LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


STICKY: 7D compatibility with Sigma 70-200 APO DG Macro HSM EX! Re-Chip might be needed.

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 28 Sep 2010 (Tuesday) 07:48   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
dr_devious
Senior Member
dr_devious's Avatar
Joined May 2009
134 posts
Truckee Meadows, NV
[MORE/SHARE]

Is this still an issue? Does it affect the MkII as well? I have a 7D and I am trying to figure out which 70-200 have issues with the 7D...

Post #76, May 03, 2011 16:56:19




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Charliephoto
Member
Joined Jul 2008
87 posts
Ont.,Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

dr_devious wrote in post #12341581external link
Is this still an issue? Does it affect the MkII as well? I have a 7D and I am trying to figure out which 70-200 have issues with the 7D...

If you are referring to the HSM II, i have one & no issues with my 7D.

Post #77, May 06, 2011 07:22:44


LOG IN TO REPLY
dr_devious
Senior Member
dr_devious's Avatar
Joined May 2009
134 posts
Truckee Meadows, NV
[MORE/SHARE]

Charliephoto wrote in post #12358049external link
If you are referring to the HSM II, i have one & no issues with my 7D.

Are there any significant functionality differences between the HSM II and the OS version beside the Optical Stabilizer? It sounds like the OS version is pretty amazing in terms of AF and IQ...can the same be expected of the non-OS?

Does the heat AF issue still affect the HSM II?

Post #78, May 07, 2011 12:06:01




LOG IN TO REPLY
Charliephoto
Member
Joined Jul 2008
87 posts
Ont.,Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

dr_devious wrote in post #12365071external link
Are there any significant functionality differences between the HSM II and the OS version beside the Optical Stabilizer? It sounds like the OS version is pretty amazing in terms of AF and IQ...can the same be expected of the non-OS?

Does the heat AF issue still affect the HSM II?

On the comparasion question can`t comment as i never used the OS version. I can say my present copy of the HSM II is a pleasure to have & i have no regrets or wants :D, except the want & need of the skill set to match the gear LOL

Post #79, May 07, 2011 18:23:59


LOG IN TO REPLY
Brian_R
Goldmember
Joined Aug 2010
2,618 posts
Atlanta, Ga.
[MORE/SHARE]

i just got linked to this thread and had the same problem with my 7D :( im glad it was a borrowed lens

was using this with single center AF point with AF servo and it would just completely miss focus while shooting soccer and my AF point was dead on the players. had 18 decent shots out of 500

Post #80, Aug 28, 2011 22:35:57


Gear List Flickrexternal link Facebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
RobDickinson
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2010
3,809 posts
New Zealand
[MORE/SHARE]

I've not posted in here for a bit!

Sold my sigma 70-200 bought a canon version. Focus is much better!

Post #81, Aug 28, 2011 22:48:00


www.rjd.co.nzexternal link www.zarphag.comexternal link
5d2,6D,14mmf2.8,16-35 f4 L IS,17-40L,24mm tse,70-200/2.8L,50/1.4,90/2.8​,400/5.6L,gigapan epic pro, lee filters, feisol tripod, markins q3t

LOG IN TO REPLY
InsaneO
Member
Joined Aug 2008
79 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have been using Sigma lenses for the last 10 years if not longer and never had any problems with re-chipping. Most of them before 2 years ago were only so-so so I bought bunch of Canon Ls and sold most Sigmas. The only 2 I kept were 150mm macro and 12-24mm. In 2010 right before PMA there were some announcements from Sigma that all new lenses would have new design. So I decided to try again because I really wanted black lenses. The first one I tried was 50-500mm OS. WOW, WOW WOW. Incredibly sharp wide open. I don't even bother to stop down.
So I bought 120-300mm OS (I had the first version before non-DG) 85mm F1.4, 70-200mm OS, new 12-24mm II, new 150mm OS. Even bought 18-200mm OS II for walkaround.
The only problem I had was with 150mm OS, OS was malfunctioning so lens was replaced by Sigma.
These are all new design and all mostly 1/2 the price of Canon. All just as good as Canon and in some cases even better.
So, for as much as I saved I can afford to send the lens back to Sigma if needs to be re-chipped. NO BIG DEAL. Considering that at the same time they will check it out and clean it I think it is a bargain.

Post #82, Dec 21, 2011 19:07:17




LOG IN TO REPLY
kenwood33
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2005
2,316 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

how can one tell if a sigma needs to be rechipped? is there a date code or serial # that can be used? i had a few sigmas (12-24, 70-200, 85) and they all worked fine on my 7d.. i m asking for future references as i plan to buy the 70-200

Post #83, Jan 01, 2012 21:58:12


Gearlist

LOG IN TO REPLY
MOkoFOko
Dirty Old Man carrying a full pee and poo can
MOkoFOko's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
19,509 posts
Michigan, home of the Zombie plague
[MORE/SHARE]

So, it would seem that only the first version of the macro 70-200 is affected by this. One fellow in the UK ended up paying $50+ for rechipping, while another fellow in the states apparently paid nothing (possibly under warranty)?

