Recommended workflow

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing
Thread started 06 Jul 2010 (Tuesday) 04:25   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

loydall
Joined Oct 2009
755 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi - I'm just starting out in DSLR video so excuse the newbie questions.

I'm shooting with a 7D and I love the look of footage shot in 24p. I'm wondering if any of you guys have a preferred workflow for getting the footage from your camera, editing it and exporting to decent quality format.

I have both premiere and after effects (I've used after effects quite a bit but premiere is fairly new to me). The format that comes straight off the 7D seems to kill my computer a bit so - do you guys convert to anything else before begining editing?

And what formats are you working with for best quality? Mostly I will want to be converting to a format to use on the web (so eventually being played in flash) but would like to burn to DVD as well so the final output needs to decent.

And - I'm doing this on my laptop and it's killing my machine. I thought I had a decent spec machine - Intel core duo 2.4, 512mb Nvidia GeForce 9700 graphics card and 4GB DDR3 but it's really struggling with these files.

Any tips for best results without killing my machine?

Cheers.

Post #1, Jul 06, 2010 04:25:53

5d Mark II + whatever lenses I have on the day..
Photographyexternal link
|
Foodexternal link

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
cwr89
Joined May 2009
227 posts
Cincinnati, Ohio
[MORE/SHARE]