Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #1
416bw
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 119
Unhappy 7D Shutter will not work...

Hi folks,

Today I was taking some pictures with my 7D and 70-200mm lens, and everything was fine. Then I switched to a 17-55mm and for some reason it wouldn't take a picture. Everything else works. It focuses, I can view images stored, it switches modes, the flash pops up in auto-mode, etc. But when I depress the shutter release (it will focus) but not take a picture.

I've tried recharging the battery (it was low) switching CF cards, and clearing all custom functions and nothing worked. The lock switch on the big wheel doesn't affect it either.

For some background, I'm in Afghanistan and it's been extremely dusty. The camera isn't what I'd considered abused, but it's well used, certainly a bit dirty, and gets some rough handling at times. The mode switch has always been sticky. When I turn the power lever on, the mode switch tends to change functions too. Usually from my normal Av selection, to Manual. But as I mentioned, the mode switch does work, as well as the power switch.

I'm wide open for suggestions, and am not above trying field repairs at this point. It would take over a month to ship it back, get it fixed, and then shipped back. I'd probably buy another body in the mean time.

Thanks for any help.
__________________
1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |
416bw is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #2
Buckieh
Member
 
Buckieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 220
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

If I was in Afghanistan I would have bigger worries than why my camera wont take pictures! Be careful shooting, the US military might think you are an insurgent with an "RPG" and blow you up from an apache helicopter!
__________________
Gear: 450d, 18-55mm, 17-85mm, Canon 50mm f/1.4 Tiffen 67mm CP, Dolica AX620B100 Tripod, CS4, DA camera bag

http://www.flickr.com/photos/buckieh/
Buckieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #3
416bw
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 119
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Quick update...

There's no grip installed, and I just remembered I have a wireless remote, and the camera does take pictures with the remote.

Thinking it's gotta be dirt in the shutter release button.

Thoughts?
__________________
1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |
416bw is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #4
Vermin87
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 1,033
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

it is only a problem on one lens or all of them?
__________________
Gear
Flickr
Website
Vermin87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #5
foxbat
Goldmember
 
foxbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Essex, UK.
Posts: 2,426
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 416bw View Post
Thinking it's gotta be dirt in the shutter release button.
Sounds like the most likely explanation. Do you have a powerful bulb blower? Half-press the shutter button to make a little space between the button and the housing and blow it hard from all angles with the bulb blower to see if you can dislodge whatever's in the way.
__________________
Andy Brown; South-east England. Canon, Sigma, Leica, Zeiss all on Canon DSLRs. My Gallery. Gear here.
foxbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #6
MyLookingGlassEye
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 200
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

If the remote will trip the shutter,
but the button won't, then I agree - it's gotta be some particles preventing contact at the button.

With your situation, your options are limited on repair - I wish ya Good luck if you try cleanin it.
__________________
My PhotoCenter :
Gripped 12DD2 /5 bits of glass/dual triple tubes/Sig TCs,
2-580EXIIs/Manfrotto 055CXPRO3 with 3 heads/Cool-lights/Soft box/reflectors/ExpoDisc & filters galore/Epson R1900+CISS/Now CS5 powered!
MyLookingGlassEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #7
416bw
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 119
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vermin87 View Post
it is only a problem on one lens or all of them?
Same thing with both of the 2 lenses I have here.

Thanks!
__________________
1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |
416bw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #8
416bw
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 119
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxbat View Post
Sounds like the most likely explanation. Do you have a powerful bulb blower? Half-press the shutter button to make a little space between the button and the housing and blow it hard from all angles with the bulb blower to see if you can dislodge whatever's in the way.
I have one of those Giotto Rocket blowers. Tried it, but no joy.

Might be able to get a hold of a can of air, the kind used for cleaning keyboards. Would that cause any problems? Also have access to electrical contact cleaner.
__________________
1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |

Last edited by 416bw : 31st of July 2010 (Sat) at 12:14.
416bw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #9
foxbat
Goldmember
 
foxbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Essex, UK.
Posts: 2,426
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 416bw View Post
I have one of those Giotto Rocket blowers. Tried it, but no joy.

Might be able to get a hold of a can of air, the kind used for cleaning keyboards. Would that cause any problems? Also have access to electrical contact cleaner.
Not a good idea to use canned air - the liquid propellant does not play well with the electronics in the camera.
__________________
Andy Brown; South-east England. Canon, Sigma, Leica, Zeiss all on Canon DSLRs. My Gallery. Gear here.
foxbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #10
416bw
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 119
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckieh View Post
If I was in Afghanistan I would have bigger worries than why my camera wont take pictures! Be careful shooting, the US military might think you are an insurgent with an "RPG" and blow you up from an apache helicopter!
No issues so far...



Here's a Canadian Ch-47 for ya...

__________________
1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |
416bw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #11
416bw
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 119
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

I'm thinking about buying a grip and having it shipped over. Any thoughts on whether or not the shutter release on a grip will override the non-functioning shutter release on the body?

Thanks
__________________
1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |
416bw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #12
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 24,205
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 416bw View Post
I'm thinking about buying a grip and having it shipped over. Any thoughts on whether or not the shutter release on a grip will override the non-functioning shutter release on the body?

Thanks
If it truly is a faulty button that is to blame, then yes. You could also try this with a remote shutter release.
__________________
Taylor
Galleries: Flickr
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s
tkbslc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #13
hpulley
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,386
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

First, great pics!

Unfortunately it sounds like the 7D has the same shutter dirt problem as the 40D and 50D, not surprising really, similar bodies. There are instructions on the net for taking it apart. Some people pour some alcohol in there (see the "I'm about the pour alcohol into my 30D, wish me luck!" thread. If the camera is at all under warranty you'd want to send it in though the remote and/or the grip (in portrait orientation) will likely let you get by for now.

If you get another body, you might want a 1D, better sealing even on an old cheap model classic or Mark II.
__________________
flickr 1DIIN 40D 1NRS 650 1.4xII EF12II Pel8 50f1.8I 28-80II 17-40L 24-70L 100-400L 177A 199A OC-E3 RS-80N3
hpulley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of July 2010 (Sat)   #14
416bw
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 119
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Thanks for the heads up on the cleaning/repair thread!

The pics I posted look much better larger. I did a quick resize on PhotoBucket to fit them here.

My thoughts exactly on going to some version of the 1D body.
__________________
1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |
416bw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of August 2010 (Sun)   #15
416bw
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 119
Default Re: 7D Shutter will not work...

Thanks to you fine folks, the 7D is back up and running.

I watched a video about cleaning the shutter release via the battery compartment, tried it with some electrical contact cleaner, and 'viola', it works now.

Thanks again!
__________________
1DMkIII | 7D | XTi | G16 | 10-22mm | 17-55 2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS | 70-200L f2.8 IS MkII | 100-400L IS | 28-135 IS | Tamron 17-50 | 24-105L f4.0 |
416bw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped and shutter doesnt work on 30D k4show Canon EOS Digital Cameras 8 6th of June 2009 (Sat) 17:29
Cool! how the mirror/shutter work! Sfordphoto General Photography Talk 8 9th of September 2008 (Tue) 04:49
S3 IS - Work around remote shutter release wickiup Small Compact Digitals by Canon 2 24th of April 2007 (Tue) 12:40
Shutter refuses to work temporarily sandrast General Photography Talk 6 18th of September 2006 (Mon) 23:48
A definate way to work out shutter movements ? LMP Canon EOS Digital Cameras 10 27th of October 2005 (Thu) 11:42


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.