Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #1
tonilg

Default Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

I just got my 7d last week and most of my pictures look good unless I zoom in and then their pretty soft. I know it's because I am just learning but I have read a lot of threads on here about calibrating so I'm just wondering if that is something you do every time you get a new lens. I have a canon 85 1.8 and a Tamron 28-75. Thank you!
tonilg is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #2
Justin_Thyme

Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

IF the lens shoots fine on other bodies then get the camera calibrated, especially if its under warranty and will cost you nothing. If you get the body back and have issues with certain lenses or all of them then send off the lenses. NEVER have the lenses calibrated to the body then they are useless on any other body and no reputable camera shop would do it that way. Correct way is to calibrate the body using a tool lens and calibrate the lens using a tool body and use the same facility to do all of it. I send everything to Canon Jameburg NJ and all of my lenses work spot on with all of my bodies.
Justin_Thyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #3
cbu18

what does that process look like? hell, i dont even know if my 7d needs calibration.

if it is under warranty do you just pay for shipping and handling?

and what about my sigma 30 1.4? how do i ensure i am getting the best pics from it. i mean they are good, but i have this nagging feeling that for whatever reason i am missing on super great pictures.
cbu18 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #4