Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #1
canongrip
Member
 
canongrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Netherland
Posts: 236
Default Canon ST-E2

To use in a nightclub :: Want the ST-E2 mainly to use it as an autofocus assist device, since the amount of light at the places is scarce, I need that "beam" to AF.

Have this question:
Who can tell me more about the "line of sight" limitation founded at ST-E2 (?)

EDIT:
I use an 430EX II flash with Cactus V4 triggers or Shoe Cord.
Since the flash unit is not at shoe mount, it's difficult to focus in low light.
That's why I need/want a ST-E2.
__________________
.. known as David Raco
()( site)
gear list & historic

Last edited by canongrip : 30th of August 2010 (Mon) at 08:14.
canongrip is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #2
PacAce
Moderator
 
PacAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
Posts: 26,807
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by canongrip View Post
To use in a nightclub :: Want the ST-E2 mainly to use it as an autofocus assist device, since the amount of light at the places is scarce, I need that "beam" to AF.

Have this question:
Who can tell me more about the "line of sight" limitation founded at ST-E2 (?)
The line-of-sight limitation applies to the wireless functionality of the ST-E2. It has no relevance if you are going to use the ST-E2 only for focus assist. The ST-E2 does have a focus-assist range, though. It's 10 meters at the center and 5 meters along the periphery, according to the ST-E2 manual.
__________________
...Leo
PacAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #3
canongrip
Member
 
canongrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Netherland
Posts: 236
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by PacAce View Post
.. It has no relevance if you are going to use the ST-E2 only for focus assist...
Yes it has. I'll be using with 430EX II.
I updated first post. to be more clear.
__________________
.. known as David Raco
()( site)
gear list & historic

Last edited by canongrip : 30th of August 2010 (Mon) at 08:14.
canongrip is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #4
liupublic
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tempe AZ
Posts: 1,088
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

I did see a not yet released ST-E2 clone on Yongnuo's web site. Kind of interesting if it's <$100.

http://www.hkyongnuo.com/e-detail.php?ID=277
__________________
Still learning.

Nikon D7100, Sigma 17-50 OS, 70-300VR, 35mm f/1.8, 100mm micro VR, Tokina 11-16, SB-900 Flash and Manfrotto 190cxpro4+Benro B1
liupublic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #5
canongrip
Member
 
canongrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Netherland
Posts: 236
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by liupublic View Post
I did see a not yet released ST-E2 clone on Yongnuo's web site. Kind of interesting if it's <$100.

http://www.hkyongnuo.com/e-detail.php?ID=277
Interesting indeed.
And it uses AA batteries instead 2CR5
__________________
.. known as David Raco
()( site)
gear list & historic
canongrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #6
css7493
Member
 
css7493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 360
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Im doing the same thing you are right now but for wedding receptions, usually very low light as well.

Ive got my elinchrom skyport triggering through pc jack on the side of my 40d and my 580ex ii not firing using only for AF assist on my camera body shoe, it works just the way I need it to.

I will definitely be trying the st-e2 yongnuo knock off when I can get ahold of one. If that doesn't work Ill cave and buy the official canon version.

If you aren't concerned about size/cost you might consider a 580 instead of st-e2 since the cost is not much higher.

Line of sight: The flashes communicate via IR, depending on ambient lighting and the other types of lights/flashes/party lights filling the room this can be affected. In a small room you can bounce the IR signal, similiar to how you can change the channel on the TV without aiming the remote directly at the TV (typical American analogy) I would recommend using your cactus AND an AF assist device.

Edit: eBay market on ST-E2 is pretty low right now.
__________________
Gear

Last edited by css7493 : 30th of August 2010 (Mon) at 11:04.
css7493 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #7
canongrip
Member
 
canongrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Netherland
Posts: 236
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by css7493 View Post
If you aren't concerned about size/cost you might consider a 580 instead of st-e2 since the cost is not much higher.
I've considered that, buy a 580EX II. But in the moment, I don't realy need a second flash..

I'm afraid that "line of sight" limitation caused by infrared transition might me a issue.

I need to get one (580) borrowed to test it
__________________
.. known as David Raco
()( site)
gear list & historic
canongrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #8
css7493
Member
 
css7493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 360
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by canongrip View Post
I've considered that, buy a 580EX II. But in the moment, I don't realy need a second flash..

I'm afraid that "line of sight" limitation caused by infrared transition might me a issue.

I need to get one (580) borrowed to test it

What body are you shooting with? If you have a PC port I would use both your RF transmitters and the AF assist device, you more than likely will have issues with the IR, the IR is best suited in very very controlled environments, too many factors at clubs.
__________________
Gear
css7493 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #9
canongrip
Member
 
canongrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Netherland
Posts: 236
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by css7493 View Post
What body are you shooting with?
40D.

Quote:
Originally Posted by css7493 View Post
If you have a PC port I would use both your RF transmitters and the AF assist device, you more than likely will have issues with the IR, the IR is best suited in very very controlled environments, too many factors at clubs.
It was from here that the idea of ST-E2 appeared.
I would love to have ETTL mode.
But ST-E2 and a set of PocketWizzards are too expensive to me.
__________________
.. known as David Raco
()( site)
gear list & historic
canongrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #10
css7493
Member
 
css7493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 360
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by canongrip View Post
40D.


It was from here that the idea of ST-E2 appeared.
I would love to have ETTL mode.
But ST-E2 and a set of PocketWizzards are too expensive to me.
Ah, forgot about ETTL, usually just shoot manual. Yeah PWs would do it but they are expensive.
__________________
Gear
css7493 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #11
vmdc
Member
 
vmdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 302
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Why not try an ETTL cord? You would still be getting the AF assist beam from your flash while it's on the cord wouldn't you? And you would be able to use ETTL of course.
I just purchased one from eBay. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ht_4026wt_1058
__________________
~Matt
Facebook Fan Page|MDC Imagery

7D | Tokina 11-16 /2.8 | Sigma 17-50 /2.8 EX DC OS | EF 24-70 /2.8L | EF 70-200 /2.8L IS | 580EX II | PowerShot S90
vmdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #12
Mark Vuleta
Goldmember
 
Mark Vuleta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 4,001
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.



(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)
Mark Vuleta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #13
canongrip
Member
 
canongrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Netherland
Posts: 236
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by vmdc View Post
Why not try an ETTL cord? (...)
I've already tried that.
It's not very practical to view through eye finder has you hold the body with one hand, and the other trying to aim the beam to the pretended focus point/subject.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Vuleta View Post
Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.



(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)
I want something like that...
__________________
.. known as David Raco
()( site)
gear list & historic

Last edited by canongrip : 30th of August 2010 (Mon) at 14:37.
canongrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #14
css7493
Member
 
css7493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 360
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Vuleta View Post
Not sure what size the V4's are, if they are somewhere near the size of Skyports, you can modify the ST-E2 with an active hot shoe and mount the trigger on top of it.



(I think FlashZebra does something like this??)
More info on how to do that at all?
__________________
Gear
css7493 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of August 2010 (Mon)   #15
canongrip
Member
 
canongrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Netherland
Posts: 236
Default Re: Canon ST-E2

Quote:
Originally Posted by css7493 View Post
More info on how to do that at all?
You have this http://michaelbass.blogspot.com/2007...l#ST-E2ShutOff
__________________
.. known as David Raco
()( site)
gear list & historic
canongrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.