LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Main Dial Slipping

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 17 Sep 2010 (Friday) 11:00   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
secoast
Junior Member
Joined Jan 2008
29 posts
UK
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi All.

I have a 30D that has barely been used (about 1000 shots). Yesterday, the Main Dial suddenly began to slip when rotated. The normal clicks were not present and it failed to affect the settings.
I got it clicking and responding in the clockwise direction, but not counter-clockwise. I eventually managed to get it working counter-clockwise, but only by using the side of my finger putting some pressure on the side of the dial as it turned.

I don't know if this slipping is normal (under certain circumstances), or whever the dial, which is made of rubber, is no longer firmly glued/attached to its spindle.

This is a minor mechanical fault (I think) but I suspect it's going to cost a fair bit to get repaired by Canon. Has anyone experienced this before?

Cheers

Mark

Post #1, Sep 17, 2010 11:00:29




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
number ­ six
"After 40 years still not housebroken, I still piddle on the carpet"
number six's Avatar
Joined May 2007
8,776 posts
SF Bay Area
[MORE/SHARE]

Nope, definitely not normal. And not very common, either - I haven't heard of that complaint, and POTNers will complain about everything! ;)

Call Canon repair service and mention the very low usage - others have reported that they'll sometimes do free repairs on out-of-warranty cameras.

-js

Post #2, Sep 17, 2010 13:31:00


"Be seeing you."
50D - 17-55 f/2.8 IS - 18-55 IS - 28-105 II USM - 60 f/2.8 macro - 70-200 f/4 L - Sigma flash
I do not piddle on the carpet!

LOG IN TO REPLY
crn3371
Cream of the Crop
crn3371's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
7,198 posts
SoCal, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

You could also try the rubbing alcohol trick to see if that helps. I did it on my 30D for a sticky shutter button and it worked like a charm. Since the main dial is right next to the shutter button it might also help, definitely couldn't hurt.

Post #3, Sep 17, 2010 13:48:35




LOG IN TO REPLY
number ­ six
"After 40 years still not housebroken, I still piddle on the carpet"
number six's Avatar
Joined May 2007
8,776 posts
SF Bay Area
[MORE/SHARE]

I thought the main dial is the one on the left - M, Av, Tv, etc....

Post #4, Sep 17, 2010 13:57:52


"Be seeing you."
50D - 17-55 f/2.8 IS - 18-55 IS - 28-105 II USM - 60 f/2.8 macro - 70-200 f/4 L - Sigma flash
I do not piddle on the carpet!

LOG IN TO REPLY
secoast
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
Joined Jan 2008
29 posts
UK
[MORE/SHARE]

number six wrote in post #10927729external link
Call Canon repair service and mention the very low usage - others have reported that they'll sometimes do free repairs on out-of-warranty cameras.-js

Will do that, hopefully it will just come down to postage costs, or little more than that.

crn3371 wrote in post #10927811external link
You could also try the rubbing alcohol trick to see if that helps. I did it on my 30D for a sticky shutter button and it worked like a charm. Since the main dial is right next to the shutter button it might also help, definitely couldn't hurt.

Hmmm...If it was a well used body perhaps, but if I can get it sorted at a reasonable cost I would rather do that than risk the potential consequences of pouring chemicals into the workings.

number six wrote in post #10927859external link
I thought the main dial is the one on the left - M, Av, Tv, etc....

No, that's the Mode dial.

Thanks for the replies. It's appreciated.

Mark

Post #5, Sep 18, 2010 04:41:10




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Drive4show
Senior Member
Joined Oct 2007
207 posts
Minesing , Ontario
[MORE/SHARE]

LOL - I have the EXACT same problem !! Did Canon repair it free or did it cost a bundle ???
Just wondering if it's worth it or time to upgrade to a 7D.

Post #6, Jun 27, 2011 09:15:54


Hounder
30D , 50D, 7D, Tamron XR DII 18-200mm f3.5-6.3, Sigma 10-20mm f3.5,Rokinon 14mm f2.8, Canon 24-70mm f2.8, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8, Canon 50mm f1.8, Canon 85mm f1.8, Canon Macro 100mm f2.8, CanonL 400mm f5.6, Macro Ring Lite MR-14EX, Speedlite 580 EXII, 580EX, 430 EX II:lol:

LOG IN TO REPLY
Shawnc
Senior Member
Shawnc's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
210 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

This is an older thread but I found it doing a search for others having the same problem.
I have a 30D and the Main dial is slipping also. I have read that this requires approx $180+ repair bill. Hard to swallow when the camera is worth only about $300. Anyone have any Ideas how to re[pair this issue?

