Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 17 Jul 2010 (Saturday) 18:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Photoshop error "Cannot save file "xxxx" because disk is full" (it isn't?)

 
ashleynaugust
Member
245 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Southern Louisiana
     
Jul 17, 2010 18:41 |  #1

Hi! I'm hoping someone can help. I have Photoshop 7 (ancient, I know, but for how I use it I haven't been able to justify the upgrade over camera equipment)

I have used it with no issue for years, saving to my internal harddrive and a 250 gig external HD. I recently bought a 2TB drive that I want to store one copy and all my post-processed work on, to save space on my computer.

This is how it is currently set up, since I added the 2TB drive:
My internal HD (c: ) has 40 gigs free
I have a backup 250 gig drive with 200 gigs free (f: )
and my new Mybook 2TB drive which has 1.7 TB free (g: )

So all the drives have plenty of space. I cannot use photoshop to save ANYTHING to the G: drive. I can't save a large file, a jpg, or a 5KB gif, I get an error message that says "Cannot save "filename" because disk g: is full"

G: is not full. Here is where it gets really strange-Photoshop can save that file anywhere else on my computer, on C: or on F:.

Any other photo program or other program can save to G: perfectly fine, with no errors.

There must be some communication problem between PS and the new drive, any ideas on how to fix it? I've googled and found mention of others with the same problem, but no fixes.
(these for example: http://torch.cs.dal.ca​/~bate/archive/775 (external link)
and
http://www.mombu.com …-saving-file-3614306.html (external link))


Please help!


~Ashley~ 7D, 40D; 50mm 1.4; 50-250mm; 28-135mm; Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8; Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8; 580exII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Hen3Ry
Goldmember
Avatar
1,047 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Aptos, CA, USA
     
Jul 17, 2010 22:33 |  #2

What OS? What CPU?


***************
Je n'avais pas besoin de cette hypothèse-là.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,640 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 520
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 18, 2010 09:31 |  #3

Ashley, I don't have a clue as to what the problem may be, but you might also check in the Adobe Photoshop Forum:

http://forums.adobe.co​m/community/photoshop (external link)


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Jul 18, 2010 09:47 |  #4

It might be referring to your scratch disc. If you have been beavering away on a large and multi layered image, the scratch disc might well be full, with no room left to juggle the parts as you flatten and save it. For a long time I have used my external drive for the scratch disc as suggested by Adobe because I have had similar warnings in the past.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,170 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 47
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Merseyside, England
     
Jul 18, 2010 10:02 |  #5

Lowner wrote in post #10557756 (external link)
It might be referring to your scratch disc. If you have been beavering away on a large and multi layered image, the scratch disc might well be full, with no room left to juggle the parts as you flatten and save it. For a long time I have used my external drive for the scratch disc as suggested by Adobe because I have had similar warnings in the past.

Yeah, I used to have similar issues as the scratch disc filled up (it is by default a small portion of your actual disc). I put in a second disc (WD 10,000rpm) and opened it right up as a dedicated scratch disc which speeds up processing and gets rid of the dramatic slowdowns and saving issues when you have been working for a while.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Jul 18, 2010 10:53 |  #6

Scratch disk full would give a different error message AFAIK.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,059 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 444
Joined May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
     
Jul 18, 2010 18:42 |  #7

have you tried copying the image and pasting to a new document and saving?

resetting PS prefs by holding Shift+CTL (CMD Mac)+Alt (Option Mac) when launching PS?


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hood (external link) | Gear | Tweet (external link) | Google+ (external link) | FoCal 2 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xlynx
Member
Avatar
190 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 5
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Belarus
     
Jul 19, 2010 00:53 |  #8

Yeah, what OS? Can you write on this disk in usual way, not from PS ?


6d.::.135L.::.85L.::.35L.::.55/1.2FL.::.Samyang 14/2.8.::.430EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ashleynaugust
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
245 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Southern Louisiana
     
Aug 04, 2010 15:27 |  #9

Sorry for not replying. I read on another forum online that it is a problem with older photoshops. I have Windows XP.

