Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1
elogical
Senior Member
 
elogical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,217
Unhappy Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Just wondering if anyone had any thoughts to help before I send the lens to Tamron and see how expensive of a repair bill they come up with. The lens was bought used so there's no warranty to make use of. The lens was in absolutely spotless condition when I got it and I took at least 500 pictures of so with it before this, so I don't think it was anything pre-existing with the lens.

I'm getting an Err 01 - Faulty communication with the lens message with my Tamron 17-50 non-VC. The Camera says to clean the contacts, which I've done using a couple different methods and it doesn't change anything.

The strange thing is, there doesn't seem to be any communication problem. I can plug the lens in and the camera reads that it's connected. Camera will auto-focus the lens as normal and will also let me adjust the aperture (tested using DOF preview button). I've looked through the lens while disconnected and it doesn't appear to be any stuck aperture blades. The problem is just when I actually take a shot, it returns the error message. This wasn't an intermittent thing, it worked one day and then started all of a sudden. The lens was immediately put into a case after the last successful use a few days ago, so there's pretty much no chance that it was damaged. Since this started, it's done this 100% of the times so I don't have much hope for figuring it out.

I don't have another body to test it with, but I've tried other lenses on my body (rebel XSI) and they work fine.

I know there's usually not much anyone can tell without looking at the lens, but I'm posting anyway in hopes that there's something else I can check or test. Also, I'd be interested to hear what to expect for repair costs on something like this.

Thanks!
elogical is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 27th of September 2010 (Mon)   #2
elogical
Senior Member
 
elogical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Just heard back from Tamron support and they think it's likely the aperture blades. I'm not totally convinced of this, but either way I guess I'll just be sending it back in to see.
elogical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2010 (Sun)   #3
thomas_686
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Have you had any luck or new information with this?

I had the Canon XS body and Tamron 18-270mm. It too started having the err 01 as well err 99. It started out intermittent but then all the time within three weeks. Then one evening the lcd screen displayed err 99 and I was unable to take any pictures. My camera body was damaged due to this problem with the lens as canon replaced it via warranty.

I just bought the canon t1i and tried my tamron lens. I got an err 01 after a few shots on manual and auto. Thats how I know its the lens and not the body now! the camera is fine with the stock canon lens.

My lens is under warranty and I have sent Tamron a e mail explaining the issue...just awaiting a reply.

In the mean time I am not using the lens as i do not want to ruin the camera body of my new camera.

Thanks

Colin
thomas_686 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of October 2010 (Mon)   #4
elogical
Senior Member
 
elogical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

No luck here yet, I mailed it in a few days ago now so I'm just waiting to hear back from Tamron.
There's a lot of info here on the various error codes and what can cause them, but my understanding is that if you're getting only err 01 and the body works with other lenses, it's certain to be just a problem with the lens. If you have a combination of the errors it could be either something with the body or something with the lens.

I hear good things about Tamron for the most part so hopefully the lenses aren't prone to recurring problems once repaired.
elogical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of October 2010 (Tue)   #5
sandbourne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

I have exactly the same problem with my Tamron SP 17-50 2.8 EX. Any further feedback would be appreciated. Intro 2020 suggest I send it to them for a service. This is not good for the reputation of Tamron lenses.
sandbourne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of October 2010 (Tue)   #6
elogical
Senior Member
 
elogical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Just heard back from Tamron today and it's $155 repair and return shipping to "adjust, repair or replace the aperture assembly". Could be much worse.
I'm not sure if this is a design issue with the lens or not so I'm certainly not blaming them at this point. I'll have to be careful with used lenses though and make sure the savings are worth not having warranty... especially with Tamron since the have a pretty long warranty period.
elogical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of October 2010 (Wed)   #7
sandbourne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Thanks for the feedback. I will have to send mine for a service. Btw, I bought mine new but it's 4 years old. However with low usage.
sandbourne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of October 2010 (Wed)   #8
elogical
Senior Member
 
elogical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Good luck, hopefully they don't come back with too bad of news for you!

I wish there was a better way to get real data on how many of the lenses have issues. I feel like it's a lot of them from what I read here, but then again the people with issues (like us) are the ones talking about it and it makes it seem more prevalent than it is....
elogical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of October 2010 (Fri)   #9
2Wolves
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Hi, I am a newbee here but appear to have a similar problem with my Tamron 70-300 5.6 on mt canon 450d. I get a message that the lens and camera have lost communication and to clean the lens contacts which I have done on several occassions. This only started about 3 weeks ago. I got the lens as part of the kit when I purchased the camera a couple of years ago. My other lens, both canon work fine. Guess I send mine for a service too. Put me off tamron lens a little.
2Wolves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of January 2011 (Tue)   #10
thisizbrian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

I am having a similar issue with my tamron 18-200. err 01. i guess i will be contacting tamron tomorrow.
thisizbrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of January 2011 (Wed)   #11
elogical
Senior Member
 
elogical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisizbrian View Post
I am having a similar issue with my tamron 18-200. err 01. i guess i will be contacting tamron tomorrow.
Have you tried cleaning the data contacts on the lens and camera? Sometimes that's all it takes. Otherwise, hope for the best sending it in I guess.
__________________
Gear
elogical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of January 2011 (Wed)   #12
hairy_moth
Goldmember
 
hairy_moth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,731
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

I had the issue with my 17-55. When I tried cleaning the contacts (which I was sure would not work because they were nice an shiny) one of the contacts popped up and the problem was solved. It turns out that the little spring loaded contact was depressed and caught in its housing so it was not able to extend and make good contact with the camera body. when it returned to its normal position, all was good.
__________________
7D | 300D | G1X | Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 | EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro | EF 85mm f/1.8 | 70-200 f/2.8L MkII -- flickr
hairy_moth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #13
miguello
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Just got my Tamron 70-200 and made less than 50 shots when got into that problem. I'm sending it backl to Amazon and they are sending me back another one. Hope this is not a frequent problem, otherwise I'd do extended warranty and shake Tamron's brains out until they give me a working lens

So, I don't think it's something that happened with the camera - mine was brand new and treated carefully. It's how it's made - I've read about slight incompatibility in new camera's protocols.
miguello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #14
elogical
Senior Member
 
elogical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

thing is that if it's a compability issue, it should be happening all the time or not at all. The error 01 seems to come from either dirty contacts, poor connection at contacts, or apparently an error with the aperture assembly. It is all kinda frustrating though
__________________
Gear
elogical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #15
Bobster
Goldmember
 
Bobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
Posts: 4,806
Exclamation Re: Error 01 with Tamron Lens

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandbourne View Post
Thanks for the feedback. I will have to send mine for a service. Btw, I bought mine new but it's 4 years old. However with low usage.
good luck with Intro2020 i had the worst time when i sent my 17-50 in for repair with them..
__________________
Robert Whetton Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru

DIY Monitor Hood | Gear | Tweet | Google+ | Get your focus spot on
Bobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamron Lens causing Error 99 at F3.2..Help!! adigitalcure Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 7 10th of April 2011 (Sun) 13:53
tamron 70-300 error o1 wjm Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 5 5th of April 2011 (Tue) 19:18
error msg tamron and T2i tidejag01 Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 9 5th of April 2011 (Tue) 18:28
tamron 17-50 vc error platformnubz Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 2 11th of April 2010 (Sun) 00:04
Error 99 on my Tamron 17-50 MaxL Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 2 14th of February 2009 (Sat) 00:42


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.