Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > Sports Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11th of May 2010 (Tue)   #1
Seanzky
Goldmember

Default Tips on how to photograph a boxing match

I know this is a photo sharing section but I didn't know where else to ask.

I need tips from those who can give it, especially credentialed sports photographers. I'd really appreciate any help I can get, though.

Okay, so I might get my credentials to shoot the Cotto-Foreman fight at Yankee Stadium. I'm not nervous about it or anything though I've never done a boxing match before. According to the chief editor sending me to this fight there's a 90% chance I'm going. This would have been my second one had I gone to Dallas for the Pacquiao-Clottey fight but I had to put my family first and couldn't go.

I've shot sports and action in general but not in this scale so I don't know any rules. I know about shooting tight and cropping even tighter but in terms of lighting, what can I use? I've never seen any photographers have flash with them (on camera or off) and I don't think it's allowed. (Is it?) Do I just use a fast lens and a camera with high ISO capabilities? What shutter speed should I use without any strobes? I've been so reliant on strobes that I don't even know what shutter speed is enough to freeze the action.

(And don't bother checking my site found in my sig, guys. I haven't updated that in ages. LOL.)
Old 11th of May 2010 (Tue)   #2
Seanzky
Goldmember

Default Re: Tips on how to photograph a boxing match

Hmmm... I see the discussion link. Hehe. If the mods can move this to the appropriate forum, that'd be cool.
Old 11th of May 2010 (Tue)   #3
cstewart

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanzky View Post
Hmmm... I see the discussion link. Hehe. If the mods can move this to the appropriate forum, that'd be cool.