Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th of October 2010 (Fri)   #1
Brodel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Default How do I enable ptp mode on xti/400D?

Apologies if this is a stupid question, I'm trying to use my 400D with iStopmotion which according to the website needs to be in ptp mode. What does ptp mode stand for and how do I enable it? I thought it would be as simple as connecting my camera to the laptop via USB and iStopmotion would configure it, but when I click capture I get a message saying that istopmotion was unable to capture an image with this device?

when i 'test still camera' it does detect it and says that it can download and capture images.
Brodel is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of October 2010 (Fri)   #2
runninmann
what the heck do I know?
 
runninmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan-U.S.A.
Posts: 7,645
Default Re: How do I enable ptp mode on xti/400D?

From FAQ

Will my Still Camera work with iStopMotion?

If your camera supports the Picture Transfer Protocol, iStopMotion can import pictures from the camera. Some cameras also support remote capture, where the computer tells the camera to shoot a picture and that picture is immediately transfered to the computer. In this case, iStopMotion treats the imported picture just like it would treat a live stream from a video cam. Get a demo license and use the Still Camera Assitent to find out if your camera works with iStopMotion. You can find a list of tested cameras here. Still cameras don't support live preview, which means you have to take a picture with it, before you can see the actual sceen in iStopMotion.

I don't know if the 400D supports this function or not.
__________________
My Gear
runninmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of October 2010 (Fri)   #3
Jim_T
Goldmember
 
Jim_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Woodlands, MB, Canada
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: How do I enable ptp mode on xti/400D?

PTP stands for "Picture Transfer Protocol".

In your camera menu, you might have a "Communication" option.. If so, you go there and select between PTP and 'Normal'. I say 'might' have the option because at some point this menu option was removed. Newer cameras can detect which protocol is expected.

NORMAL is Canon's proprietary communication protocol used for taking images off the memory card inside the camera.. It will only work with Canon cameras. PTP is a universal protocol that works with many manufacturers..

FWIW, There's a third method that can pull images off a camera's memory card directly. (No special protocol is required, it's like using a memory card reader). It's called USB Mass Storage. Canon does not support this method.
Jim_T is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of October 2010 (Fri)   #4
Brodel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: How do I enable ptp mode on xti/400D?

thanks for the info

I don't have a communication option, I have tried plugging it in as I would to transfer files from the camera to my mac and also tried the remote control drive setting but that didn't change anything either.
Brodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of October 2010 (Fri)   #5
runninmann
what the heck do I know?
 
runninmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan-U.S.A.
Posts: 7,645
Default Re: How do I enable ptp mode on xti/400D?

Quote:
Originally Posted by runninmann View Post
From FAQ

Will my Still Camera work with iStopMotion?

If your camera supports the Picture Transfer Protocol, iStopMotion can import pictures from the camera. Some cameras also support remote capture, where the computer tells the camera to shoot a picture and that picture is immediately transfered to the computer. In this case, iStopMotion treats the imported picture just like it would treat a live stream from a video cam. Get a demo license and use the Still Camera Assitent to find out if your camera works with iStopMotion. You can find a list of tested cameras here. Still cameras don't support live preview, which means you have to take a picture with it, before you can see the actual sceen in iStopMotion.

I don't know if the 400D supports this function or not.
Did you use the Still Camera Assitent(sic) to find out if the 400D works with it?
__________________
My Gear
runninmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of October 2010 (Fri)   #6
Brodel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: How do I enable ptp mode on xti/400D?

Quote:
Originally Posted by runninmann View Post
Did you use the Still Camera Assitent(sic) to find out if the 400D works with it?
Yea, I tried that and it said that it was able to download and capture images. It's also listed on their site as a camera which has been tested and is compatible.

There are drivers to download for the pc, but i can't find anything for the mac and it doesnt mention needing them in istopmotion so i was assuming it would support it natively.

http://drivers.softpedia.com/get/SCA...iver-130.shtml
Brodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo: Enable Video Mode on a 5DMII mdaniel Digital Video 2 11th of March 2010 (Thu) 21:39
Av Mode on 400D turning into Full Auto mode (HELP!) pr0digal Canon EOS Digital Cameras 11 26th of July 2009 (Sun) 23:39
400D - manual mode and ISO thepaul Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 27th of December 2008 (Sat) 21:34
400D ? Manual mode and AV + ir - 2 alann Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 3rd of July 2008 (Thu) 20:27
Can't enable RAW on 400D Hostile Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 18th of March 2007 (Sun) 09:56


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.