Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 30 Aug 2010 (Monday) 06:18
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Canon ST-E2

 
canongrip
Member
canongrip's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Netherland
Aug 30, 2010 06:18 |  #1

To use in a nightclub :: Want the ST-E2 mainly to use it as an autofocus assist device, since the amount of light at the places is scarce, I need that "beam" to AF.

Have this question:
Who can tell me more about the "line of sight" limitation founded at ST-E2 (?)

EDIT:
I use an 430EX II flash with Cactus V4 triggers or Shoe Cord.
Since the flash unit is not at shoe mount, it's difficult to focus in low light.
That's why I need/want a ST-E2.


gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
PacAce's Avatar
26,806 posts
Joined Feb 2003
ABE, PA USA
Aug 30, 2010 07:29 |  #2

canongrip wrote in post #10815220external link
To use in a nightclub :: Want the ST-E2 mainly to use it as an autofocus assist device, since the amount of light at the places is scarce, I need that "beam" to AF.

Have this question:
Who can tell me more about the "line of sight" limitation founded at ST-E2 (?)

The line-of-sight limitation applies to the wireless functionality of the ST-E2. It has no relevance if you are going to use the ST-E2 only for focus assist. The ST-E2 does have a focus-assist range, though. It's 10 meters at the center and 5 meters along the periphery, according to the ST-E2 manual.


...Leo

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
canongrip's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Netherland
Aug 30, 2010 08:10 |  #3

PacAce wrote in post #10815403external link
.. It has no relevance if you are going to use the ST-E2 only for focus assist...

Yes it has. I'll be using with 430EX II.
I updated first post. to be more clear.


gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
liupublic
Goldmember
1,107 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Tempe AZ
Aug 30, 2010 10:01 |  #4

I did see a not yet released ST-E2 clone on Yongnuo's web site. Kind of interesting if it's <$100.

http://www.hkyongnuo.c​om/e-detail.php?ID=277external link


Still learning
Nikon D800, 24-85VR, 85mm f/1.8g, Tamron 70-300VC

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
canongrip's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Netherland
Aug 30, 2010 10:52 |  #5

liupublic wrote in post #10816105external link
I did see a not yet released ST-E2 clone on Yongnuo's web site. Kind of interesting if it's <$100.

http://www.hkyongnuo.c​om/e-detail.php?ID=277external link

Interesting indeed.
And it uses AA batteries instead 2CR5


gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
css7493
Senior Member
css7493's Avatar
360 posts
Joined Jul 2010
Aug 30, 2010 11:00 as a reply to canongrip's post |  #6

Im doing the same thing you are right now but for wedding receptions, usually very low light as well.

Ive got my elinchrom skyport triggering through pc jack on the side of my 40d and my 580ex ii not firing using only for AF assist on my camera body shoe, it works just the way I need it to.

I will definitely be trying the st-e2 yongnuo knock off when I can get ahold of one. If that doesn't work Ill cave and buy the official canon version.

If you aren't concerned about size/cost you might consider a 580 instead of st-e2 since the cost is not much higher.

Line of sight: The flashes communicate via IR, depending on ambient lighting and the other types of lights/flashes/party lights filling the room this can be affected. In a small room you can bounce the IR signal, similiar to how you can change the channel on the TV without aiming the remote directly at the TV (typical American analogy) I would recommend using your cactus AND an AF assist device.

Edit: eBay market on ST-E2 is pretty low right now.


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
canongrip's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Netherland
Aug 30, 2010 11:07 |  #7

css7493 wrote in post #10816467external link
If you aren't concerned about size/cost you might consider a 580 instead of st-e2 since the cost is not much higher.

I've considered that, buy a 580EX II. But in the moment, I don't realy need a second flash..

I'm afraid that "line of sight" limitation caused by infrared transition might me a issue.

I need to get one (580) borrowed to test it :)


gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
css7493
Senior Member
css7493's Avatar
360 posts
Joined Jul 2010
Aug 30, 2010 11:11 |  #8

canongrip wrote in post #10816497external link
I've considered that, buy a 580EX II. But in the moment, I don't realy need a second flash..

I'm afraid that "line of sight" limitation caused by infrared transition might me a issue.

I need to get one (580) borrowed to test it :)


What body are you shooting with? If you have a PC port I would use both your RF transmitters and the AF assist device, you more than likely will have issues with the IR, the IR is best suited in very very controlled environments, too many factors at clubs.


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
canongrip's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Netherland
Aug 30, 2010 11:19 |  #9

css7493 wrote in post #10816511external link
What body are you shooting with?

40D.

css7493 wrote in post #10816511external link
If you have a PC port I would use both your RF transmitters and the AF assist device, you more than likely will have issues with the IR, the IR is best suited in very very controlled environments, too many factors at clubs.

It was from hereexternal link that the idea of ST-E2 appeared.
I would love to have ETTL mode.
But ST-E2 and a set of PocketWizzards are too expensive to me.


gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
css7493
Senior Member
css7493's Avatar
360 posts
Joined Jul 2010
Aug 30, 2010 11:37 |  #10

canongrip wrote in post #10816553external link
40D.


It was from hereexternal link that the idea of ST-E2 appeared.
I would love to have ETTL mode.
But ST-E2 and a set of PocketWizzards are too expensive to me.

Ah, forgot about ETTL, usually just shoot manual. Yeah PWs would do it but they are expensive.


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
vmdc
Senior Member
vmdc's Avatar
302 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Gilbert, AZ
Aug 30, 2010 14:19 |  #11

Why not try an ETTL cord? You would still be getting the AF assist beam from your flash while it's on the cord wouldn't you? And you would be able to use ETTL of course.
I just purchased one from eBay. http://cgi.ebay.com ...K:MEWNX:IT#ht_4026w​t_1058external link


~Matt
Facebook Fan Pageexternal link|MDC Imageryexternal link

7D | Tokina 11-16 ƒ/2.8 | Sigma 17-50 ƒ/2.8 EX DC OS | EF 24-70 ƒ/2.8L | EF 70-200 ƒ/2.8L IS | 580EX II | PowerShot S90

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark ­ Vuleta
Goldmember
Mark Vuleta's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
Auckland NZ
Aug 30, 2010 14:28 |  #12

Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.

IMAGE: http://www.pbase.com/mark_vuleta/image/95800926.jpg

(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)



LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
canongrip's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Netherland
Aug 30, 2010 14:32 |  #13

vmdc wrote in post #10817693external link
Why not try an ETTL cord? (...)

I've already tried that.
It's not very practical to view through eye finder has you hold the body with one hand, and the other trying to aim the beam to the pretended focus point/subject.

Mark Vuleta wrote in post #10817741external link
Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.

(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)

I want something like that...


gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
css7493
Senior Member
css7493's Avatar
360 posts
Joined Jul 2010
Aug 30, 2010 14:33 |  #14

Mark Vuleta wrote in post #10817741 (external link)
Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.

QUOTED IMAGE

(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)

More info on how to do that at all?


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
canongrip's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Netherland
Aug 30, 2010 14:55 |  #15

css7493 wrote in post #10817773 (external link)
More info on how to do that at all?

You have this http://michaelbass.blo​gspot.com ...ssories.html#ST-E2ShutOff (external link)

IMAGE: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_CRxbBKkoqIY/Ry8CkwFrSnI/AAAAAAAAAqs/Dcf6Ly81cEk/s200/ST-E2_ShutOff.jpg

gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,116 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon ST-E2
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00254 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Draganpg
807 guests, 534 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015