Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th of August 2010 (Thu)   #1
The Ran
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hertford, England
Posts: 1,555
Default EOS Capture and 20D not working

I've got a really annoying problem here. I've installed the EOS Viewer Utility and EOS capture that came on the disk with my 20D, it's never worked on my desktop or netbook. I eventually managed to download something on my desktop that made it work but I can't remember what it was to put it on my netbook. I've tried downloading the latest versions from the Canon website but all it does is give me some .hqx and .dmg files that I can't do anything with (I was expecting something more logical like a .exe).

Now my specific problem is that when I connect the camera, turn it on and start up EOS Viewer Utility and press the button for EOS Capture it come up with "Failed to initialize application", however it comes up with the control panel at the right which displays the correct settings from the camera, but I can't do anything else. Also when trying to browse the files on the camera through the same program it just crashes.

So, anyone have an idea of what I'm doing wrong or need to download? I'm using Windows 7 if that helps.
__________________
Gear List
The Ran is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of August 2010 (Thu)   #2
The Ran
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hertford, England
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: EOS Capture and 20D not working

Okay, turns out the .dmg and .hqx were for Mac so I tried downloading the Windows version. EOS Capture installed so I assume I didn't have the latest version of that, however EOS Viewer Utility just told me that it's already installed and did nothing. None of this has fixed the problem, still comes up with the same ****.

Is there any other program that will allow me to shoot tethered? It doesn't matter if I can't control the camera, I mostly need to review the photos (and before anyone mentions Lightroom, I've tried the beta and it's a load of ****).
__________________
Gear List
The Ran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Working with HDR to capture it all... |)\/8 Nature & Landscapes 23 26th of May 2009 (Tue) 09:22
Wacom Graphire4 pen not working. (or working too well...) lederK Accessories & Storage 0 16th of July 2008 (Wed) 16:22
Capture 1.5 not working jmtron Canon EOS Digital Cameras 1 25th of November 2007 (Sun) 00:40
>Capture One HELP< pugnugget RAW, Post Processing and Printing 1 23rd of April 2005 (Sat) 16:10
10D / Problems w/ Remote Capture & Adobe Capture Raw jimmiedale Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 17th of November 2003 (Mon) 16:48


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.