Post #7, Jul 22, 2011 12:51:05


http://shawncarden.smu​gmug.com/external link
5D II / 5D / 50D / 24-70L / 70-200 2.8L IS / EF 2x II / 85 f1.8 / 50 f1.4 / 10-22 / 580EX / EXII, Misc lenses & lighting & triggers

LOG IN TO REPLY
wbjb
Hatchling
Joined Dec 2011
1 post
London
[MORE/SHARE]

Just for the record, this fault has also occured with my 4 year old EOS 30D. It is little used, as most of the time I use a smaller camera - currently a G11.

I am very disappointed to have a fault that makes the camera virtually unusable after so little use, although I will obviously try to get it fixed.
So much for Canon quality.
This is the second fault in a Canon in 4 years - I had a S70 on which the zoom button failed. When you bought a good old film SLR, they lasted for ever!

Brendan Blake / London.

Post #8, Dec 14, 2011 03:13:49 as a reply to Shawnc's post 4 months earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
Cream of the Crop
LowriderS10's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
10,168 posts
South Korea / Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

Wow...never heard of this issue before now (and I had a pair of 30Ds for a while)...

I hope Canon treats you guys well, sounds like a manufacturing defect...

Post #9, Dec 14, 2011 05:04:20


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=-external link
-=Facebook=-external link
-=Flickr=-external link

-=Gear=-

LOG IN TO REPLY
yogestee
"hangs around male genitalia"
yogestee's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
13,605 posts
Aussie living in Laos
[MORE/SHARE]

I had the same issue with my 50D recently. You'll probably find it's a dust problem. I spent about five minutes with a strong rocket blower blowing a heap of air down the gaps in the main dial. Mine is good now.

Post #10, Dec 14, 2011 08:29:44 as a reply to LowriderS10's post 3 hours earlier.


Jurgen
50D~20D~700D~EOS M~S95

http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreueexternal link
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

LOG IN TO REPLY
mury
Member
mury's Avatar
Joined Sep 2010
95 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Same problem with 50D (about 8000 shots) ...

Post #11, Jul 15, 2012 11:44:04 as a reply to yogestee's post 7 months earlier.


Canon EOS 7D, Powershot A710 IS
EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5, EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5, EF 70-210mm f/3.5-4.5
EF 28mm f/1.8, EF 85mm f/1.8, EF 40mm f/2.8, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro
Mir-1B 37/2.8, Helios 44-2 - 58/2, Jupiter 11A - 135/4

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Lonehunter
Mostly Lurking
Joined Apr 2012
18 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Same problem in my 50D, but following some instructions in internet, I could apply a couple of small points of superglue between rubber wheel and real main dial and problem was solved.
Be careful with amount of glue, is just a little (point of a needle) and apply each one at 180° of the other.
I hope it can help you.

Post #12, Mar 02, 2014 16:49:33




LOG IN TO REPLY
Frodge
Goldmember
Frodge's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
2,083 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

The rebels don't have that goofy rubber grip over the dial. It's just plastic, and my better design. I'm wondering if they changed the design on the 60d and 70d....

Post #13, Mar 02, 2014 17:59:56


_______________
“It's kind of fun to do the impossible.” - Walt Disney.
Equipment: Tokina 12-24mm, Canon 40mm 2.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8 XR Di, Canon 18-55mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Tamron 70-300VC / T3I and 60D

LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Preeb's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
2,422 posts
Logan County, CO
[MORE/SHARE]

secoast wrote in post #10926870external link
Hi All.

I have a 30D that has barely been used (about 1000 shots). Yesterday, the Main Dial suddenly began to slip when rotated. The normal clicks were not present and it failed to affect the settings.
I got it clicking and responding in the clockwise direction, but not counter-clockwise. I eventually managed to get it working counter-clockwise, but only by using the side of my finger putting some pressure on the side of the dial as it turned.

I don't know if this slipping is normal (under certain circumstances), or whever the dial, which is made of rubber, is no longer firmly glued/attached to its spindle.

This is a minor mechanical fault (I think) but I suspect it's going to cost a fair bit to get repaired by Canon. Has anyone experienced this before?

Cheers

Mark

I lost the top dial on my 60D. The dial wasn't working any more when the police returned the camera after it was stolen. It still clicked, but nothing happened when I turned it. I had to send it in to Canon for repair. It was fixed under warranty, so I can't even make a guess as to what the cost might normally be.

Post #14, Mar 02, 2014 18:39:47


Rick
60D - EF-S 10-22 f3.5-f4.5 -- EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS -- EF-S 60mm f2.8 Macro -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

LOG IN TO REPLY
HungV
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2010
164 posts
Oregon
[MORE/SHARE]

The same issue with my 50D on Saturday, I've found this siteexternal link, bought a crazy glue this morning and it is working again. :) :) :)

Post #15, Mar 24, 2014 15:23:18


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
4,830 views & 0 likes for this thread
Main Dial Slipping
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00309 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
775 guests, 591 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is N4Ld3

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.