Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 10 Aug 2010 (Tuesday) 15:40
PREV/NEXT

Quick Boob Question. Exp. Sim

 
clamber
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
MORE INFO

Edit: Noob, not Boob :/

Im new to DSLRs, and I have the T2i.

And Ive noticed an icon on the screen that blinks sometimes. It says "Exp. Sim". Im just wondering what that is?

I tried google but really didnt get an answer and I dont have my manual with me at the moment.

Thanks.

Aug 10, 2010 15:40



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
iscariot
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Jun 2010
MORE INFO

This question is not what I thought this question was going to be about.

Aug 10, 2010 15:43



LOG IN TO REPLY
gregr2
Goldmember
gregr2's Avatar
1,340 posts

Joined Apr 2010

West Melbourne, Fl
MORE INFO

iscariot wrote in post #10696265external link
This question is not what I thought this question was going to be about.

LOLbw!

Aug 10, 2010 15:52

Flickrexternal link
Canon 5D Mark II | Canon EF 70-200 f4 L IS | 24-105mm f4 L IS | 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
"Image editing Ok"external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
clamber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
MORE INFO

I was wondering wtf you guys were talking about. Rofl I feel like an idiot.

Aug 10, 2010 15:55



LOG IN TO REPLY
DeVVitt
Senior Member
362 posts
Joined Aug 2009

The Netherlands
MORE INFO

Expo sim (Exposure Simulation) shows what your picture would look like with the given shutter speed, aperture and iso value.
For example, put your T2i in full manual mode, start Live View and just start turning dials. Raise your shutter speed and you'll see the screen go darker.
Note, that in some situations Expo sim can't keep up. I've had it a couple of times with my 50D, too dark of a situation. And it's also a pain in the studio lol.

Hope I've answered your question with this.

Aug 10, 2010 16:03


LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
clamber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
MORE INFO

Ahh ok, that makes sense. How do I turn it off?

Would that have anything to do with me not being able to focus on things up close?

Aug 10, 2010 16:10



LOG IN TO REPLY
DeVVitt
Senior Member
362 posts
Joined Aug 2009

The Netherlands
MORE INFO

clamber wrote in post #10696398external link
Ahh ok, that makes sense. How do I turn it off?

Would that have anything to do with me not being able to focus on things up close?

I think it's pretty much thesame in a T2i as in a 50D, so I'll grab my camera for that lol.

Menu
For my camera it's the 3rd yellow tab. Not sure for yours. Search for the one which says: Live View function settings.
Expo. simulation -> Factory default Enable, just turn it to disable.

And that's it!

And no, it has nothing to do with focusing up close. That's your lens. You may be within the minimal distance your lens needs to focus properly.

Aug 10, 2010 16:12


LOG IN TO REPLY
sigma ­ pi
Cream of the Crop
sigma pi's Avatar
11,200 posts

Joined Apr 2010

Los Angeles
MORE INFO

and here i am charging in ready to answer some questions ......... only to find out i am a noob and have no clue :lol:

Aug 10, 2010 16:12

Don't try to confuse me with the facts, my mind is already made up.
http://www.flickr.com ...6850267535/in/photo​streamexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
10,929 posts

Joined Nov 2007

Traryd, Sweden
MORE INFO

No.

It can be turned off in the live view settings.

Aug 10, 2010 16:13 as a reply to clamber's post 2 minutes earlier.

Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,562 posts
Joined Nov 2008

Utah, USA
MORE INFO

When you are using liveview, the camera attempts to show you on the LCD what the photo is going to look like based on the settings being chosen.

As far as focusing up close, that is your lens. The camera doesn't control that ability. Which lens do you have and how close are you trying to focus?

Aug 10, 2010 16:13

Taylor
Galleries: Flickrexternal link
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

LOG IN TO REPLY
clamber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
MORE INFO

I have the 18-55 kit lens.

I took some close up shots last night and they were fine, but now I cant seem to be able to focus properly on anything within ~6 inches.


Edit: Okay now it seems to be focusing alright. Im not sure what was going on.

Thanks for the Exposure Simulation definition though. Ive been wondering what it was. Nifty little feature.

Aug 10, 2010 16:15



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
DeVVitt
Senior Member
362 posts
Joined Aug 2009

The Netherlands
MORE INFO

From the Canon USA website.

18-55 IS kitlens
Closest Focusing Distance 9.8 in./0.25m

Aug 10, 2010 16:17


LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,562 posts
Joined Nov 2008

Utah, USA
MORE INFO

clamber wrote in post #10696430external link
I have the 18-55 kit lens.

I took some close up shots last night and they were fine, but now I cant seem to be able to focus properly on anything within ~8 inches.

The 18-55mm IS lens has a 10" minimum focusing distance. That is measured from the sensor, so given the length of the lens, that means maybe 6-7" from the front of the 18-55 IS is as close as you can focus. That sounds about normal to me. Sometimes focusing up close can be tricky, so you may want to switch to manual focus.

Aug 10, 2010 16:18

Taylor
Galleries: Flickrexternal link
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

LOG IN TO REPLY
clamber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
MORE INFO

Ahh, thanks.

I need to learn some more!

Aug 10, 2010 16:20



LOG IN TO REPLY
caesar2164
Senior Member
caesar2164's Avatar
377 posts

Joined Aug 2007

Stanford, California
MORE INFO

Title fairy! bw!

Aug 10, 2010 17:06 as a reply to clamber's post 46 minutes earlier.

Web Site!external link - Gear List!
Like Literature? Visit Literary Laundryexternal link!

LOG IN TO REPLY

56,224 views & 0 likes for this thread
Quick Boob Question. Exp. Sim
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00089 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is BlueSky77
813 guests, 721 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014