I can write on the disk with anything and everything BUT Photoshop (v. 7.0)

It has nothing to do with the scratch disk, unfortunately. I spent a lot of time reconfiguring that before realizing that it makes no difference. :( I'm just going to have to use the drive for storage and not edited photos until I get a new PS.


~Ashley~ 7D, 40D; 50mm 1.4; 50-250mm; 28-135mm; Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8; Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8; 580exII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,059 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 444
Joined May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
     
Aug 04, 2010 15:36 |  #10

have you tried upgrading to PS 7.0.1?


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hood (external link) | Gear | Tweet (external link) | Google+ (external link) | FoCal 2 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Aug 06, 2010 05:14 |  #11

I use PS7 very happily on a fairly ancient PC, it does everything I want it to do so like you will not be changing it any time soon. The age of PS7 is not a problem, nor, with the ever cheaper external hard drives now available is storage space. But PS does need "elbow room" and newer versions will only make that worse. My internal hard drive is 75% empty, I don't store image files on it long term so my software has the room it needs.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,241 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2092
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Aug 06, 2010 09:33 |  #12

Lowner wrote in post #10671768 (external link)
I use PS7 very happily on a fairly ancient PC, it does everything I want it to do so like you will not be changing it any time soon. The age of PS7 is not a problem, nor, with the every cheaper external hard drives now available is storage space. But PS does need "elbow room" and newer versions will only make that worse. My internal hard drive is 75% empty, I don't store image files on it long term so my software has the room it needs.

I use PS7 on XP too, & haven't seen this problem. It does everything I need, so I won't plan on changing in the future. I'd be interested in the answer if you find one.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Aug 06, 2010 12:39 |  #13

I had some peculiar behavior issues when I installed my LaCie 2x 1TB dual drive. My PC refused to accept it was available for use although it agreed with me that it was there. I asked on the computer section here and got chapter and verse on what I needed to do. All LaCie offered was a lame "is it plugged in?" "have you turned it on?" Here I was treated like a grown-up and got good advise - Somewhere in the PC is a list of hardware and this needed very specific instructions before suddenly everything was fine.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DustieN
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Oct 2009
     
Nov 16, 2010 17:01 |  #14

I happened to have the same problem so went to the web for answers. This thread gave me the idea to try saving files using my upgraded version of Photoshop, CS3, rather then Photoshop 7 and see if I still got the Disc Full Error and it saved successfully. I upgraded Photoshop 7 awhile back when I learned that, after CS3, Photoshop 7 would be no longer upgradable and you'd have to buy the full version. I've been fighting having to learn it though, since I'm so comfortable with Photoshop 7 and the first few times I used CS3 It was missing key elements I used all the time in 7 or at least they were moved and I coudln't find them.

Looks like now though, unless I want to send this Western Digital 2tb hard drive back, I'm going to have to learn to use the upgrade. Photoshop 7 and Western Digital Elements 2 TB hard drive (as well as the WE Mybook 2tb the original poster owns) are simply incompatable with Photoshop 7. Photoshop CS3 works with it just fine though, so guess I'd better get to work learning Photoshop CS3. Good thing I had both on my computer though, or I would have never figured out the problem.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,640 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 520
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Nov 16, 2010 19:13 |  #15

Dustie, that still doesn't seem right -- there are people here who are happily using PS7. What OS are you using, and what disk format is your hard drive (if you have Windows and right-click on the drive listed in Explorer then Properties shoud say either FAT32 or NTFS)?

As to the differences between PS7 and CS3, my one suggestion would be to check terms in PS7 for things that you use and look them up in the CS3 Help -- as far as I know CS3 should have the useful "stuff" although some "workflow" things might be missing or changed around.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

26,816 views & 0 likes for this thread
Photoshop error "Cannot save file "xxxx" because disk is full" (it isn't?)
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is abrahamf
1012 guests, 428 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.