Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th of October 2010 (Thu)   #1
thatguy215
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 45
Default 60d wireless trigger

hey guys, i just recived my 60d in the mail the other day and cant seemed to fire my 430exii with the built in transmitter. The manual says to look at flash units manual but i dont have that with me right now.

would someone please show me how i can do this??
thatguy215 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 7th of October 2010 (Thu)   #2
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
 
msowsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
Posts: 8,312
Default Re: 60d wireless trigger

You can download the 430EX II manual here: http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...280430exii.pdf

See page 26.
__________________
Mike Sowsun / S110 / G1x / SL1 / 5D Mk III / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 55-250mm STM
___________/ EF 100mm 2.8 Macro USM / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF Extender 1.4x II /
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream
msowsun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of October 2010 (Thu)   #3
thatguy215
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 45
Default Re: 60d wireless trigger

thanks...ill give it a go
thatguy215 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 7th of October 2010 (Thu)   #4
robonrome
Goldmember
 
robonrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,746
Default Re: 60d wireless trigger

Try this?

according to page 140 of my manual fully automatic shooting with one external speedlite..



1) popup flash

2) select "flash control" in menu

3) select "built in flash" function setting

4) select flash mode - select ETTL and press "set" button

5) select wireless func - select the option that shows just the speed light picture and press "set" button

6) set channel and make sure your speedlite is in slave mode on the same

channel

7) set "firing group" to All



should now fire external speedlight while the built in is popped up but not fire the built in.
__________________
rob - check my galleries at http://hardlightimages.zenfolio.com/
Zenfolio coupon discount when signing up - 93R-NCK-DUT
_________________________________________
Canon 5D Mkiii; Sony RX100; Lumix G5; 17-40L; 24L TS-E F3.5 Mk2; 24-105L IS; 40 F2.8; 135L; 70-200L F2.8 IS MkII; Ext II 1.4x; 580 exII; 270 ex... other filtery stuff
robonrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of October 2010 (Thu)   #5
thatguy215
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 45
Default Re: 60d wireless trigger

cool guys. Thanks alot. i thought i had to go through the external flash menu but guess not
thatguy215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of October 2010 (Thu)   #6
robonrome
Goldmember
 
robonrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,746
Default Re: 60d wireless trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy215 View Post
cool guys. Thanks alot. i thought i had to go through the external flash menu but guess not
no that's the beauty of the 60D... can be all all done via the camera
__________________
rob - check my galleries at http://hardlightimages.zenfolio.com/
Zenfolio coupon discount when signing up - 93R-NCK-DUT
_________________________________________
Canon 5D Mkiii; Sony RX100; Lumix G5; 17-40L; 24L TS-E F3.5 Mk2; 24-105L IS; 40 F2.8; 135L; 70-200L F2.8 IS MkII; Ext II 1.4x; 580 exII; 270 ex... other filtery stuff
robonrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of October 2010 (Thu)   #7
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
 
msowsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
Posts: 8,312
Default Re: 60d wireless trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by robonrome View Post
no that's the beauty of the 60D... can be all all done via the camera


Yes, you need to go into the camera 's built-in flash menu and select "Wireless function" "enabled".

Then you must also take the 430EX II and set it to "slave". I don't think this can be done using the camera's external flash menu.(please correct me if I am wrong) I am pretty sure you must take the flash in your hand and set it to "slave" as per page 26 of the 430EX II manual.
__________________
Mike Sowsun / S110 / G1x / SL1 / 5D Mk III / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 55-250mm STM
___________/ EF 100mm 2.8 Macro USM / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF Extender 1.4x II /
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream
msowsun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of October 2010 (Thu)   #8
robonrome
Goldmember
 
robonrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,746
Default Re: 60d wireless trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by msowsun View Post


Yes, you need to go into the camera 's built-in flash menu and select "Wireless function" "enabled".

Then you must also take the 430EX II and set it to "slave". I don't think this can be done using the camera's external flash menu.(please correct me if I am wrong) I am pretty sure you must take the flash in your hand and set it to "slave" as per page 26 of the 430EX II manual.
yes, that's true, I meant that you can control the flash from the camera. you do have to set it as slave.
__________________
rob - check my galleries at http://hardlightimages.zenfolio.com/
Zenfolio coupon discount when signing up - 93R-NCK-DUT
_________________________________________
Canon 5D Mkiii; Sony RX100; Lumix G5; 17-40L; 24L TS-E F3.5 Mk2; 24-105L IS; 40 F2.8; 135L; 70-200L F2.8 IS MkII; Ext II 1.4x; 580 exII; 270 ex... other filtery stuff
robonrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of October 2010 (Fri)   #9
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,528
Default Re: 60d wireless trigger

The external flash menu controls an external flash mounted in the camera's hotshoe.
Slave flashes are controlled by the camera's internal flash, so it's the menu item controlling the internal flash you should use.
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which wireless trigger? navydoc Small Flash and Studio Lighting 4 15th of June 2010 (Tue) 21:42
wireless trigger dec11ad Accessories & Storage 7 26th of May 2010 (Wed) 17:31
wireless trigger cdmonkey Small Flash and Studio Lighting 37 2nd of October 2008 (Thu) 12:48
Can Rebel XT trigger Infinity Gadget wireless trigger? dr_who Small Flash and Studio Lighting 5 3rd of January 2008 (Thu) 17:14


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.