Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th of November 2010 (Mon)   #1
Gil Bean
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 515
Default G12 % photos that have Haze

What did I do wrong with theses photos. ICC info should be embedded. Nothing is in focus and it was a clear day. There was no haze but every photo has a haze.
Made the photos too large .Will try again and try to delete this post

GilBean

Last edited by Gil Bean : 8th of November 2010 (Mon) at 22:33. Reason: Did not work
Gil Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 8th of November 2010 (Mon)   #2
Jill-of-all-Trades
far from having everything figured out!
 
Jill-of-all-Trades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 14,164
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

Can't see the pictures. Post a few on here so we can see them.
Did you check the lens for fingerprints or something similar?
__________________
Melody
Welding Glass Fun
TF Attack
NOT A GEEK!
Jill-of-all-Trades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of November 2010 (Mon)   #3
Gil Bean
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 515
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil Bean View Post
What did I do wrong with theses photos. ICC info should be embedded. Nothing is in focus and it was a clear day. There was no haze but every photo has a haze.
Made the photos too large .Will try again and try to delete this post

GilBean
FINALLY.

How do you size these at a decent size, quality, DPI?

Last edited by Gil Bean : 14th of October 2012 (Sun) at 13:42.
Gil Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 8th of November 2010 (Mon)   #4
rpolitsr
Moderator
 
rpolitsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Quito - Ecuador
Posts: 5,066
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

The exif shows that they were shot in Tv mode, 1/2000 sec. ISO 800 and Exposure Compensation set to +1.

I think that the ISO 800 and Exp. Comp. +1 contributed to overexpose the images.

In good light, using something like ISO 100 and Exposure Compensation 0 may help.
Some times I use Exp. Comp. set to -1/3 for reacher colors/contrast.

The links below will help you to attach/embed images in your posts.

Tutorial: How to attach photos to a post
Tutorial: Where to host my photos?
__________________
rafael

Canon powershot Pro1, EOS RebelXT, EF-S 18-55mm II, speedlite 420EX, basic filters set.
My photo galleries

"PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED."
rpolitsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of November 2010 (Mon)   #5
Gil Bean
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 515
Default G12 Haze Photos - Is this allowed?

Going to try a direct link

http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...e/Haze0001.jpg

http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...e/Haze0002.jpg

http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...e/Haze0003.jpg

http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...e/Haze0004.jpg

http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...e/Haze0005.jpg

Thanks and sorry for the inconvenience. The ICC should be embedded. These were all taken on a clear day. No haze. Every photo has haze and none are in focus. Can y'all tell me what I did wrong? Thank you.
GilBean
Gil Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of November 2010 (Mon)   #6
Gil Bean
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 515
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpolitsr View Post
The exif shows that they were shot in Tv mode, 1/2000 sec. ISO 800 and Exposure Compensation set to +1.

I think that the ISO 800 and Exp. Comp. +1 contributed to overexpose the images.

In good light, using something like ISO 100 and Exposure Compensation 0 may help.
Some times I use Exp. Comp. set to -1/3 for reacher colors/contrast.

The links below will help you to attach/embed images in your posts.

Tutorial: How to attach photos to a post
Tutorial: Where to host my photos?
Thank you Raphael (sp). Sorry if I misspelled your name. Tired, frustrated with Canon for not allowing a direct link, frustrated trying to get photos below 150kb, & bleary eyed. Thanks again.
GilBean
Gil Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #7
SilentShutter
Member
 
SilentShutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 432
Default Re: G12 Haze Photos - Is this allowed?

I can't see the EXIF info, but the last image looks ok to me, but the rest, maybe too high of an iso? Not sure, just a guess. Trouble shooting isn't really my thing, but hey, its a try.
__________________
Canon PowerShot SX40HS
Steady hands, an open eye, and a (hopefully) empty SD card
My flickr page
SilentShutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #8
Gil Bean
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 515
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

Thanks to whoever combined the questions I had. Probably Rafael? I appreciate y'all helping and your suggestions.
GilBean
Gil Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #9
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
 
Woolburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Posts: 66,150
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

The images are simply way over-exposed. ISO 800 and +1 EC are a recipe for disaster on a bright sunny day. Like was previously mentioned....ISO 100 and 0 EC to start....you might even want to go to -1/3 to improve saturation a bit. If you are still getting whacked images with reasonable settings, then you might have a camera issue, but for now it looks more like user error.
__________________
People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons, Coloring Book, Refrigerator Art and What I Really Think About
Woolburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #10
richarddd
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 207
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

Lowered exposure by about a stop and added some contrast

Haze0001-ps.jpg
richarddd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #11
Jill-of-all-Trades
far from having everything figured out!
 
Jill-of-all-Trades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 14,164
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

I don't know the G line at all, but is there a way to attach a polarizing filter? I had an filter attachment for my Powershot A95. That type of environment is just perfect for a polarizer.
__________________
Melody
Welding Glass Fun
TF Attack
NOT A GEEK!
Jill-of-all-Trades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #12
Riveredger
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 645
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

Why did you use Tv mode and a shutter speed of 1/2000 for this shot? You could easily lower the shutter speed for a shot like this and therefore use a much lower ISO.
__________________
Flickr Photostream
Riveredger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #13
Rimmer
Senior Member
 
Rimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,344
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

Gil --

I agree with some of the others that you have overexposed here.

I have noticed from some of your other posts that you seem focused (sorry, no pun intended) on using high ISO. In my opinion you may want to consider using the lowest ISO you can for the given situation to get the lowest noise in your images. Also, in these scenes the bright highlights probably call for negative exposure compensation if anything; certainly not +1 EC.

Regarding haze, the only haze I can really see is in the distant hills. I'm sure it is really there, your eyes and brain just "filtered" it out from your perception.

I took literally 15 seconds with Photoshop elements to adjust levels, highlights, and sharpness and got this image. Looks to me as if you are doing just fine, you just need to learn a little more about technique. Don't forget to use your histogram!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Haze0003 copy.jpg (127.2 KB, 226 views)

Last edited by Rimmer : 9th of November 2010 (Tue) at 11:30.
Rimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #14
Tadaaa
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 926
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

They're just overexposed; learn how to read the histogram and you will get shots like this perfect every time.
__________________
- 1D & G9 & Sigma DP1 & Nikon D800 -
Tadaaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of November 2010 (Tue)   #15
Rimmer
Senior Member
 
Rimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,344
Default Re: G12 % photos that have Haze

Gil --

I'm going to go out on a limb and make another suggestion for you. As a relatively new G11 user, this has been helpful for me:

Do most of your shooting in Programmed AE ("P") mode. I suggest this for a few reasons --

(1) Letting the camera select the settings frees your brain up to concentrate on composition and other aspects of your photography. (As you get more comfortable with the camera you can branch out to other modes.)

(2) P is superior to Full Auto in my opinion because (a) I think the camera tends to default to shutter speeds that are too low in Auto, and (b) you can't shoot RAW in Auto.

(3) If you don't like the setting the camera picks in P, all you have to do is hit the (*) button to lock the exposure and then use the adjustment wheel on the back to change settings. Once the exposure is locked with (*), the settings stay in sync and shutter speed will increase as you dial in a wider aperture and vice-versa.
Rimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Help with This Haze? Walkingmanblues RAW, Post Processing and Printing 23 27th of June 2010 (Sun) 16:31
Out of the Haze Cameron Cushman Nature & Landscapes 1 25th of September 2009 (Fri) 21:25
Haze on Right Side of All my Photos? cLen Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 29th of May 2009 (Fri) 10:17
Help with Haze embdude RAW, Post Processing and Printing 4 18th of May 2005 (Wed) 13:11
What to do about haze? LazyPhotographer Canon EOS Digital Cameras 5 12th of April 2004 (Mon) 23:54


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.