it to start/stop video on my T2i without success. The only thing it does is to take a still during video. I have read about setting the remote and/or camera to 2 seconds. Does that mean setting the self-timer on the camera to 2 seconds or is there some setting on the genuine RC-6 that has to be set tp 2 seconds. I have looked at various images of the genuine RC-6 but cannot see any switch for setting the seconds. Similarly I cannot find any copy of the included documentation from Canon. Does anyone have a way to start/stop video without touching the camera or a RC-6 clone that works for video? If so how?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sims
Goldmember
Avatar
1,437 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Essex & Gower UK
     
Nov 06, 2012 11:06 |  #14

Magic Lantern allows you to reconfigure the shutter release button to start stop video which then does the same with a cable release. I thought "What a good idea" but after trying it for a bit realised there are so many other things you want to do before pressing the button it was a bit pointless.


John Sims
Canon 60D, 30D, 10D, AE1 & some other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Reut-snapper
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Apr 2014
     
Apr 23, 2014 15:51 |  #15

Sorry newb here. Please don't flame me if I am teaching grandma etc... But I think the position 2 in the manual refers to the little switch on the underside of the RC-6 remote. Push this to the setting marked 2 and it will work with the video setting on the camera, return it and it will do stills. Mine is a 9.99 RC-6 from ebay and works a 550D well in both modes.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

14,079 views & 0 likes for this thread
Remote Control Video Start / Stop on T2i
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gary gruber
741 guests, 354 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.