Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Digital Video
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 6th of July 2010 (Tue)   #1
loydall

Default Recommended workflow

Hi - I'm just starting out in DSLR video so excuse the newbie questions.

I'm shooting with a 7D and I love the look of footage shot in 24p. I'm wondering if any of you guys have a preferred workflow for getting the footage from your camera, editing it and exporting to decent quality format.

I have both premiere and after effects (I've used after effects quite a bit but premiere is fairly new to me). The format that comes straight off the 7D seems to kill my computer a bit so - do you guys convert to anything else before begining editing?

And what formats are you working with for best quality? Mostly I will want to be converting to a format to use on the web (so eventually being played in flash) but would like to burn to DVD as well so the final output needs to decent.

And - I'm doing this on my laptop and it's killing my machine. I thought I had a decent spec machine - Intel core duo 2.4, 512mb Nvidia GeForce 9700 graphics card and 4GB DDR3 but it's really struggling with these files.

Any tips for best results without killing my machine?

Cheers.
Food
loydall is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of July 2010 (Tue)   #2
cwr89

Default Re: Recommended workflow