Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 04 Jun 2010 (Friday) 09:06
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Tethered Shooting Ability

 
digirebelva
Goldmember
digirebelva's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
Appomattox, Virginia
Jun 04, 2010 09:06 |  #1

A question here, my work is looking for a p&s that will allow shooting images while tethered to the pc for their ID system. The only ability they need is to be able to trigger the camera, no need for zoom, wb etc..that will be set once and left.

Is it possible to do that without using the cameras associated software..(i.e. if the pc sees it as a camera and not a storage device, the ID software should be able to select it as a source and run with it)

They currently use a 1.3mp webcam but after cropping, the resolution is anything but sufficient..


EOS 6d, 7dMKII, Tokina 11-16, Tokina 16-28, Sigma 70-200mm F/2.8, Sigma 17-50 F/2.8, Canon 24-70mm F/2.8L, Canon 70-200 F/2.8L, Mixed Speedlites and other stuff.

When it ceases to be fun, it will be time to walk away
Website (external link) | Fine Art America (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 04, 2010 09:30 |  #2

Not with any of Canon's current PowerShot line-up.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
TroyRaymond
Member
TroyRaymond's Avatar
221 posts
Joined Jan 2008
McBain, MI
Jun 04, 2010 09:39 as a reply to Jon's post |  #3

You'd still have to turn the camera on to be recognized. Breezesysexternal link has a photobooth option where you can just push a button. Maybe it'll give you some ideas.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 04, 2010 09:45 |  #4

Even Breeze's software requires a camera that has remote shooting functionality built in - the last PowerShot models to offer that were the SX110 and G10.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
digirebelva
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
digirebelva's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
Appomattox, Virginia
Jun 04, 2010 10:16 as a reply to Jon's post |  #5

so basically we are looking at canon prosumer models then ..what about other brands?
they were using a olympus sp-350 until somebody broke the usb connection on the camera:( and that worked sporadically before that..but it did work..

Are the powershots recognized by the pc as cameras or external storage devices?


EOS 6d, 7dMKII, Tokina 11-16, Tokina 16-28, Sigma 70-200mm F/2.8, Sigma 17-50 F/2.8, Canon 24-70mm F/2.8L, Canon 70-200 F/2.8L, Mixed Speedlites and other stuff.

When it ceases to be fun, it will be time to walk away
Website (external link) | Fine Art America (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 04, 2010 10:50 |  #6

Current Canons are recognized as "photo storage devices", not as "photo capture devices" (or as "data storage devices"). That's a subtle difference, true, but it makes all the difference in the world for your purposes. A computer can retrieve images from the camera, but can't control it. I haven't looked for alternatives since my DSLRs will do the job should I need it.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
digirebelva
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
digirebelva's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
Appomattox, Virginia
Jun 04, 2010 11:22 |  #7

Jon wrote in post #10301890external link
I haven't looked for alternatives since my DSLRs will do the job should I need it.

Same here, thus the posting:D, I have very little experience with p&s since I dont have one


EOS 6d, 7dMKII, Tokina 11-16, Tokina 16-28, Sigma 70-200mm F/2.8, Sigma 17-50 F/2.8, Canon 24-70mm F/2.8L, Canon 70-200 F/2.8L, Mixed Speedlites and other stuff.

When it ceases to be fun, it will be time to walk away
Website (external link) | Fine Art America (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 04, 2010 11:40 |  #8

The last one I had that supported remote shooting was the A620; my current SX1, A630 and SD990 don't. I know they don't and that I should have looked harder for an A640 or A650 when I got the A630, but that's about it. The G10 was recently discontinued; there may still be some around in the more out-of-the-way stores.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
tmwag
Brown Noser has crush on Suzyview
tmwag's Avatar
Joined Feb 2009
Kansas City
Jun 04, 2010 11:47 |  #9

The G9, G7 supported remote shooting as well




LOG IN TO REPLY
denncald
Goldmember
Joined Mar 2008
Marquette, MI, USA
Jun 04, 2010 15:37 as a reply to tmwag's post |  #10

The current list of supported Powershot cameras shown on the PSRemoteexternal link page are:

PowerShot cameras supported

The most recent Canon PowerShot models that can be used with PSRemote are the G10, G9, SX110 IS, SX100 IS and S5 IS.
Please note: The Canon PowerShot G9 and Canon PowerShot G10 do not support shooting in raw mode when connected to a PC.

Windows Vista and Windows 7 Support: Now supported by PSRemote for recent PowerShot models. The following camera models are supported by PSRemote on Windows Vista and Windows 7: A620, A640, S80, S3 IS, S5 IS, SX100 IS, SX110 IS, G7, G9, G10. Older PowerShot models are not supported on Windows Vista or Windows 7.

