Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 10 Aug 2010 (Tuesday) 15:40
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Quick Boob Question. Exp. Sim

 
clamber
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Aug 10, 2010 15:40 |  #1

Edit: Noob, not Boob :/

Im new to DSLRs, and I have the T2i.

And Ive noticed an icon on the screen that blinks sometimes. It says "Exp. Sim". Im just wondering what that is?

I tried google but really didnt get an answer and I dont have my manual with me at the moment.

Thanks.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
iscariot
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Aug 10, 2010 15:43 |  #2

This question is not what I thought this question was going to be about.




LOG IN TO REPLY
gregr2
Goldmember
gregr2's Avatar
1,340 posts
Joined Apr 2010
West Melbourne, Fl
Aug 10, 2010 15:52 |  #3

iscariot wrote in post #10696265external link
This question is not what I thought this question was going to be about.

LOLbw!


Flickrexternal link
Canon 5D Mark II | Canon EF 70-200 f4 L IS | 24-105mm f4 L IS | 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
"Image editing Ok"external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
clamber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Aug 10, 2010 15:55 |  #4

I was wondering wtf you guys were talking about. Rofl I feel like an idiot.




LOG IN TO REPLY
DeVVitt
Senior Member
362 posts
Joined Aug 2009
The Netherlands
Aug 10, 2010 16:03 |  #5

Expo sim (Exposure Simulation) shows what your picture would look like with the given shutter speed, aperture and iso value.
For example, put your T2i in full manual mode, start Live View and just start turning dials. Raise your shutter speed and you'll see the screen go darker.
Note, that in some situations Expo sim can't keep up. I've had it a couple of times with my 50D, too dark of a situation. And it's also a pain in the studio lol.

Hope I've answered your question with this.



LOG IN TO REPLY
clamber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Aug 10, 2010 16:10 |  #6

Ahh ok, that makes sense. How do I turn it off?

Would that have anything to do with me not being able to focus on things up close?




LOG IN TO REPLY
DeVVitt
Senior Member
362 posts
Joined Aug 2009
The Netherlands
Aug 10, 2010 16:12 |  #7

clamber wrote in post #10696398external link
Ahh ok, that makes sense. How do I turn it off?

Would that have anything to do with me not being able to focus on things up close?

I think it's pretty much thesame in a T2i as in a 50D, so I'll grab my camera for that lol.

Menu
For my camera it's the 3rd yellow tab. Not sure for yours. Search for the one which says: Live View function settings.
Expo. simulation -> Factory default Enable, just turn it to disable.

And that's it!

And no, it has nothing to do with focusing up close. That's your lens. You may be within the minimal distance your lens needs to focus properly.



LOG IN TO REPLY
sigma ­ pi
Cream of the Crop
sigma pi's Avatar
11,200 posts
Joined Apr 2010
Los Angeles
Aug 10, 2010 16:12 |  #8

and here i am charging in ready to answer some questions ......... only to find out i am a noob and have no clue :lol:


Don't try to confuse me with the facts, my mind is already made up.
http://www.flickr.com ...6850267535/in/photo​streamexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,404 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Aug 10, 2010 16:13 as a reply to clamber's post |  #9

No.

It can be turned off in the live view settings.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,562 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Utah, USA
Aug 10, 2010 16:13 |  #10

When you are using liveview, the camera attempts to show you on the LCD what the photo is going to look like based on the settings being chosen.

As far as focusing up close, that is your lens. The camera doesn't control that ability. Which lens do you have and how close are you trying to focus?


Taylor
Galleries: Flickrexternal link
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

LOG IN TO REPLY
clamber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Aug 10, 2010 16:15 |  #11

I have the 18-55 kit lens.

I took some close up shots last night and they were fine, but now I cant seem to be able to focus properly on anything within ~6 inches.


Edit: Okay now it seems to be focusing alright. Im not sure what was going on.

Thanks for the Exposure Simulation definition though. Ive been wondering what it was. Nifty little feature.




LOG IN TO REPLY
DeVVitt
Senior Member
362 posts
Joined Aug 2009
The Netherlands
Aug 10, 2010 16:17 |  #12

From the Canon USA website.

18-55 IS kitlens
Closest Focusing Distance 9.8 in./0.25m



LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,562 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Utah, USA
Aug 10, 2010 16:18 |  #13

clamber wrote in post #10696430external link
I have the 18-55 kit lens.

I took some close up shots last night and they were fine, but now I cant seem to be able to focus properly on anything within ~8 inches.

The 18-55mm IS lens has a 10" minimum focusing distance. That is measured from the sensor, so given the length of the lens, that means maybe 6-7" from the front of the 18-55 IS is as close as you can focus. That sounds about normal to me. Sometimes focusing up close can be tricky, so you may want to switch to manual focus.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickrexternal link
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

LOG IN TO REPLY
clamber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
321 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Aug 10, 2010 16:20 |  #14

Ahh, thanks.

I need to learn some more!




LOG IN TO REPLY
caesar2164
Senior Member
caesar2164's Avatar
377 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Stanford, California
Aug 10, 2010 17:06 as a reply to clamber's post |  #15

Title fairy! bw!


Web Site!external link - Gear List!
Like Literature? Visit Literary Laundryexternal link!

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

67,963 views & 0 likes for this thread
Quick Boob Question. Exp. Sim
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00097 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is birdiee
942 guests, 364 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016