Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 17 Jul 2010 (Saturday) 18:41
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Photoshop error "Cannot save file "xxxx" because disk is full" (it isn't?)

 
ashleynaugust
Member
241 posts
Joined Mar 2008

Southern Louisiana
MORE INFO

Hi! I'm hoping someone can help. I have Photoshop 7 (ancient, I know, but for how I use it I haven't been able to justify the upgrade over camera equipment)

I have used it with no issue for years, saving to my internal harddrive and a 250 gig external HD. I recently bought a 2TB drive that I want to store one copy and all my post-processed work on, to save space on my computer.

This is how it is currently set up, since I added the 2TB drive:
My internal HD (c: ) has 40 gigs free
I have a backup 250 gig drive with 200 gigs free (f: )
and my new Mybook 2TB drive which has 1.7 TB free (g: )

So all the drives have plenty of space. I cannot use photoshop to save ANYTHING to the G: drive. I can't save a large file, a jpg, or a 5KB gif, I get an error message that says "Cannot save "filename" because disk g: is full"

G: is not full. Here is where it gets really strange-Photoshop can save that file anywhere else on my computer, on C: or on F:.

Any other photo program or other program can save to G: perfectly fine, with no errors.

There must be some communication problem between PS and the new drive, any ideas on how to fix it? I've googled and found mention of others with the same problem, but no fixes.
(these for example: http://torch.cs.dal.ca​/~bate/archive/775external link
and
http://www.mombu.com ...-saving-file-3614306.htmlexternal link)


Please help!

Jul 17, 2010 18:41

~Ashley~ 7D, 40D; 50mm 1.4; 50-250mm; 28-135mm; Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8; Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8; 580exII

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Hen3Ry
Senior Member
Hen3Ry's Avatar
964 posts

Joined Nov 2009

Aptos, CA, USA
MORE INFO

What OS? What CPU?

Jul 17, 2010 22:33

***************
Je n'avais pas besoin de cette hypothèse-là.

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,410 posts
GALLERY: 19 photos

Joined Sep 2007

Vancouver, WA USA
MORE INFO

Ashley, I don't have a clue as to what the problem may be, but you might also check in the Adobe Photoshop Forum:

http://forums.adobe.co​m/community/photoshopexternal link

Jul 18, 2010 09:31

Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Lowner's Avatar
12,922 posts

Joined Jul 2007

Salisbury, UK.
MORE INFO

It might be referring to your scratch disc. If you have been beavering away on a large and multi layered image, the scratch disc might well be full, with no room left to juggle the parts as you flatten and save it. For a long time I have used my external drive for the scratch disc as suggested by Adobe because I have had similar warnings in the past.

Jul 18, 2010 09:47

Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
sandpiper's Avatar
7,098 posts
GALLERY: 1 photo

Joined Aug 2006

Merseyside, England
MORE INFO

Lowner wrote in post #10557756external link
It might be referring to your scratch disc. If you have been beavering away on a large and multi layered image, the scratch disc might well be full, with no room left to juggle the parts as you flatten and save it. For a long time I have used my external drive for the scratch disc as suggested by Adobe because I have had similar warnings in the past.

Yeah, I used to have similar issues as the scratch disc filled up (it is by default a small portion of your actual disc). I put in a second disc (WD 10,000rpm) and opened it right up as a dedicated scratch disc which speeds up processing and gets rid of the dramatic slowdowns and saving issues when you have been working for a while.

Jul 18, 2010 10:02



LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
39,854 posts

Joined Feb 2005

enschede, netherlands
MORE INFO

Scratch disk full would give a different error message AFAIK.

Jul 18, 2010 10:53

"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Goldmember
Bobster's Avatar
4,888 posts

Joined May 2006

Dorset, England
MORE INFO

have you tried copying the image and pasting to a new document and saving?

resetting PS prefs by holding Shift+CTL (CMD Mac)+Alt (Option Mac) when launching PS?

Jul 18, 2010 18:42

Robert Whettonexternal link Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hoodexternal link | Gear | Tweetexternal link | Google+external link | Get your focus spot onexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
xlynx
Member
xlynx's Avatar
190 posts
GALLERY: 5 photos

Joined Jun 2010

Belarus
MORE INFO

Yeah, what OS? Can you write on this disk in usual way, not from PS ?

Jul 19, 2010 00:53

6d.::.135L.::.85L.::.35L.::.55/1.2FL.::.Samyang 14/2.8.::.430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
ashleynaugust
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
241 posts
Joined Mar 2008

Southern Louisiana
MORE INFO

Sorry for not replying. I read on another forum online that it is a problem with older photoshops. I have Windows XP.

