Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 01 May 2010 (Saturday) 02:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Necessary to install both Photoshop CS5 64-bit and 32-bit?

 
lsquare
Goldmember
1,932 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2008
     
May 01, 2010 02:40 |  #1

I'm currently using Windows 7 Professional with 4GB of RAM. I downloaded the trial of CS5 and I notice the default option is to install both 64-bit and 32-bit Photoshop CS5. Is it really necessary? Ideally, I just want to install 64-bit and save space on my hard drive.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HankScorpio
Goldmember
Avatar
2,700 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2007
Location: England, baby!
     
May 01, 2010 03:26 |  #2

You don't technically need it but there are still lots of plugins that don't work on the 64bit version and it doesn't take up much more space to have it just in case.


My collection of boxes with holes (external link)
EXIF semper intacta.
Gort! Klaatu barada nikto.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dharrisphotog
Goldmember
Avatar
2,331 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
May 01, 2010 08:52 |  #3

If you use (or want to use) plug ins, such as the awesome Niksoftware, you need to have 32-bit installed as plug ins don't work with 64-bit. Hopefully that'll change.


D800 | Sigma 35mm 1.4 Art | Nikkor 85mm 1.8G | Nikkor 70-200 2.8G
Gear | Facebook (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Google+ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dchemist
Goldmember
1,632 posts
Joined Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, Connecticut
     
May 01, 2010 15:21 as a reply to  @ dharrisphotog's post |  #4

I only did the 64bit version... I don 't see any need for both. There are some plug-ins as mentioned but I'll wait for them to catch up


POTN Book Vol4 Astronomy Image Manager and BC Member
20D, 5DMkII, 50F1.4, 100F2.8 macro, 135F2, 17-40F4, 70-200F2.8, 24-105F4, 580EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

28,750 views & 0 likes for this thread
Necessary to install both Photoshop CS5 64-bit and 32-bit?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is livingHi
719 guests, 266 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.