Camera Left Camera Right definition please

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 25 Oct 2010 (Monday) 13:11   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

jvinlove
Joined Jun 2009
193 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hello all, first let me say all of the images in this thread are fantastic and some are even Pham-tastic!!! I have a question that hopefully can be cleared up, Cam left and Cam right, what exactly does this mean is the OCF imeadiatly to your left or right when shooting, or is this mean to the left or right of the subject, I am fairly new to OCF and seem to be a little frustrated when I look at alot of my test I'm either to dark or blown way out never a middle ground no matter how I adjust shutter for ambient or appeture for flash, and even flash power seems to be non consistent. I am wondering if it is my flash distance to subject which brings me back to cam left and cam right
If I put my OCF to my left it seems harsh same with cam right. I hope I did not confuse you as much as I am, please help of any sugustions on how to understand lighting settle more.

Post #1, Oct 25, 2010 13:11:46

Canon 5Dc, 5D2, 5D3 :: 70mm-200mm f4L :: 85mm f1.8 :: 50mm f1.4

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Joined Nov 2007
10,705 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

I'm not sure which images you are referring to, since there are none in this particular thread.
Personally, I always see left and right as I see it when I use the camera. How the subject sees it I don't care.

Post #2, Oct 25, 2010 13:16:56

Anders

FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
Joined May 2007
57,560 posts
Probably Chasing Aircraft
[MORE/SHARE]

Camera Left / Camera Right are in relation to where the camera is pointing and the opposite of where your subject is looking (provided, of course, they're looking at the camera!)

Camera Left = Subject Right
Camera Right = Subject Left

Post #3, Oct 25, 2010 13:21:25

Jay
Crosswind Imagesexternal link