Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing > Computers
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #16
lsuber
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 502
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

I've had zero trouble with it on my new build as well. it even has run an older version of Corel's WordPerfect Office suite (X3 I believe it is). Runs PhotoShop and Lightroom just fine. No trouble with printer drivers, or any other drivers for that matter.

I would say you should check into the problems a little more, plan ahead for a major OS change like this (especially moving to 64-bit for the first time), and ask some questions here or somewhere before declaring that Windows 7 sucks.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II | 28-70mm f/2.8L USM | Σ 70-200mm f/2.8 APO EX DG HSM OS | 85mm f/1.2L USM | Σ 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM | 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro | LR5 | PS CS5
lsuber is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #17
DisrupTer911
Goldmember
 
DisrupTer911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 2,141
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

LOL funny post

I've been running Win7 64 bit for nearly a year now.
My biggest issue is with FireFox 3.x.x crashing constantly on my desktop and running perfectly fine on my laptop.

Everything else, just works.
__________________
www.vividemotionphotography.com
DisrupTer911 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #18
jacuff
Goldmember
 
jacuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,581
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin2375 View Post
Honestly, what are you talking about. I've been running Win 7 64 bit for a while and have yet to find an application that won't run.

CS4 64 bit is great too...
Applications generally aren't the problem. They typically run fine under WOW64 or via XP Mode (W7 Professional, Enterprise, Ultimate). Drivers are the biggest issue, especially under 64 bit Windows.

For example, the 1D Mark IIN would require 2 drivers, USB and Firewire. The USB driver is a generic one so it works fine in 64 bit Windows, but the the firewire one is specific and needs to be provided for by Canon. Since Canon choose not to support a 64 bit driver, you would not be able to use EOS Utility with the 1D Mark IIN under Windows 7 64 bit.

Another example is I was refreshing several older laptops with Windows 7. They all used the Intel 855GM onboard graphics chip, which does not have WDDM drivers. (Vista could use XPDM drivers, but Windows 7 does not.) The easiest work around was to use a program called DriverMax to force install the drivers in Windows 7.)
__________________
Gear, Feedback (eBay), Web, Blog, FB, Twitter
jacuff is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #19
BluewookieJim
Senior Member
 
BluewookieJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern CT
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

Ummm yeah... about that....

Been running Win7 64 bit, ran the RC for ages, and have been running the full release on both my notebook and desktop with no REAL problems.

Ok, so my 20D won't work with EOS utility for tethered capture... but that's on Canon for not providing an updated driver, not an OS problem.
__________________
My Gear and Stuff :: My Zenfolio Gallery :: My Flickr ::
BluewookieJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #20
rdsmith3
Member
 
rdsmith3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Flanders, NJ
Posts: 676
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

I've been using Windows 7 64 bit for about two months and every app works fine with it -- even CS3 -- except for Quicken 2006.

EDIT: I forgot that the Spyder monitor calibration device does not work with it.
__________________
Bob Gear List

The eye is the lamp of the body; so then if your eye is clear, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light that is in you is darkness, how great is the darkness! (Matt. 6:22-23)
rdsmith3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #21
MaxxuM
Goldmember
 
MaxxuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 3,343
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

Any OS that try's to support ten year old software, uses a highly complex registry system and has thousands of company's building software/hardware for it with no 'checking' standards is bound to have problems. Add to this the fact that it's the most popular malware magnet and users typically do not know how to maintain it... Well, it would be mathematically inevitable that something will eventually go wrong.

For those that say "It isn't Windows 7 fault..." Who cares? If any other company used that as an excuse why their product performed poorly it would eventually go out of business. The only reason Windows survives is because it captured the market early, is cheap, his highly hackable (thus free for some) and businesses are unable to do without.
__________________
Canon 7D & 60D With Grip's
Canon: EF-S 17-55 F2.8 IS, EF 70-200L F4 IS, EF 85mm F1.8
MaxxuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #22
BluewookieJim
Senior Member
 
BluewookieJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern CT
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

So when Adobe apps drop support of PowerPC chips is that Apple's fault?
__________________
My Gear and Stuff :: My Zenfolio Gallery :: My Flickr ::
BluewookieJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #23
5Dmaniac
Senior Member
 
5Dmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

Win 7 64 bit runs great on both my laptop and my desktop. I had no problems at all to calibrate my NEC display with Spectraview II. I am not sure what you are talking about - something is not right with your system.
5Dmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #24
midnight_rider
"Thrown under the bus."
 
midnight_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Yonder by the crick, Ga
Posts: 5,413
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

I think that 7 is a breath of fresh air after using vista. Just my opinion though. I only have CS4, portrait pro, photomatix and LR3 on mine though so I haven't had any issues. Hope you get it all worked out.
__________________
I never, Not once claimed to read your post...
midnight_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #25
jacuff
Goldmember
 
jacuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,581
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BluewookieJim View Post
So when Adobe apps drop support of PowerPC chips is that Apple's fault?
Or when Apple drops PPC support from Snow Leopard.
__________________
Gear, Feedback (eBay), Web, Blog, FB, Twitter
jacuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #26
weeatmice
Member
 
weeatmice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Essex UK
Posts: 760
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

I have Win7 64bit with 8gb of RAM. Actually it was slow in the first day or so after install (maybe it was indexing or somthing) IE was also buggy. After that, its the smoothest home pc I've ever used, and windows 7 just works in so many ways where WinXP is a pain in the ass. I have WinXP ready in a virtual machine anyway.

That said, I wouldnt put it on even slightly old hardware, and test it any place you a have a must work requirement.
__________________
FS: UK: 1D Mark IV.
Twopixel.co.uk | 500px | flickr | Twitter | Pinterest |

Last edited by weeatmice : 15th of June 2010 (Tue) at 15:09.
weeatmice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #27
Moppie
iKirst
 
Moppie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
Posts: 14,420
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxxuM View Post
Any OS that try's to support ten year old software, uses a highly complex registry system and has thousands of company's building software/hardware for it with no 'checking' standards is bound to have problems. Add to this the fact that it's the most popular malware magnet and users typically do not know how to maintain it... Well, it would be mathematically inevitable that something will eventually go wrong.

For those that say "It isn't Windows 7 fault..." Who cares? If any other company used that as an excuse why their product performed poorly it would eventually go out of business. The only reason Windows survives is because it captured the market early, is cheap, his highly hackable (thus free for some) and businesses are unable to do without.

Your two paragraphs contradict each other.

The problem is not with Windows 7. It is very stable, very reliable and very secure. It is easily the best OS Microsoft has ever produced.

The problems people experience come from Hardware and software not being fully compatible with Windows, or not being very well developed causing instabilities and other issues.
This is not Microsoft's fault, and there is very little they can do about it.

Microsoft tried to create a more controlled environment, and wanted to enforce registration for all software that would run under Windows 7.
But consumers, developers and the odd trade commission kicked up so much noise that Microsoft backed down.
Developers still have the choice of getting their products registered for use under Windows 7, but consumers still have the choice of installing non-registered products as well.
__________________

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?
Moppie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #28
b.han
Member
 
b.han's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 196
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

I've been using the 64-bit version of Windows 7 since the early beta days and aside from minor driver issues, it's been fantastic. Photoshop CS3 runs like a dream.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II || Canon 50mm f/1.8 || Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS || Canon 580 EX II
b.han is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #29
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,332
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

I use Windows 7 64bit at work, using just basic stuff like office, thunderbird, firefox, basic image viewers, but also running VMware and inside that I run multiple VMs running Linux. The machine has been rock solid and I like using it (latest gen quad core Xeon chip 12GB RAM). Haven't tried Photoshop or anything, and won't.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #30
oomus
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 313
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit)

+1 with no problems on 64 Bit Win 7 and CS4
Has not crashed in over a year of use.
and I agree hardware that has drivers designed for 32 bit OS' or were poorly written may struggle with the new architecture in 64 bit Win 7 due to drivers that are not 100% compatable. without updated drivers it may be a crap shoot.

Also my Spyder 3 elite works flawlessly with it as well
__________________
Scott G.
WWW.AzClockStoppers.com
The Gear List
oomus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 and RAW plus 64bit info David Ransley Computers 41 1st of June 2012 (Fri) 20:46
MarkIII EXIF in Windows 7 64bit 05Xrunner Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 15th of March 2010 (Mon) 03:12
Windows XP 64bit vs. Vista 64bit LMMPhoto Computers 22 11th of April 2009 (Sat) 11:43
color calibrating in windows 64bit inspiron23 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 1 31st of March 2009 (Tue) 14:37


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.