Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 25th of October 2010 (Mon)   #1
jvinlove

Default Camera Left Camera Right definition please

Hello all, first let me say all of the images in this thread are fantastic and some are even Pham-tastic!!! I have a question that hopefully can be cleared up, Cam left and Cam right, what exactly does this mean is the OCF imeadiatly to your left or right when shooting, or is this mean to the left or right of the subject, I am fairly new to OCF and seem to be a little frustrated when I look at alot of my test I'm either to dark or blown way out never a middle ground no matter how I adjust shutter for ambient or appeture for flash, and even flash power seems to be non consistent. I am wondering if it is my flash distance to subject which brings me back to cam left and cam right
If I put my OCF to my left it seems harsh same with cam right. I hope I did not confuse you as much as I am, please help of any sugustions on how to understand lighting settle more.
Old 25th of October 2010 (Mon)   #2
apersson850
Cream of the Crop

Default Re: Camera Left Camera Right definition please

I'm not sure which images you are referring to, since there are none in this particular thread.
Personally, I always see left and right as I see it when I use the camera. How the subject sees it I don't care.
Old 25th of October 2010 (Mon)   #3
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"

Camera Left / Camera Right are in relation to where the camera is pointing and the opposite of where your subject is looking (provided, of course, they're looking at the camera!)

Camera Left = Subject Right
Camera Right = Subject Left
Old 25th of October 2010 (Mon)   #4
pantherphotos