LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Canon ST-E2

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 30 Aug 2010 (Monday) 06:18   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
canongrip
Senior Member
canongrip's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
236 posts
Netherland
[MORE/SHARE]

To use in a nightclub :: Want the ST-E2 mainly to use it as an autofocus assist device, since the amount of light at the places is scarce, I need that "beam" to AF.

Have this question:
Who can tell me more about the "line of sight" limitation founded at ST-E2 (?)

EDIT:
I use an 430EX II flash with Cactus V4 triggers or Shoe Cord.
Since the flash unit is not at shoe mount, it's difficult to focus in low light.
That's why I need/want a ST-E2.

Post #1, Aug 30, 2010 06:18:48


.. known as David Raco
(external link)(siteexternal link)
gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
PacAce's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
26,804 posts
ABE, PA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

canongrip wrote in post #10815220external link
To use in a nightclub :: Want the ST-E2 mainly to use it as an autofocus assist device, since the amount of light at the places is scarce, I need that "beam" to AF.

Have this question:
Who can tell me more about the "line of sight" limitation founded at ST-E2 (?)

The line-of-sight limitation applies to the wireless functionality of the ST-E2. It has no relevance if you are going to use the ST-E2 only for focus assist. The ST-E2 does have a focus-assist range, though. It's 10 meters at the center and 5 meters along the periphery, according to the ST-E2 manual.

Post #2, Aug 30, 2010 07:29:57


...Leo

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
canongrip's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
236 posts
Netherland
[MORE/SHARE]

PacAce wrote in post #10815403external link
.. It has no relevance if you are going to use the ST-E2 only for focus assist...

Yes it has. I'll be using with 430EX II.
I updated first post. to be more clear.

Post #3, Aug 30, 2010 08:10:06


.. known as David Raco
(external link)(siteexternal link)
gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
liupublic
Goldmember
Joined Mar 2009
1,093 posts
Tempe AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

I did see a not yet released ST-E2 clone on Yongnuo's web site. Kind of interesting if it's <$100.

http://www.hkyongnuo.c​om/e-detail.php?ID=277external link

Post #4, Aug 30, 2010 10:01:50


Still learning.
Sony A6000, Sony 50mm f/1.8, Sigma 19mm f/2.8 and Manfrotto 190cxpro4+Benro B1

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
canongrip's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
236 posts
Netherland
[MORE/SHARE]

liupublic wrote in post #10816105external link
I did see a not yet released ST-E2 clone on Yongnuo's web site. Kind of interesting if it's <$100.

http://www.hkyongnuo.c​om/e-detail.php?ID=277external link

Interesting indeed.
And it uses AA batteries instead 2CR5

Post #5, Aug 30, 2010 10:52:47


.. known as David Raco
(external link)(siteexternal link)
gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
css7493
Senior Member
css7493's Avatar
Joined Jul 2010
360 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Im doing the same thing you are right now but for wedding receptions, usually very low light as well.

Ive got my elinchrom skyport triggering through pc jack on the side of my 40d and my 580ex ii not firing using only for AF assist on my camera body shoe, it works just the way I need it to.

I will definitely be trying the st-e2 yongnuo knock off when I can get ahold of one. If that doesn't work Ill cave and buy the official canon version.

If you aren't concerned about size/cost you might consider a 580 instead of st-e2 since the cost is not much higher.

Line of sight: The flashes communicate via IR, depending on ambient lighting and the other types of lights/flashes/party lights filling the room this can be affected. In a small room you can bounce the IR signal, similiar to how you can change the channel on the TV without aiming the remote directly at the TV (typical American analogy) I would recommend using your cactus AND an AF assist device.

Edit: eBay market on ST-E2 is pretty low right now.

Post #6, Aug 30, 2010 11:00:08 as a reply to canongrip's post 7 minutes earlier.


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
canongrip's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
236 posts
Netherland
[MORE/SHARE]

css7493 wrote in post #10816467external link
If you aren't concerned about size/cost you might consider a 580 instead of st-e2 since the cost is not much higher.

I've considered that, buy a 580EX II. But in the moment, I don't realy need a second flash..

I'm afraid that "line of sight" limitation caused by infrared transition might me a issue.

