Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Digital Video
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd of May 2010 (Sun)   #1
phil_5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
Default video issues with new rebel T2i

Just trying out my new T2i and after shooting my first very short videos and playing back on my pc, I'm getting very poor video. Vid starts very slow motion then freezes as audio keeps going. Thought it might be an outdated video card issue so I played on my laptop which is 64 bit dual core with Nvidia quadro fx 2500m. It's better but far from good. I'm getting a pulsating video now. Anyone have any advice on this.
Thanks
phil_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 2nd of May 2010 (Sun)   #2
LSV
Member
 
LSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 335
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Don't use quicktime. Make sure your video card drivers are updated to the newest you can, and then use windows media player/ windows media center, VLC, or MPC-HC (MPC-HC should be top choice, followed by windows media player, THEN VLC)
LSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of May 2010 (Sun)   #3
phil_5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Thanks LSV,
Downloaded MPC-HC and got some improvement. Still playing in slow motion and trailing and I got no audio this time?? Checked for driver updates and none available.

Last edited by phil_5 : 2nd of May 2010 (Sun) at 19:14.
phil_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 2nd of May 2010 (Sun)   #4
LSV
Member
 
LSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 335
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil_5 View Post
Thanks LSV,
Downloaded MPC-HC and got some improvement. Still playing in slow motion and trailing and I got no audio this time?? Checked for driver updates and none available.
No audio due to stupid apple proprietary codec used. Media Center will support DXVA (hardware decoding) and the audio as well, but doesn't look as good and takes more rendering power than MPC-HC.

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index...g=en-us&ptid=3 for drivers
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...a-9b6652cd92a3 for directx (and DXVA)
LSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of May 2010 (Sun)   #5
lecherro
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garland, Texas (Outside Dallas)
Posts: 786
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

"Stupid Apple Codec" Why not use quicktime to playback h.264 Maybe its the fact that your playing full size hd files. Mayne look at ram, drive speed, other factors. If MPC-HC plays it then great. but i dont think we can blame the codec. of course anything is possible. H.264 had some good qualities.
__________________
First step........ Take the lens cap off.
lecherro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of May 2010 (Sun)   #6
LSV
Member
 
LSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 335
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Quote:
Originally Posted by lecherro View Post
"Stupid Apple Codec" Why not use quicktime to playback h.264 Maybe its the fact that your playing full size hd files. Mayne look at ram, drive speed, other factors. If MPC-HC plays it then great. but i dont think we can blame the codec. of course anything is possible. H.264 had some good qualities.
Quicktime is not SSE3, 4, or 4.2 compatible last i knew (definitely not 4.1 and 4.2, which lower h264 decode times thanks to lower number of clocks needed for certain matrix operations). Not DXVA or EVR, or even DX9 compatible. Limited number of decoder threads and no deblocking options. Even adobe flash is better at decoding. We can blame it on the codec, for not all codecs are built the same. FFMPEG-mt based ffdshow can decode most 720p and some 1080p files on my laptop. 5dmkii can go a second or two before skipping. Quicktime on my Core i7 920 desktop will skip with 5dmkii files. Even an ten fold increase in processing power isn't enough for quicktime.

On OSX though, quicktime works fine.
LSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2010 (Mon)   #7
Terjay
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ylöjärvi, Finland
Posts: 448
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Full HD Quicktime on my Core i7 920 (and my dual core laptop) works fine, just keep it up to date.
Terjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2010 (Mon)   #8
lecherro
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garland, Texas (Outside Dallas)
Posts: 786
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSV View Post
On OSX though, quicktime works fine.
Sounds like windows or some of it other components is the problem. Not Quicktime. I have never had probs with QT on Mac or PC.
__________________
First step........ Take the lens cap off.
lecherro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2010 (Mon)   #9
phil_5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Well I guess I have to confess that I'm pretty new to video, although I've been into digital stills for awhile now. So most of this thread is over my head. I would never have thought that it would be so difficult to lay down some quality video without all this techno dancing. I know this isn't a camera issue but I am still unable to view clean video on my pc or laptop. Pc's hopeless unless someone can point out some rookie issue that I am missing. Laptop is better but still horrible. Your responses are extremely appreciated but maybe I need a good book recommendation to figure out all this codec stuff? I just wanted a good system for shooting video of my work and getting it onto my web site without all this hastle.
I should add that I didn't see my vc upgrade listed on Nvidia's site. Everything but. Is there another driver I should download. I have a quadro fx 2500m.

