Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 23 Jul 2010 (Friday) 06:03
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Canon EOS 7D : how to stop Auto ISO

 
alicefred
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jul 2010
California
Jul 23, 2010 06:03 |  #1

Hello everyone..
I have a Canon EOS 7D digital SLR camera and I must admit that it is one of the best cameras I have ever before. I got it few weeks ago from buy.com through http://www.dealrocker.​comexternal link discount deal. I really impressed with the overall performance and especially like Auto ISO feature. Now anyone can take good photos. Set the camera on auto and no need to explain how to use the camera. Does anyone know how can I stop Auto ISO? It's nice to have this feature, but at some times I prefer to set the ISO manually.

Thanks in advance.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Invertalon
Cream of the Crop
Invertalon's Avatar
6,490 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Cleveland, OH
Jul 23, 2010 06:11 |  #2

Um... What mode are you shooting in? If in auto, GET OUT.

Any other mode you just hit ISO button and put it at desired ISO... Not much to it.

Might want to look at the manual :P


-Steve
Facebookexternal link
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
dpds68
Goldmember
dpds68's Avatar
1,464 posts
Joined May 2008
Trinidad and Tobago W.I.
Jul 23, 2010 06:15 |  #3

Press the ISO/EC button then turn the top dial to your desired ISO , auto ISO is indicated with a "A" . never used auto ISO myself .


David


Gripped Canon 7D,20D,XT / Tamron 17-50mm 2.8, Canon 85mm f1.8 , 70-200 2.8L,EF50mm1.8 II,Sigma 150-500mm OS, Sigma 105mm 2.8 Macro, Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6
Vivitar285Hv x2,Canon430EX,Nissin Di866,CTR-301P Triggers,
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dpds68/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
alicefred
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jul 2010
California
Jul 23, 2010 06:27 |  #4

Thanks for your support.. I will certainly try your advice.




LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
29,110 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Jul 23, 2010 07:49 |  #5

Go into P, Av, Tv or M, then you control whether ISO is A or 100-12800.

Green box mode = point and shoot robotic mode


Past Equipment | My Galleryexternal link
Resources For Sale: High ISO Denoiser Actionexternal link | Focus Genie

LOG IN TO REPLY
nekrosoft13
Goldmember
nekrosoft13's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
Jul 23, 2010 07:51 |  #6

Does 7D have the same function as T2i where you can set max ISO?

on T2i you can set max iso to 800 for example and Auto iso will go from 100 to 800, but not above.


Gear List
Voigtlander 10mm E-Mount for Sale

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
29,110 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Jul 23, 2010 07:53 |  #7

nekrosoft13 wrote in post #10588580external link
Does 7D have the same function as T2i where you can set max ISO?

on T2i you can set max iso to 800 for example and Auto iso will go from 100 to 800, but not above.

No :(

I would love to set my max ISO to 12800 and then put the 7D on auto-ISO. :)


Past Equipment | My Galleryexternal link
Resources For Sale: High ISO Denoiser Actionexternal link | Focus Genie

LOG IN TO REPLY
Josepi
Senior Member
281 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Jul 23, 2010 07:54 |  #8

dpds68 wrote in post #10588284external link
never used auto ISO myself .

I've found it to be useful on occasion in situations bordering low light/mixed light if I'm trying to keep a min shutter whilst wide open.




LOG IN TO REPLY
dpds68
Goldmember
dpds68's Avatar
1,464 posts
Joined May 2008
Trinidad and Tobago W.I.
Jul 23, 2010 07:57 |  #9

Thank You , I will give it a whirl one of these days .


Gripped Canon 7D,20D,XT / Tamron 17-50mm 2.8, Canon 85mm f1.8 , 70-200 2.8L,EF50mm1.8 II,Sigma 150-500mm OS, Sigma 105mm 2.8 Macro, Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6
Vivitar285Hv x2,Canon430EX,Nissin Di866,CTR-301P Triggers,
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dpds68/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,870 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon EOS 7D : how to stop Auto ISO
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00078 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is Catbus
863 guests, 354 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016