Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 03 Aug 2010 (Tuesday) 09:20   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

tonilg
Joined Jul 2010
97 posts
Bellingham, Washington
[MORE/SHARE]

I just got my 7d last week and most of my pictures look good unless I zoom in and then their pretty soft. I know it's because I am just learning but I have read a lot of threads on here about calibrating so I'm just wondering if that is something you do every time you get a new lens. I have a canon 85 1.8 and a Tamron 28-75. Thank you!

Post #1, Aug 03, 2010 09:20:31

http://www.tonilynnpho​tography.com/external link

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Justin_Thyme
Joined Jun 2008
984 posts
Central NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

IF the lens shoots fine on other bodies then get the camera calibrated, especially if its under warranty and will cost you nothing. If you get the body back and have issues with certain lenses or all of them then send off the lenses. NEVER have the lenses calibrated to the body then they are useless on any other body and no reputable camera shop would do it that way. Correct way is to calibrate the body using a tool lens and calibrate the lens using a tool body and use the same facility to do all of it. I send everything to Canon Jameburg NJ and all of my lenses work spot on with all of my bodies.

Post #2, Aug 03, 2010 09:31:18

cbu18
Joined Apr 2006
61 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

what does that process look like? hell, i dont even know if my 7d needs calibration.

if it is under warranty do you just pay for shipping and handling?

and what about my sigma 30 1.4? how do i ensure i am getting the best pics from it. i mean they are good, but i have this nagging feeling that for whatever reason i am missing on super great pictures.

Post #3, Aug 03, 2010 09:52:31

rral22
Joined Jul 2008
883 posts
Saskatchewan, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

cbu18 wrote in post #10653372external link