Last edited by phil_5 : 3rd of May 2010 (Mon) at 09:34.
phil_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2010 (Mon)   #10
lecherro
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garland, Texas (Outside Dallas)
Posts: 786
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

I am with you Phil_5. Lots of the number spouting tends to confuse more than help. I always try to make sure I have all the updates to software, QT or otherwise, and make sure they are installed properly. I have never had the problems with QT but i have always had pretty fast and well maintained coputers as I work in a post house environment. It is not a requirement to know all these names and gadgets but sometimes it can help. Remember that lots of things can effect your playback. Ram, not enough or not properly used, video card may not be fast enough, new or updated codecs. It is also a possibility drive speed is not fast enough. Your drives have to be able to pass a certain amount of info for the picture to run right. 5600 rpm drives Should be fast enough in most cases. Also other programs running? Sometime you may just need a good old reboot. Good luck.
__________________
First step........ Take the lens cap off.
lecherro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2010 (Mon)   #11
JLim
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

i'm running an old macbook pro and my t2i files seem to run ok...
my fans start up real quickly and sound like it's going to blow up soon, but the video seems fine.
occasionaly frames will skip if have too many programs open.
JLim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2010 (Mon)   #12
phil_5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Well, after spending a lot of time with tech support I have gotten vc driver updates for my pc and laptop, updated quicktime on both machines. and done some other misc. trouble shooting to find-
I should have been viewing the files in Zoom Browser EX to begin with because that's giving me, by far, the best playback. I'm still getting garbage on quicktime and MPC on both machines. I am now able to get a near perfect playback on the laptop using ZB EX but still junk on the PC. I've come to the conclusion that the pc is just not up to speed with 2g hard drive and 1g of ram. Getting blue, pulsating, slow video playback (pc only). Guess I'll have to stick to the laptop. Now I need a good overview of the process of getting the correct vid compression/editing and uploading to the web. Any good book recommendations will be hugely appreciated.
Thanks all for all of your valuable input!
phil_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2010 (Mon)   #13
LSV
Member
 
LSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 335
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil_5 View Post
Well, after spending a lot of time with tech support I have gotten vc driver updates for my pc and laptop, updated quicktime on both machines. and done some other misc. trouble shooting to find-
I should have been viewing the files in Zoom Browser EX to begin with because that's giving me, by far, the best playback. I'm still getting garbage on quicktime and MPC on both machines. I am now able to get a near perfect playback on the laptop using ZB EX but still junk on the PC. I've come to the conclusion that the pc is just not up to speed with 2g hard drive and 1g of ram. Getting blue, pulsating, slow video playback (pc only). Guess I'll have to stick to the laptop. Now I need a good overview of the process of getting the correct vid compression/editing and uploading to the web. Any good book recommendations will be hugely appreciated.
Thanks all for all of your valuable input!
Pulsating blue screens mean some sort of low end failure. If you ran the DX update (second link), only two things it could be are bad graphics driver or outright vram failure, both of which can cause slow playback or no playback.
LSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2010 (Mon)   #14
phil_5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: video issues with new rebel T2i

I did run the directx update and nothing changed. Still blue and hanging. Now if that's not a setup for a punchline.......,
phil_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone having issues editing high def video? BlindGuyTakingPictures Digital Video 7 9th of January 2010 (Sat) 12:25
T1i video focus/DOF issues kaitlyn2004 Digital Video 4 31st of December 2009 (Thu) 15:10
Issues With Digital Video SLR Cameras tysrsx1 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 24 21st of December 2009 (Mon) 15:39
Few issues with my Rebel XT Dark-Hawk Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 27th of March 2007 (Tue) 15:44


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.