The PowerShot models listed in the table below are known to work with PSRemote on Windows XP:

Pro series

Pro90IS, Pro1

G-series

G1, G2, G3, G5, G6, G7, G9, G10

S-series

S30, S40, S45, S50, S60, S70, S80, S1 IS, S2 IS, S3 IS, S5 IS, SX100 IS, SX110 IS

A-series

A30, A40, A60, A70, A75, A80, A85, A95, A300, A310, A400, A510, A520, A620, A640

Digital IXUS

SD100 (Digital IXUS II), SD110 (Digital IXUS IIs), S230 (Digital IXUS 330), S400 (Digital IXUS 400), S410 (Digital IXUS 430), S500 (Digital IXUS 500)

The following Canon PowerShot cameras do not support remote capture operation and therefore will not work with PSRemote:
A series: A410, A420, A430, A450, A460, A470, A480, A490, A495, A530, A540, A550, A560, A570 IS, A580, A590 IS, A610, A630, A650 IS, A700, A710 IS, A720 IS, A1000 IS, A1100 IS, A2000 IS, A2100 IS, A3100 IS
Digital ELPH/IXUS: SD30, SD40, SD400 (Digital IXUS 50), SD430, SD450 (Digital IXUS 55), SD500 (Digital IXUS 700), SD550 (Digital IXUS 750), SD600, SD630, SD700 IS, SD750, SD770 IS, SD780 IS, SD790 IS, SD800 IS, SD850 IS, SD870 IS, SD880 IS, SD890 IS, SD900, SD940 IS, SD950 IS, SD960 IS, SD970 IS, SD980 IS, SD990 IS, SD1000, SD1100 IS, SD1200 IS
SX series: SX200 IS, SX120 IS, SX20 IS, SX10 IS, SX1 IS,
G Series: G11
S Series: S90
Other: TX1, E1, D10

Dennis




LOG IN TO REPLY
TroyRaymond
Member
TroyRaymond's Avatar
221 posts
Joined Jan 2008
McBain, MI
Jun 04, 2010 16:25 as a reply to denncald's post |  #11

I have a Canon Powershot A640 with the wide angle adapter. With the PSremote software installed on my computer all I do is plug it in, turn the camera on and the software starts on its own (if I remember correctly I have to start the camera in preview mode to get access). I have full control of every function on the camera, usually run it with 100' of Cat 5 cable and USB extenders. (pole photography)

IMAGE: http://troyraymond.smugmug.com/photos/451467159_9NFA4-S.jpg

Live view with the camera (full motion like video), full screen preview photos and full res images can be saved to the camera, a specified folder on the computer, or both.



LOG IN TO REPLY
digirebelva
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
digirebelva's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
Appomattox, Virginia
Jun 04, 2010 17:43 |  #12

denncald wrote in post #10303628external link
The current list of supported Powershot cameras shown on the PSRemoteexternal link page are:
Dennis

I appreciate the list, but I need a camera that can be tethered without using another software (i.e. windows will see the camera as a camera, not a storage device). If windows does that, then the ID software can also use it without additional software...you chose it like you would a scanner for source..


EOS 6d, 7dMKII, Tokina 11-16, Tokina 16-28, Sigma 70-200mm F/2.8, Sigma 17-50 F/2.8, Canon 24-70mm F/2.8L, Canon 70-200 F/2.8L, Mixed Speedlites and other stuff.

When it ceases to be fun, it will be time to walk away
Website (external link) | Fine Art America (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 04, 2010 19:19 |  #13

Basically, the camera has to be designed to allow other software (even Windows Scanner and Picture Wizard) to use it as an image source, like a scanner. You would need at a minimum to load the correct drivers, and there aren't any PowerShot models currently in production that can be used this way. If you can convince your company to buy a used camera from that list off of eBay, Craig's List or your local camera store/pawn shop, that list will give you a usable camera. But if the camera isn't on that list, there's no way you'd be able to use it as you need.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
digirebelva
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
digirebelva's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
Appomattox, Virginia
Jun 05, 2010 09:31 as a reply to Jon's post |  #14

I was kind of leaning towards doing that, we will need to buy at least 4 of them....
Thanks for the info guys i appreciate it;)


EOS 6d, 7dMKII, Tokina 11-16, Tokina 16-28, Sigma 70-200mm F/2.8, Sigma 17-50 F/2.8, Canon 24-70mm F/2.8L, Canon 70-200 F/2.8L, Mixed Speedlites and other stuff.

When it ceases to be fun, it will be time to walk away
Website (external link) | Fine Art America (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 05, 2010 09:42 |  #15

I wonder if a video camera with still capture capability would work . . . Or buying several Digital Rebel XS body/lenses. Adorama has refurb silver ones for around $390.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

20,387 views & 0 likes for this thread
Tethered Shooting Ability
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00232 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is apemusgrave
748 guests, 356 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017