Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 31 Jul 2010 (Saturday) 11:37
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

7D Shutter will not work...

 
416bw
Member
119 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Alaska
Jul 31, 2010 11:37 |  #1

Hi folks,

Today I was taking some pictures with my 7D and 70-200mm lens, and everything was fine. Then I switched to a 17-55mm and for some reason it wouldn't take a picture. Everything else works. It focuses, I can view images stored, it switches modes, the flash pops up in auto-mode, etc. But when I depress the shutter release (it will focus) but not take a picture.

I've tried recharging the battery (it was low) switching CF cards, and clearing all custom functions and nothing worked. The lock switch on the big wheel doesn't affect it either.

For some background, I'm in Afghanistan and it's been extremely dusty. The camera isn't what I'd considered abused, but it's well used, certainly a bit dirty, and gets some rough handling at times. The mode switch has always been sticky. When I turn the power lever on, the mode switch tends to change functions too. Usually from my normal Av selection, to Manual. But as I mentioned, the mode switch does work, as well as the power switch.

I'm wide open for suggestions, and am not above trying field repairs at this point. It would take over a month to ship it back, get it fixed, and then shipped back. I'd probably buy another body in the mean time.

Thanks for any help.


1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Buckieh
Member
Buckieh's Avatar
220 posts
Joined Feb 2010
BC
Jul 31, 2010 11:45 |  #2

If I was in Afghanistan I would have bigger worries than why my camera wont take pictures! Be careful shooting, the US military might think you are an insurgent with an "RPG" and blow you up from an apache helicopter!


Gear: 450d, 18-55mm, 17-85mm, Canon 50mm f/1.4 Tiffen 67mm CP, Dolica AX620B100 Tripod, CS4, DA camera bag
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/buckieh/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
416bw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
119 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Alaska
Jul 31, 2010 11:46 |  #3

Quick update...

There's no grip installed, and I just remembered I have a wireless remote, and the camera does take pictures with the remote.

Thinking it's gotta be dirt in the shutter release button.

Thoughts?


1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
Vermin87
Goldmember
1,036 posts
Joined Dec 2006
CA
Jul 31, 2010 11:48 |  #4

it is only a problem on one lens or all of them?


Gear
Flickrexternal link
Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
foxbat
Goldmember
foxbat's Avatar
2,429 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Essex, UK.
Jul 31, 2010 11:53 |  #5

416bw wrote in post #10637189external link
Thinking it's gotta be dirt in the shutter release button.

Sounds like the most likely explanation. Do you have a powerful bulb blower? Half-press the shutter button to make a little space between the button and the housing and blow it hard from all angles with the bulb blower to see if you can dislodge whatever's in the way.


Andy Brown; South-east England. Canon, Sigma, Leica, Zeiss all on Canon DSLRs. My hacking blogexternal link.

LOG IN TO REPLY
MyLookingGlassEye
Member
200 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Jul 31, 2010 11:57 |  #6

If the remote will trip the shutter,
but the button won't, then I agree - it's gotta be some particles preventing contact at the button.

With your situation, your options are limited on repair - I wish ya Good luck if you try cleanin it.


My PhotoCenter :D :
Gripped 12DD2 ;)/5 bits of glass/dual triple tubes/Sig TCs,
2-580EXIIs/Manfrotto 055CXPRO3 with 3 heads/Cool-lights/Soft box/reflectors/ExpoDis​c & filters galore/Epson R1900+CISS/Now CS5 powered! :p

LOG IN TO REPLY
416bw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
119 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Alaska
Jul 31, 2010 12:01 |  #7

Vermin87 wrote in post #10637199external link
it is only a problem on one lens or all of them?

Same thing with both of the 2 lenses I have here.

Thanks!


1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
416bw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
119 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Alaska
Jul 31, 2010 12:07 |  #8

foxbat wrote in post #10637215external link
Sounds like the most likely explanation. Do you have a powerful bulb blower? Half-press the shutter button to make a little space between the button and the housing and blow it hard from all angles with the bulb blower to see if you can dislodge whatever's in the way.

I have one of those Giotto Rocket blowers. Tried it, but no joy.

Might be able to get a hold of a can of air, the kind used for cleaning keyboards. Would that cause any problems? Also have access to electrical contact cleaner.


1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
foxbat
Goldmember
foxbat's Avatar
2,429 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Essex, UK.
Jul 31, 2010 12:17 |  #9

416bw wrote in post #10637264external link
I have one of those Giotto Rocket blowers. Tried it, but no joy.

Might be able to get a hold of a can of air, the kind used for cleaning keyboards. Would that cause any problems? Also have access to electrical contact cleaner.

Not a good idea to use canned air - the liquid propellant does not play well with the electronics in the camera.


Andy Brown; South-east England. Canon, Sigma, Leica, Zeiss all on Canon DSLRs. My hacking blogexternal link.

LOG IN TO REPLY
416bw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
119 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Alaska
Jul 31, 2010 12:22 |  #10

Buckieh wrote in post #10637185 (external link)
If I was in Afghanistan I would have bigger worries than why my camera wont take pictures! Be careful shooting, the US military might think you are an insurgent with an "RPG" and blow you up from an apache helicopter!

No issues so far... :cool:

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://img.photobucket​.com .../Afghanistan/apache​-1.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Byte size: ZERO


Here's a Canadian Ch-47 for ya...

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://img.photobucket​.com ...an/canadian-chinook-1.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Byte size: ZERO

1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
416bw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
119 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Alaska
Jul 31, 2010 12:36 |  #11

I'm thinking about buying a grip and having it shipped over. Any thoughts on whether or not the shutter release on a grip will override the non-functioning shutter release on the body?

Thanks


1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,562 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Utah, USA
Jul 31, 2010 12:47 |  #12

416bw wrote in post #10637386external link
I'm thinking about buying a grip and having it shipped over. Any thoughts on whether or not the shutter release on a grip will override the non-functioning shutter release on the body?

Thanks

If it truly is a faulty button that is to blame, then yes. You could also try this with a remote shutter release.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickrexternal link
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

LOG IN TO REPLY
hpulley
Goldmember
4,390 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Jul 31, 2010 14:30 |  #13

First, great pics!

Unfortunately it sounds like the 7D has the same shutter dirt problem as the 40D and 50D, not surprising really, similar bodies. There are instructions on the net for taking it apart. Some people pour some alcohol in there (see the "I'm about the pour alcohol into my 30D, wish me luck!" thread. If the camera is at all under warranty you'd want to send it in though the remote and/or the grip (in portrait orientation) will likely let you get by for now.

If you get another body, you might want a 1D, better sealing even on an old cheap model classic or Mark II.


flickrexternal link 1DIIN 40D 1NRS 650 1.4xII EF12II Pel8 50f1.8I 28-80II 17-40L 24-70L 100-400L 177A 199A OC-E3 RS-80N3

LOG IN TO REPLY
416bw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
119 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Alaska
Jul 31, 2010 19:44 |  #14

Thanks for the heads up on the cleaning/repair thread!

The pics I posted look much better larger. I did a quick resize on PhotoBucket to fit them here.

My thoughts exactly on going to some version of the 1D body. :)


1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
416bw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
119 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Alaska
Aug 01, 2010 00:52 |  #15

Thanks to you fine folks, the 7D is back up and running.

I watched a video about cleaning the shutter release via the battery compartment, tried it with some electrical contact cleaner, and 'viola', it works now.

Thanks again!


1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,603 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Shutter will not work...
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00131 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is whould983
667 guests, 587 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016