Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 28 Oct 2010 (Thursday) 19:39
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Why does my camera say busy???

 
Sugar's ­ Photography
Member
71 posts
Joined Oct 2010
killeen
Oct 28, 2010 19:39 |  #1

Ill be taking my pictures, and my camera will just say busy and wont let me take a picture! Its really frustrating when at a photoshoot, and i miss the pictures! Please help me!


www.wix.com/rectorswif​ey/sugarsphotography
Canon Rebel EOS XTI
Canon zoom lens 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 II
:D

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
crn3371
Cream of the Crop
crn3371's Avatar
7,198 posts
Joined Mar 2005
SoCal, USA
Oct 28, 2010 19:43 |  #2

Sounds like you taking bursts of pictures and the camera is "busy" as it clears its buffer and writes the files to the memory card.




LOG IN TO REPLY
RobDickinson
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2010
New Zealand
Oct 28, 2010 19:44 |  #3

Probably either the buffer is full and it has to make space writing to the card or the flash needs recharging or cooling down.


www.rjd.co.nzexternal link www.zarphag.comexternal link
5d2,6D,14mmf2.8,16-35 f4 L IS,17-40L,24mm tse,70-200/2.8L,50/1.4,90/2.8​,400/5.6L,gigapan epic pro, lee filters, feisol tripod, markins q3t

LOG IN TO REPLY
monk3y
Totally Saturated
monk3y's Avatar
46,161 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Cloud and Honey
Oct 28, 2010 19:46 |  #4

yeah with a slow card its even worse... specially with RAW

I'm not sure about the XTI, but on my T1i/500D I could take 9 burst shots in RAW then it starts to say busy and allows me to take 1 photo at a time afterwards unless I paused for a few seconds

but there is no problem if you are shooting in JPEG


www.monk3y.comexternal link | My GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
James504
Senior Member
431 posts
Joined Jul 2010
Oct 28, 2010 19:47 |  #5
banned

if is theflash, the only way to really fix it is to get an external flash. That way it doesnt drain your camera battery....if its flash, this is why it says busy.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Stickman
Goldmember
Stickman's Avatar
1,964 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Oct 28, 2010 19:51 |  #6

Sugars Photography wrote in post #11184272external link
Please help me!


Please give more information, what settings you are using, how you are shooting, if you are connected to anything, etc..


Stick
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/stickgunner/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sugar's ­ Photography
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
71 posts
Joined Oct 2010
killeen
Oct 28, 2010 19:54 |  #7

Im using auto, pop up flash, and i was shooting normal!


www.wix.com/rectorswif​ey/sugarsphotography
Canon Rebel EOS XTI
Canon zoom lens 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 II
:D

LOG IN TO REPLY
monk3y
Totally Saturated
monk3y's Avatar
46,161 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Cloud and Honey
Oct 28, 2010 19:58 |  #8

Sugars Photography wrote in post #11184355external link
Im using auto, pop up flash, and i was shooting normal!

ahh then yes, I agree...it must be the pop up flash, not catching up in recycle time.


www.monk3y.comexternal link | My GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chet
No-one needs my commentary . . . they're good for now.
Chet's Avatar
39,793 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Oct 28, 2010 19:59 |  #9

I have an Xti as well. If you use the pop up flash even minimally you will get the annoying busy. I think it must get warm quickly. I rectified the issue by purchasing an external flash which is far superior to the pop up.


Curator of the Bob's Pickle Emporium experience. -As always, One location to serve you better!
~Feel good today and donate to this great forum~ LINK
My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
Heath
Goldmember
Heath's Avatar
2,332 posts
Joined Sep 2009
NYC, NY
Oct 28, 2010 20:01 |  #10

Sugars Photography wrote in post #11184355external link
Im using auto, pop up flash, and i was shooting normal!

I am not completely sure that shooting in auto with a popup flash would be considered normal.


Heath
"Some photographers push the envelope. Some sit behind a keyboard and criticize their accomplishments." (seen in the comments of a photo article)
Blogexternal link-Twitterexternal link-Zenfolioexternal link-500pxexternal link-Pinterestexternal link-Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
monk3y
Totally Saturated
monk3y's Avatar
46,161 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Cloud and Honey
Oct 28, 2010 20:07 |  #11

diputs wrote in post #11184396external link
I am not completely sure that shooting in auto with a popup flash would be considered normal.

its not normal in POTN, but its normal to most people :D


www.monk3y.comexternal link | My GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chet
No-one needs my commentary . . . they're good for now.
Chet's Avatar
39,793 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Oct 28, 2010 20:09 |  #12

Not sure if Auto is normal for a person with Photography in their title.


Curator of the Bob's Pickle Emporium experience. -As always, One location to serve you better!
~Feel good today and donate to this great forum~ LINK
My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
karobinson
Goldmember
karobinson's Avatar
1,230 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Alaska
Oct 28, 2010 20:15 |  #13

buy a faster memory card


Ann Robinson:)
My Gear: bunch of stuff;....some I love ... some I hate ... some I can't live without..loving my 5d3...

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sugar's ­ Photography
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
71 posts
Joined Oct 2010
killeen
Oct 28, 2010 20:16 |  #14

Im still learning how to chage things up on my camera! Just started photography and im teaching myself!


www.wix.com/rectorswif​ey/sugarsphotography
Canon Rebel EOS XTI
Canon zoom lens 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 II
:D

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chet
No-one needs my commentary . . . they're good for now.
Chet's Avatar
39,793 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Oct 28, 2010 20:17 |  #15

Sugars Photography wrote in post #11184490external link
Im still learning how to chage things up on my camera! Just started photography and im teaching myself!


Well you've found an excellent place to learn a lot. Welcome aboard, we've been expecting you (in corniest Love Boat theme song style).


Curator of the Bob's Pickle Emporium experience. -As always, One location to serve you better!
~Feel good today and donate to this great forum~ LINK
My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

23,661 views & 0 likes for this thread
Why does my camera say busy???
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00093 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is vikingjul458
535 guests, 421 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016