I can write on the disk with anything and everything BUT Photoshop (v. 7.0)

It has nothing to do with the scratch disk, unfortunately. I spent a lot of time reconfiguring that before realizing that it makes no difference. :( I'm just going to have to use the drive for storage and not edited photos until I get a new PS.

Aug 04, 2010 15:27

~Ashley~ 7D, 40D; 50mm 1.4; 50-250mm; 28-135mm; Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8; Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8; 580exII

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Goldmember
Bobster's Avatar
4,888 posts

Joined May 2006

Dorset, England
MORE INFO

have you tried upgrading to PS 7.0.1?

Aug 04, 2010 15:36

Robert Whettonexternal link Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hoodexternal link | Gear | Tweetexternal link | Google+external link | Get your focus spot onexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Lowner's Avatar
12,922 posts

Joined Jul 2007

Salisbury, UK.
MORE INFO

I use PS7 very happily on a fairly ancient PC, it does everything I want it to do so like you will not be changing it any time soon. The age of PS7 is not a problem, nor, with the ever cheaper external hard drives now available is storage space. But PS does need "elbow room" and newer versions will only make that worse. My internal hard drive is 75% empty, I don't store image files on it long term so my software has the room it needs.

Aug 06, 2010 05:14

Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
PhotosGuy's Avatar
69,988 posts
GALLERY: 3 photos

Joined Feb 2004

Middle of Michigan
MORE INFO

Lowner wrote in post #10671768external link
I use PS7 very happily on a fairly ancient PC, it does everything I want it to do so like you will not be changing it any time soon. The age of PS7 is not a problem, nor, with the every cheaper external hard drives now available is storage space. But PS does need "elbow room" and newer versions will only make that worse. My internal hard drive is 75% empty, I don't store image files on it long term so my software has the room it needs.

I use PS7 on XP too, & haven't seen this problem. It does everything I need, so I won't plan on changing in the future. I'd be interested in the answer if you find one.

Aug 06, 2010 09:33

FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Lowner's Avatar
12,922 posts

Joined Jul 2007

Salisbury, UK.
MORE INFO

I had some peculiar behavior issues when I installed my LaCie 2x 1TB dual drive. My PC refused to accept it was available for use although it agreed with me that it was there. I asked on the computer section here and got chapter and verse on what I needed to do. All LaCie offered was a lame "is it plugged in?" "have you turned it on?" Here I was treated like a grown-up and got good advise - Somewhere in the PC is a list of hardware and this needed very specific instructions before suddenly everything was fine.

Aug 06, 2010 12:39

Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DustieN
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Oct 2009
MORE INFO

I happened to have the same problem so went to the web for answers. This thread gave me the idea to try saving files using my upgraded version of Photoshop, CS3, rather then Photoshop 7 and see if I still got the Disc Full Error and it saved successfully. I upgraded Photoshop 7 awhile back when I learned that, after CS3, Photoshop 7 would be no longer upgradable and you'd have to buy the full version. I've been fighting having to learn it though, since I'm so comfortable with Photoshop 7 and the first few times I used CS3 It was missing key elements I used all the time in 7 or at least they were moved and I coudln't find them.

Looks like now though, unless I want to send this Western Digital 2tb hard drive back, I'm going to have to learn to use the upgrade. Photoshop 7 and Western Digital Elements 2 TB hard drive (as well as the WE Mybook 2tb the original poster owns) are simply incompatable with Photoshop 7. Photoshop CS3 works with it just fine though, so guess I'd better get to work learning Photoshop CS3. Good thing I had both on my computer though, or I would have never figured out the problem.

Nov 16, 2010 17:01



LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,410 posts
GALLERY: 19 photos

Joined Sep 2007

Vancouver, WA USA
MORE INFO

Dustie, that still doesn't seem right -- there are people here who are happily using PS7. What OS are you using, and what disk format is your hard drive (if you have Windows and right-click on the drive listed in Explorer then Properties shoud say either FAT32 or NTFS)?

As to the differences between PS7 and CS3, my one suggestion would be to check terms in PS7 for things that you use and look them up in the CS3 Help -- as far as I know CS3 should have the useful "stuff" although some "workflow" things might be missing or changed around.

Nov 16, 2010 19:13

Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

18,629 views & 0 likes for this thread
Photoshop error "Cannot save file "xxxx" because disk is full" (it isn't?)
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00085 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is stevem46
818 guests, 705 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015