Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 17th of November 2010 (Wed)   #1
CyberManiaK

Default 60d/50d AF in Ai-Servo ?

Hi somenone here have done a similar test ? http://wildlifeacrossthewater.blogsp...peed-test.html

Im curious to see how it performs the 60D i'm in doubt about which one to get D7000 or 60D (i'm jumping ship from sony alpha)

Thanks.
CyberManiaK is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of November 2010 (Wed)   #2
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop

Default Re: 60d/50d AF in Ai-Servo ?

Let me start by saying I've never used the 50D/60D before. My only experience w/ Canon's 9-point AF is with my previous 40D. But I am of the understanding that the AF had stayed the same (and only the 5D2 has additional, non-selectable "hidden" assist points in servo for the center point)... I can only assume that the 50D & 60D aren't much better than the 40D in that regards.

So with that said... if you're big on sports/action/tracking... and choosing between the 50D/60D/D7000, then on paper, I believe the D7000 will have the advantage of the 3 cameras.
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)
jwcdds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of November 2010 (Wed)   #3
CyberManiaK

thanks. Well I have doing a lot of research in this couple of weeks and some says that the 50D have AF improvement over the 40D because of the DIGIC III vs DIGIC IV.

I'm with you, in paper the D7K sound like a killer camera, but those are only specs, and not always those specs are well suited for real world experience.
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of November 2010 (Wed)   #4
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop