Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing
Thread started 05 Jun 2010 (Saturday) 04:39
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

STICKY: 5D2 video - why choppy editor preview

 
KevinA
Member
KevinA's Avatar
Joined Sep 2008
Surrey
Jun 05, 2010 04:39 |  #1

All my footage shot the the 5D2 won't run without severe chugging in the preview window (Prem Pro CS4).

Editing is taking forever as a result, and is so painful, that it makes me want to junk the Canon and go back to 720p on my old JVC HD200.

It does however run perfectly well, once rendered.

What's going on? Even in draft quality it behaves the same
(although the IQ in draft doesn't look a lot different to Highest quality - is that a clue?)

Running on 64bit Vista with 8Gb ram, i7 processor @ 2.93Ghz

Any thoughts.


5D Mk3 | Canon 85mm 1.2 ll L | Canon 100mm 2.8 L Macro IS | Canon 135mm 2.0 L | 4 X EX600 RT Speedlites | ST E3 RT Transmitter PLUS... Fuji XT-2, Fuji X-Pro 2, 10-24mm 14mm, 23mm 35mm, 56mm 90mm, 50-140mm & 100-400mm lens... and a selection of Pocketwizard flash triggers
www.ahronson.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
FlyingPhotog's Avatar
57,560 posts
Joined May 2007
Probably Chasing Aircraft
Jun 05, 2010 04:53 |  #2

What are your hard drive specs? 5400rpm? 7200rpm?


Jay
Crosswind Imagesexternal link
Facebook Fan Pageexternal link

"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Illumined
"i love you guys"
Illumined's Avatar
2,641 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Stafford, VA, USA
Jun 05, 2010 05:03 |  #3

FlyingPhotog wrote in post #10306321external link
What are your hard drive specs? 5400rpm? 7200rpm?

^ This.


Ravi J.H. | Make an experience out of it - focus and expose manually.
Sony RX1 | Sony FDA-EVM1K (EVF) | Nikomat 11" cloth-locking cable release | Previous Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
KevinA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
KevinA's Avatar
Joined Sep 2008
Surrey
Jun 05, 2010 05:34 |  #4

FlyingPhotog wrote in post #10306321external link
What are your hard drive specs? 5400rpm? 7200rpm?

7200


5D Mk3 | Canon 85mm 1.2 ll L | Canon 100mm 2.8 L Macro IS | Canon 135mm 2.0 L | 4 X EX600 RT Speedlites | ST E3 RT Transmitter PLUS... Fuji XT-2, Fuji X-Pro 2, 10-24mm 14mm, 23mm 35mm, 56mm 90mm, 50-140mm & 100-400mm lens... and a selection of Pocketwizard flash triggers
www.ahronson.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Drozz119
Goldmember
Drozz119's Avatar
1,340 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Pittsburgh, Pa
Jun 05, 2010 05:46 |  #5

You need to convert prior to editing. Neoscene is probably the best converter.


ShoFilmsexternal link
gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
pfpeter
Member
pfpeter's Avatar
134 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Denmark
Jun 05, 2010 05:55 |  #6

Premiere Pro CS5 is the answer. It works flawlessly with Canon 5D Mk. II .mov files.

I had the exact same problems as you, when I used CS4.


Kind regards
Peter
Pictures on Flickrexternal link. | Gear List - "Noobs worry about Megapixels, Hobby-users worry about gear, Pro's worry about light"

LOG IN TO REPLY
KevinA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
KevinA's Avatar
Joined Sep 2008
Surrey
Jun 05, 2010 06:16 |  #7

Drozz119 wrote in post #10306429external link
You need to convert prior to editing. Neoscene is probably the best converter.


I tried that, converting files to WMV. No change I'm afraid.


5D Mk3 | Canon 85mm 1.2 ll L | Canon 100mm 2.8 L Macro IS | Canon 135mm 2.0 L | 4 X EX600 RT Speedlites | ST E3 RT Transmitter PLUS... Fuji XT-2, Fuji X-Pro 2, 10-24mm 14mm, 23mm 35mm, 56mm 90mm, 50-140mm & 100-400mm lens... and a selection of Pocketwizard flash triggers
www.ahronson.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
resoundproductions
Member
75 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Palm Springs, CA
Jun 05, 2010 10:45 |  #8

KevinA wrote in post #10306492external link
I tried that, converting files to WMV. No change I'm afraid.

The file format is most likely your problem. The h.264 .mov files that come out of the camera are extremely compressed (like a lower quality jpeg still), and your computer has to decompress each frame in order to play the file back. This takes a lot of processing power, and unless you're on a very fast, new machine, will make editing with these files painful at best. WMVs tend to also be very compressed, and not good for editing. You can get away with it when the data rate is lower and the files are smaller, but at 1080p you're stuck either converting to another format which is easier to decode, or using a program like CS5 which uses your videocard to help with the decompression process.

The reason everything plays back fine when rendered is that Premiere is saving that rendered file to your scratch disk in a format which can be played back with minimal decompression, and then plays from that file until you make a change which requires another render.

Neocene is a great choice for transcoding, as is Apple's prores 422. If you don't have either of those available, try experimenting with some of the other professional acquisition formats available in Premiere such as DVCPRO HD.


5DmkII | 7D | Tokina 11-16 | 35L | Sigma 50 1.4 | 85/1.8 | 135L | 70-200L 2.8 IS II | Oodles of video gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
mitchman
Senior Member
mitchman's Avatar
254 posts
Joined Apr 2010
Eastern Washington State
Jun 05, 2010 10:54 |  #9

^^^^^What he said - perfect explanation^^^^

I would recommend the Avid DNxHD codec for converting your footage. We're on a Mac but we've used it with great success to transfer HD files from a PC to Mac and back. You can download it for free from the Avid website. Do a Google search for Avid DNxHD codec.

DNxHD codec was developed by Avid Technology, Inc. It is comparable with Apple's ProRes 422 which uses similar bit rates and has the same purpose.


5DM2, 70-200 f/2.8 IS II, 16-35 f/2.8, Really Right Stuff BH-55 LR, Gitzo GT3531
3 x 580EXII's, PocketWizard FlexTT5's, AC3 Zone Controller, Westcott Apollo softboxes www.focalpointmarketin​g.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Terjay
Senior Member
448 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Ylöjärvi, Finland
Jun 05, 2010 11:31 |  #10

That's strange because I got a similar setup and I don't have to even render my timeline. Is Premiere up to date?




LOG IN TO REPLY
dm77
Senior Member
dm77's Avatar
269 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Toronto
Jun 05, 2010 11:56 |  #11

supposdly the new premier cs5 you can work natively with h264. ive heard from several sources that you can even colour correct on it and it works awesome as well


- Michael Y. Wong
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=911914
Twitter - michaelywong
Facebook - film@michaelywong.com
Multi-time eventdv top 25 international wedding filmmaker + educator (woot + woot!)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Terjay
Senior Member
448 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Ylöjärvi, Finland
Jun 05, 2010 13:24 |  #12

e: nevermind




LOG IN TO REPLY
pfpeter
Member
pfpeter's Avatar
134 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Denmark
Jun 05, 2010 14:54 |  #13

dm77 wrote in post #10307483external link
supposdly the new premier cs5 you can work natively with h264. ive heard from several sources that you can even colour correct on it and it works awesome as well

And that is absolutely correct.


Kind regards
Peter
Pictures on Flickrexternal link. | Gear List - "Noobs worry about Megapixels, Hobby-users worry about gear, Pro's worry about light"

LOG IN TO REPLY
benesotor
Goldmember
benesotor's Avatar
1,830 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Edinburgh UK
Jun 05, 2010 15:56 |  #14

Luminodio wrote in post #10306342external link
^ This.

Hardrive speed is way down on the list of possible variables that cause bad performance in video if he's not using the right codecs

Right, here's the story...

H.264 is not an editing format, end of. Its's a delivery format. You need to transcode the footage to a editable format, eg, Cineform AVI (by the use of Cineform Neoscene) or Prores 422 by the use of MPEGStreamclip for example... there are others.

In CS4 you need to convert to one of these formats. Cineform isn't free, MPEGstreamclip is.

People will say 'CS5 will run the h.264 files fine without transcoding', yes, it will... however it's been shown that it's still not a good idea. The quality of the footage when converted to something like prores or cineform is much better than the h.264.

h.264 is a very bad file to colour-correct with, whoever said that then it's not true.

My advice, whether it's CS4, CS5, Final Cut, Vegas whatever... transcode to an editing format.


5D Mark II | 5D Classic | Zeiss 50mm f/1.7 Planar T* | Nikon 24mm AI f/2.8
Panasonic GH2

Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
bpaulette
Senior Member
bpaulette's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
Kansas City, USA
Jun 05, 2010 20:52 as a reply to benesotor's post |  #15

We REAAAALLLLY need to make a sticky post in this forum that very clearly tells people not to expect smooth playback of native files on their computer (I know this is touched on in one of them, but this needs to be in the thread title, so they'll read it). This is the most common thread topic that appears on this forum

The sum up: Everybody has totally crappy playback of native files, they're a nightmare to work with in anything but CS5, yada yada yada. As you said, after editing, the finished product is gorgeous, so it is what it is.

Bottom line, its not the 5D2 thats unworkable, its just the codec and how much resources it requires to play smoothly. I would rather deal with the headache of a native file that is gorgeous and practically unplayable than a native file that looks like crap and plays smoothly, but thats just me. I convert with Neoscene before attempting any editing. Will attest to its goodness, while working with CS4. As soon as I can afford it (or bosses at work approve purchase request), I'll upgrade to CS5 and say goodbye to the headache.

Don't mean to sound snarky, just so many threads on the same... thing... over... and over.


- BP -
---------------
Sony A7R II | Sonnar FE 55 | Zeiss Batis 85 | FE 90 Macro G | Metabones IV
24L II | 85L II | 135L | 24-105L | 24-70 f2.8L II | 70-200 f2.8L IS II | 40-Shorty | Bower 14mm | Rokkor 58mm f/1.2

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

40,611 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D2 video - why choppy editor preview
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0012 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is BradMD96
831 guests, 388 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016