I need to get one (580) borrowed to test it :)

Post #7, Aug 30, 2010 11:07:23


.. known as David Raco
(external link)(siteexternal link)
gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
css7493
Senior Member
css7493's Avatar
Joined Jul 2010
360 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

canongrip wrote in post #10816497external link
I've considered that, buy a 580EX II. But in the moment, I don't realy need a second flash..

I'm afraid that "line of sight" limitation caused by infrared transition might me a issue.

I need to get one (580) borrowed to test it :)


What body are you shooting with? If you have a PC port I would use both your RF transmitters and the AF assist device, you more than likely will have issues with the IR, the IR is best suited in very very controlled environments, too many factors at clubs.

Post #8, Aug 30, 2010 11:11:40


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
canongrip's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
236 posts
Netherland
[MORE/SHARE]

css7493 wrote in post #10816511external link
What body are you shooting with?

40D.

css7493 wrote in post #10816511external link
If you have a PC port I would use both your RF transmitters and the AF assist device, you more than likely will have issues with the IR, the IR is best suited in very very controlled environments, too many factors at clubs.

It was from hereexternal link that the idea of ST-E2 appeared.
I would love to have ETTL mode.
But ST-E2 and a set of PocketWizzards are too expensive to me.

Post #9, Aug 30, 2010 11:19:55


.. known as David Raco
(external link)(siteexternal link)
gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
css7493
Senior Member
css7493's Avatar
Joined Jul 2010
360 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

canongrip wrote in post #10816553external link
40D.


It was from hereexternal link that the idea of ST-E2 appeared.
I would love to have ETTL mode.
But ST-E2 and a set of PocketWizzards are too expensive to me.

Ah, forgot about ETTL, usually just shoot manual. Yeah PWs would do it but they are expensive.

Post #10, Aug 30, 2010 11:37:53


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
vmdc
Senior Member
vmdc's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
302 posts
Gilbert, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

Why not try an ETTL cord? You would still be getting the AF assist beam from your flash while it's on the cord wouldn't you? And you would be able to use ETTL of course.
I just purchased one from eBay. http://cgi.ebay.com ...K:MEWNX:IT#ht_4026w​t_1058external link

Post #11, Aug 30, 2010 14:19:33


~Matt
Facebook Fan Pageexternal link|MDC Imageryexternal link

7D | Tokina 11-16 ƒ/2.8 | Sigma 17-50 ƒ/2.8 EX DC OS | EF 24-70 ƒ/2.8L | EF 70-200 ƒ/2.8L IS | 580EX II | PowerShot S90

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Mark ­ Vuleta
Goldmember
Mark Vuleta's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
4,014 posts
Auckland NZ
[MORE/SHARE]

Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.

IMAGE: http://www.pbase.com/mark_vuleta/image/95800926.jpg

(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)

Post #12, Aug 30, 2010 14:28:33




LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
canongrip's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
236 posts
Netherland
[MORE/SHARE]

vmdc wrote in post #10817693external link
Why not try an ETTL cord? (...)

I've already tried that.
It's not very practical to view through eye finder has you hold the body with one hand, and the other trying to aim the beam to the pretended focus point/subject.

Mark Vuleta wrote in post #10817741external link
Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.

(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)

I want something like that...

Post #13, Aug 30, 2010 14:32:19


.. known as David Raco
(external link)(siteexternal link)
gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY
css7493
Senior Member
css7493's Avatar
Joined Jul 2010
360 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Mark Vuleta wrote in post #10817741external link
Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.

QUOTED IMAGE

(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)

More info on how to do that at all?

Post #14, Aug 30, 2010 14:33:41


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
canongrip
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
canongrip's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
236 posts
Netherland
[MORE/SHARE]

css7493 wrote in post #10817773external link
More info on how to do that at all?

You have this http://michaelbass.blo​gspot.com ...ssories.html#ST-E2ShutOffexternal link

IMAGE: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_CRxbBKkoqIY/Ry8CkwFrSnI/AAAAAAAAAqs/Dcf6Ly81cEk/s200/ST-E2_ShutOff.jpg

Post #15, Aug 30, 2010 14:55:19


.. known as David Raco
(external link)(siteexternal link)
gear list & historic

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
3,194 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon ST-E2
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00093 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
947 guests, 813 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is livenow

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.