Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st of May 2010 (Sat)   #1
lsquare
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,803
Default Necessary to install both Photoshop CS5 64-bit and 32-bit?

I'm currently using Windows 7 Professional with 4GB of RAM. I downloaded the trial of CS5 and I notice the default option is to install both 64-bit and 32-bit Photoshop CS5. Is it really necessary? Ideally, I just want to install 64-bit and save space on my hard drive.
lsquare is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of May 2010 (Sat)   #2
HankScorpio
Goldmember
 
HankScorpio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England, baby!
Posts: 2,700
Default Re: Necessary to install both Photoshop CS5 64-bit and 32-bit?

You don't technically need it but there are still lots of plugins that don't work on the 64bit version and it doesn't take up much more space to have it just in case.
__________________
My collection of boxes with holes
EXIF semper intacta.
Gort! Klaatu barada nikto.
HankScorpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of May 2010 (Sat)   #3
dharrisphotog
Goldmember
 
dharrisphotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,331
Default Re: Necessary to install both Photoshop CS5 64-bit and 32-bit?

If you use (or want to use) plug ins, such as the awesome Niksoftware, you need to have 32-bit installed as plug ins don't work with 64-bit. Hopefully that'll change.
__________________
D800 | Sigma 35mm 1.4 Art | Nikkor 85mm 1.8G | Nikkor 70-200 2.8G
Gear | Facebook | Twitter | Flickr | Google+
dharrisphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of May 2010 (Sat)   #4
Dchemist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, Connecticut
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: Necessary to install both Photoshop CS5 64-bit and 32-bit?

I only did the 64bit version... I don 't see any need for both. There are some plug-ins as mentioned but I'll wait for them to catch up
__________________
POTN Book Vol4 Astronomy Image Manager and BC Member
20D, 5DMkII, 50F1.4, 100F2.8 macro, 135F2, 17-40F4, 70-200F2.8, 24-105F4, 580EX
Dchemist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photoshop CS5 won't install without warnings Bob_A Computers 13 4th of June 2010 (Fri) 00:07
Photoshop install question TMc RAW, Post Processing and Printing 8 2nd of March 2008 (Sun) 13:02
Photoshop CS3 wont install Jason Cole RAW, Post Processing and Printing 7 5th of October 2007 (Fri) 22:10
Can't install Photoshop 7 dicky109 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 9 24th of August 2006 (Thu) 00:10
Can I install plug-ins into Photoshop LE? eddie RAW, Post Processing and Printing 2 1st of April 2001 (Sun) 23:17


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.