Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #1
tonilg
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bellingham, Washington
Posts: 97
Default Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

I just got my 7d last week and most of my pictures look good unless I zoom in and then their pretty soft. I know it's because I am just learning but I have read a lot of threads on here about calibrating so I'm just wondering if that is something you do every time you get a new lens. I have a canon 85 1.8 and a Tamron 28-75. Thank you!
tonilg is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #2
Justin_Thyme
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 984
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

IF the lens shoots fine on other bodies then get the camera calibrated, especially if its under warranty and will cost you nothing. If you get the body back and have issues with certain lenses or all of them then send off the lenses. NEVER have the lenses calibrated to the body then they are useless on any other body and no reputable camera shop would do it that way. Correct way is to calibrate the body using a tool lens and calibrate the lens using a tool body and use the same facility to do all of it. I send everything to Canon Jameburg NJ and all of my lenses work spot on with all of my bodies.
Justin_Thyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #3
cbu18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 61
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

what does that process look like? hell, i dont even know if my 7d needs calibration.

if it is under warranty do you just pay for shipping and handling?

and what about my sigma 30 1.4? how do i ensure i am getting the best pics from it. i mean they are good, but i have this nagging feeling that for whatever reason i am missing on super great pictures.
cbu18 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #4
rral22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 882
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbu18 View Post
what does that process look like? hell, i dont even know if my 7d needs calibration.

if it is under warranty do you just pay for shipping and handling?

and what about my sigma 30 1.4? how do i ensure i am getting the best pics from it. i mean they are good, but i have this nagging feeling that for whatever reason i am missing on super great pictures.
If you don't know it needs it, don't do it. Are you happy with the pictures? Then you are fine.

That "nagging feeling" is, I expect, the result of reading too many posts from pixel peeping measurebaters on internet forums. Relax. Enjoy your camera and lenses until you actually find a problem.
rral22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #5
SiaoP
Senior Member
 
SiaoP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,403
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

Are you just imagining it? Take some shots on a tripod and see if they are any sharper than when you shoot handheld. It could be your technique.
__________________
My Flickr | Gear List
SiaoP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #6
cbu18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 61
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

i think what gets me is i see people taking pictures with their sigma 30mm and i have no idea how much pp was done. then i see a few that are tack sharp and i start expecting that from the lens.
cbu18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2010 (Tue)   #7
tonilg
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bellingham, Washington
Posts: 97
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

I was just asking because I hear so much about calibrating that I wasn't sure if it was something everyone does. I'm pretty sure the reason my images aren't as sharp as others is camera shake and not knowing how to resize and sharpen my images in pp.
tonilg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2010 (Wed)   #8
Veemac
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rral22 View Post
If you don't know it needs it, don't do it. Are you happy with the pictures? Then you are fine.

That "nagging feeling" is, I expect, the result of reading too many posts from pixel peeping measurebaters on internet forums. Relax. Enjoy your camera and lenses until you actually find a problem.
+1,000,000.

If you don't see a problem with your lenses, then don't try to create or imagine one that isn't there. If you want to check them, make sure your methodology isn't flawed (as it so often is in internet forum lens tests); put the camera on a tripod in good light, use a low ISO and high shutter speed (above 1/FL), shoot a subject with good contrast for the AF to lock onto and use a remote release or the self-timer.

Too many people have read "measurebator" threads about sharpness and micro-adjust, so they go take a handheld picture of their dirty sock from 6 inches away at 1/4 sec. shutter speed on 3200 ISO in a room with one table lamp lit, then post a 500% crop of it and ask "Is my lens sharp?". (Okay, maybe over-exaggerated a bit, but you get the point.)

FWIW, I've never had to micro-adjust any of my lenses. I go out and take photos of real things (not test charts, batteries, water bottles, yardsticks, etc.), then load the images onto my computer and look at them. If they look sharp and there are no obvious errors in focusing (that aren't user malfunction), I call it good and don't lose sleep over it.
__________________
Mac
-Stuff I Use-

Last edited by Veemac : 4th of August 2010 (Wed) at 02:27.
Veemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2010 (Wed)   #9
JPayne
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 525
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

I agree. I thought the same things when coming from a 400D to a 7D and then pixel peeping.

The 7Ds images do look soft at 100%, they benefit hugely from an unsharp mask applied in PP. I do this religiously with all of my shots and I can get razor sharp images from this technique.
__________________
Canon 5D MKII | Canon 24-105L | Canon 70-200mm F4L IS |Canon 50mm F1.8 |Canon 100mm F2.8 Macro | Canon 430exII

www.jpayne.co.uk
www.jpayneblog.co.uk
JPayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of August 2010 (Sun)   #10
LibertyToad
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 119
Default Re: Do I need to calibrate my lenses for my 7D?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonilg View Post
I just got my 7d last week and most of my pictures look good unless I zoom in and then their pretty soft. I know it's because I am just learning but I have read a lot of threads on here about calibrating so I'm just wondering if that is something you do every time you get a new lens. I have a canon 85 1.8 and a Tamron 28-75. Thank you!
On my 7D, I recently replaced my Canon 17-85mm with a 24-105mm L. The difference in IQ was extremely noticeable. In addition, the focusing on the new lens is much more accurate. I think the 7D is a different camera with a high quality lens on it. I had a Rebel XT and the 17-85mm was fine on it. On the 7D, it isn't as good. In my opinion, the 7D is pretty demanding on lenses. Just a thought....

Are you keeping you shutter speed as high as possible? It makes a big difference.

I calibrated my 17-85mm on my 7D and it did help a lot. I'd calibrate it and see if you notice a difference.

RE: The comment from an earlier post to "put the camera on a tripod in good light, use a low ISO and high shutter speed (above 1/FL), shoot a subject with good contrast for the AF to lock onto and use a remote release or the self-timer." is great advice. Personally I use the 2 sec self timer and that seems to work fine (a remote release would be better). Also shoot in M mode to keep everything consistent.
__________________
Canon 7D, 17-85mm USM IS, 70-300mm USM IS, 24-105mm f/4 USM IS L, 35mm f/2

Last edited by LibertyToad : 8th of August 2010 (Sun) at 12:47.
LibertyToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1D Mark III, self-calibrate lenses? ThomasOwenM Canon EOS Digital Cameras 12 25th of July 2009 (Sat) 22:00
how do i calibrate my xti? Mike Harrison Canon EOS Digital Cameras 10 14th of May 2007 (Mon) 12:19
How many of you Calibrate ARC? bryno74 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 5 20th of August 2006 (Sun) 20:14
how to calibrate 10D bgaras2001 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 5 27th of August 2003 (Wed) 08:23


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.