Okay, I'm going to ask the question that should have been asked--how much has everyone been paying for the rechipping procedure (outside of warranty) for sigma lenses in general? I assume they charge the same rate, whether it's a 150 macro or a 70-200.

Post #84, Mar 27, 2012 02:12:26


My Gearlist
I'm moko ಠ_ರೃ
I enjoy long walks on the beach.
I also enjoy long walks off a short pier.

LOG IN TO REPLY
RustyHammer
Senior Member
RustyHammer's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
685 posts
New Orleans / New York
[MORE/SHARE]

I have / have had several Canon EOS bodies (including my current 7D and 5D Mark II) and have had no trouble with my •Σ 70-200mm 1:2.8 APO EX DG OS HSM lens (latest design). It is as sharp as a tack and super fast. In fact, I returned my Canon 70-200 2.8/L IS MK II and saved over $1K. Have not looked back since!

Post #85, Apr 28, 2012 21:49:32


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
mangkukhayun
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mangkukhayun's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
160 posts
Kuantan, Malaysia
[MORE/SHARE]

just sold my sigma as I could not get it chipped in this region of the world :( replaced that with 17-55 IS :)

Post #86, May 18, 2012 11:23:36


Sheriff Photo
7D - 350D gripped - 17-55IS - 10-22 - 100L - Nifty-Fifty - 580EX
Sold: Canon 24-105L, Tammy 17-50 non-VC, Sigma 70-200 non-OS
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
stevenup
Hatchling
Joined Jun 2012
1 post
[MORE/SHARE]

I upgraded to 7D from 30D and my 17-85 usm which worked fine with the 30D will often refuse to communicate with the 7D. Some times it works fine, other times it shows 'Err 01 Communication between camera and lens is faulty'.
The lens is 5 years old. Do I bin it?

Post #87, Jul 01, 2012 06:15:04 as a reply to post 10996374




LOG IN TO REPLY
Croasdail
Cream of the Crop
Joined Apr 2005
6,590 posts
North Carolina
[MORE/SHARE]

I know this should be a dead issue.... I too have a 7D, I don't have a sigma 70-200 any more (RIP), but I do still have a 120-300 f2.8 Sigma, and it exhibits the same "sometimes it will focus - sometimes it will not" habits. It is sitting on my desk waiting to go back to mother ship. It doesn't bother me too terribly much because the lens needed to go in anyway for some TLC. But the symptoms sound an awful lot like the ones posted here.

The good side is I got lots of retro practice manually focusing a good number of events. The funny thing is when I did manual focus, the 7D still signaled focus lock when I got it right. So the two were chatting.... Who knows. I have had issues with lenses from just about every manufacture out there - even Canon L stuff.

Post #88, Jul 03, 2012 18:59:33


Mark
Its by knowing and mastering all the rules that you learn which ones you can break.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mangkukhayun
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mangkukhayun's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
160 posts
Kuantan, Malaysia
[MORE/SHARE]

Croasdail wrote in post #14667136external link
... but I do still have a 120-300 f2.8 Sigma, and it exhibits the same "sometimes it will focus - sometimes it will not" habits...

:eek: wow.. another lens from 3rd party not working with Canon new bodies? this really surprise me.. I will try to stay away from 3rd party lens then (what a shame, they make some very good lens)..

Post #89, Jul 11, 2012 10:17:16


Sheriff Photo
7D - 350D gripped - 17-55IS - 10-22 - 100L - Nifty-Fifty - 580EX
Sold: Canon 24-105L, Tammy 17-50 non-VC, Sigma 70-200 non-OS
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mangkukhayun
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mangkukhayun's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
160 posts
Kuantan, Malaysia
[MORE/SHARE]

stevenup wrote in post #14655596external link
I upgraded to 7D from 30D and my 17-85 usm which worked fine with the 30D will often refuse to communicate with the 7D. Some times it works fine, other times it shows 'Err 01 Communication between camera and lens is faulty'.
The lens is 5 years old. Do I bin it?

Nope.. trade it for 17-55! ;)

Post #90, Jul 11, 2012 10:19:09


Sheriff Photo
7D - 350D gripped - 17-55IS - 10-22 - 100L - Nifty-Fifty - 580EX
Sold: Canon 24-105L, Tammy 17-50 non-VC, Sigma 70-200 non-OS
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
90,646 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D compatibility with Sigma 70-200 APO DG Macro HSM EX! Re-Chip might be needed.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00097 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1039 guests, 829 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Lidas

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.