Thread started 28 Jun 2010 (Monday) 11:34   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

MinnGreenGT
Joined Jun 2006
281 posts
Lakeville, MN
[MORE/SHARE]

Introduction:

While I have been "taking pictures" for about 15 years, my interest in quality photography has just spiked in the past few years - thanks largely to this forum. I don't claim to be a professional photographer (I'm a graphic designer by trade), but I do occasionally get paid for my work behind the lens.

A disclaimer: I consider myself to be "frugal" - something I learned from my Mother. My friends sometimes call me "cheap" - but admit that I generally do my homework and get the best "cheap" I can afford. I recently upgraded from my trusty XT/350D, to a T1i - then immediately to a 50D (but that's a whole different story). Aside from a 1st Gen thrifty-fifty, I primarily shoot with Sigma lenses.

I spent some time reading the strobist blogexternal link and learning my way around basic off-camera flash theory. I purchased a set of "ebay triggers" (that have proven themselves to be quite reliable) to fire some old flash units my Dad gave me (Promaster 7500 & a Manual Vivitar) and recently added a Yongnuo YN-467 & a "flash ring" modifier to my collection of gadgets.

I have been borrowing a light stand & umbrella from my office, but decided I should have my own kit. After doing some research (and not really finding any sort of review on these specifically), I decided to take the chance and buy the Cowboy Studio "2 Strobist Kit" and share the results with POTN to help you make a decision one way or another.

The info that follows is a review of the cbstudio kit as a whole, followed by a brief comparison of the kit parts vs. the Manfrotto/Bogen & Promaster parts I've been using at the office.

The Review: