Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 28 Oct 2010 (Thursday) 19:39
PREV/NEXT

Why does my camera say busy???

 
Sugar's ­ Photography
Member
71 posts
Joined Oct 2010

killeen
MORE INFO

Ill be taking my pictures, and my camera will just say busy and wont let me take a picture! Its really frustrating when at a photoshoot, and i miss the pictures! Please help me!

Oct 28, 2010 19:39

www.wix.com/rectorswif​ey/sugarsphotography
Canon Rebel EOS XTI
Canon zoom lens 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 II
:D

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
crn3371
Cream of the Crop
crn3371's Avatar
7,198 posts

Joined Mar 2005

SoCal, USA
MORE INFO

Sounds like you taking bursts of pictures and the camera is "busy" as it clears its buffer and writes the files to the memory card.

Oct 28, 2010 19:43



LOG IN TO REPLY
RobDickinson
Goldmember
3,809 posts
Joined Apr 2010

New Zealand
MORE INFO

Probably either the buffer is full and it has to make space writing to the card or the flash needs recharging or cooling down.

Oct 28, 2010 19:44

www.rjd.co.nzexternal link www.zarphag.comexternal link
5d2,6D,14mmf2.8,16-35 f4 L IS,17-40L,24mm tse,70-200/2.8L,50/1.4,90/2.8​,400/5.6L,gigapan epic pro, lee filters, feisol tripod, markins q3t

LOG IN TO REPLY
monk3y
Totally Saturated
monk3y's Avatar
46,087 posts

Joined Aug 2009

Land of Short Skirts and Anime Fantasies
MORE INFO

yeah with a slow card its even worse... specially with RAW

I'm not sure about the XTI, but on my T1i/500D I could take 9 burst shots in RAW then it starts to say busy and allows me to take 1 photo at a time afterwards unless I paused for a few seconds

but there is no problem if you are shooting in JPEG

Oct 28, 2010 19:46

www.monk3y.comexternal link | My GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
James504
Senior Member
431 posts
Joined Jul 2010
MORE INFO
banned

if is theflash, the only way to really fix it is to get an external flash. That way it doesnt drain your camera battery....if its flash, this is why it says busy.

Oct 28, 2010 19:47



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Stickman
Goldmember
Stickman's Avatar
1,964 posts

Joined Nov 2006
MORE INFO

Sugars Photography wrote in post #11184272external link
Please help me!


Please give more information, what settings you are using, how you are shooting, if you are connected to anything, etc..

Oct 28, 2010 19:51

Stick
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/stickgunner/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sugar's ­ Photography
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
71 posts
Joined Oct 2010

killeen
MORE INFO

Im using auto, pop up flash, and i was shooting normal!

Oct 28, 2010 19:54

www.wix.com/rectorswif​ey/sugarsphotography
Canon Rebel EOS XTI
Canon zoom lens 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 II
:D

LOG IN TO REPLY
monk3y
Totally Saturated
monk3y's Avatar
46,087 posts

Joined Aug 2009

Land of Short Skirts and Anime Fantasies
MORE INFO

Sugars Photography wrote in post #11184355external link
Im using auto, pop up flash, and i was shooting normal!

ahh then yes, I agree...it must be the pop up flash, not catching up in recycle time.

Oct 28, 2010 19:58

www.monk3y.comexternal link | My GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chet
Has the hots for Justin Bieber
Chet's Avatar
38,815 posts

Joined Sep 2007
MORE INFO

I have an Xti as well. If you use the pop up flash even minimally you will get the annoying busy. I think it must get warm quickly. I rectified the issue by purchasing an external flash which is far superior to the pop up.

Oct 28, 2010 19:59

Curator of the Bob's Pickle Emporium experience. -As always, One location to serve you better!
~Feel good today and donate to this great forum~ LINK

LOG IN TO REPLY
Heath
Goldmember
Heath's Avatar
2,332 posts

Joined Sep 2009

NYC, NY
MORE INFO

Sugars Photography wrote in post #11184355external link
Im using auto, pop up flash, and i was shooting normal!

I am not completely sure that shooting in auto with a popup flash would be considered normal.

Oct 28, 2010 20:01

Heath
"Some photographers push the envelope. Some sit behind a keyboard and criticize their accomplishments." (seen in the comments of a photo article)
Blogexternal link-Twitterexternal link-Zenfolioexternal link-500pxexternal link-Pinterestexternal link-Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
monk3y
Totally Saturated
monk3y's Avatar
46,087 posts

Joined Aug 2009

Land of Short Skirts and Anime Fantasies
MORE INFO

diputs wrote in post #11184396external link
I am not completely sure that shooting in auto with a popup flash would be considered normal.

its not normal in POTN, but its normal to most people :D

Oct 28, 2010 20:07

www.monk3y.comexternal link | My GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Chet
Has the hots for Justin Bieber
Chet's Avatar
38,815 posts

Joined Sep 2007
MORE INFO

Not sure if Auto is normal for a person with Photography in their title.

Oct 28, 2010 20:09

Curator of the Bob's Pickle Emporium experience. -As always, One location to serve you better!
~Feel good today and donate to this great forum~ LINK

LOG IN TO REPLY
karobinson
Goldmember
karobinson's Avatar
1,205 posts

Joined Feb 2008

Alaska
MORE INFO

buy a faster memory card

Oct 28, 2010 20:15

Ann Robinson:)
My Gear: bunch of stuff;....some I love ... some I hate ... some I can't live without..loving my 5d3...

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sugar's ­ Photography
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
71 posts
Joined Oct 2010

killeen
MORE INFO

Im still learning how to chage things up on my camera! Just started photography and im teaching myself!

Oct 28, 2010 20:16

www.wix.com/rectorswif​ey/sugarsphotography
Canon Rebel EOS XTI
Canon zoom lens 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 II
:D

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chet
Has the hots for Justin Bieber
Chet's Avatar
38,815 posts

Joined Sep 2007
MORE INFO

Sugars Photography wrote in post #11184490external link
Im still learning how to chage things up on my camera! Just started photography and im teaching myself!


Well you've found an excellent place to learn a lot. Welcome aboard, we've been expecting you (in corniest Love Boat theme song style).

Oct 28, 2010 20:17

Curator of the Bob's Pickle Emporium experience. -As always, One location to serve you better!
~Feel good today and donate to this great forum~ LINK

LOG IN TO REPLY

16,210 views & 0 likes for this thread
Why does my camera say busy???
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00074 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Photomad
829 guests, 797 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014