Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers
Thread started 23 Nov 2010 (Tuesday) 05:15
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Need help with color management(Spyder3Elite and Photoshop/Bridge)

 
RapGame
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Nov 2008
MORE INFO

I've recently calibrated my monitor with Spyder3Elite 4.0 and I'm ok with the colors that I see now having in mind that I have a cheap monitor Acer P223W, but thats not the problem.

The problem is that I can't figure out a way to see the right colors in all the applications.. for ex:

In DPP I see the right colors with the default Color Management settings:
Default settings of Work color space: sRGB
Color matching settings: sRGB
Printing profile - none
CMYK simulation profile - none

In Adobe Bridge and Photoshop CS5 skin tones are very yellow with default settings

In photoshop I can fix it by soft proofing with Monitor RGB but I know thats not a perm solution

In ACDSee Pro 3 I see the right colors like in DPP with the color management off...

I can't figure out whats the problem here, if anyone could give me a tip or some advices what to do on Bridge and Photoshop to show me the right colors...

Thanks in advance

Nov 23, 2010 05:15



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
39,854 posts

Joined Feb 2005

enschede, netherlands
MORE INFO

Adobe Bridge and PS are correct without softproofing.
DPP should display identical if you choose the proper monitor profile in the prefs.
ACDSee Pro 3 can be set to color manage as well: http://acdsystems.cust​help.com ...ofile-that-was-set-on-theexternal link

Nov 23, 2010 09:18

"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
RapGame
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Nov 2008
MORE INFO

René Damkot wrote in post #11332557external link
Adobe Bridge and PS are correct without softproofing.
DPP should display identical if you choose the proper monitor profile in the prefs.
ACDSee Pro 3 can be set to color manage as well: http://acdsystems.cust​help.com ...ofile-that-was-set-on-theexternal link

Well the problem is that DPP and ACDSee can see the right colors w/o me setting the color profile but if I chose the monitor profile I get the same lame yellow tint on the skin.

Any ideea why ?

Nov 23, 2010 09:27



LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
39,854 posts

Joined Feb 2005

enschede, netherlands
MORE INFO

They are *not* the right colors.

I suppose (assuming the calibration went as it should) that your images have a yellow tint since you edited them on a monitor that was too blue.

Another possibility is that the calibration somehow went wrong.

Post an image maybe? (With embedded icc profile)

Nov 23, 2010 11:12

"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
RapGame
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Nov 2008
MORE INFO

First is a screen shoot from Bridge CS5 with DPP edited files then exported to tif.
http://img522.imagesha​ck.us/img522/7528/capt​urerhq.jpgexternal link

Second is a RAW file saved as JPG from DPP with NO settings applied.
http://img132.imagesha​ck.us/img132/3364/img6​263dpp.jpgexternal link

Third is a screen shoot of ACDSee and DPP side by side how they see the picture (natural colors)
http://img508.imagesha​ck.us/img508/3062/rawe​xportss.jpgexternal link

Fourth is a screen shoot how Photoshop/Bridge sees the picture
http://img535.imagesha​ck.us/img535/1240/phot​oshopsees.jpgexternal link


Or you can download all 4 files from here: http://rapidshare.com ...432683293/calibrati​on.rarexternal link

Nov 23, 2010 11:49 as a reply to René Damkot's post 36 minutes earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
ChasP505
"brain damaged old guy"
ChasP505's Avatar
5,566 posts

Joined Dec 2006

New Mexico, USA
MORE INFO

RapGame wrote in post #11333429external link
Fourth is a screen shoot how Photoshop/Bridge sees the picture
http://img535.imagesha​ck.us/img535/1240/phot​oshopsees.jpgexternal link

What this reminds me of is the result I would always get trying to calibrate a Samsung TN paneled monitor.

What calibration settings did you use in your Spyder3 software?
What adjustments did you make to the monitor controls?

How does Photoshop/Bridge look when you open a standardized test image (not one of your own)?

http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/downloada​ble_1/DL_page.htmlexternal link

Nov 23, 2010 12:34

Chas P
"It doesn't matter how you get there if you don't know where you're going!"http://photography-on-the.net ...p?p=10864029#post10​864029

LOG IN TO REPLY
RapGame
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Nov 2008
MORE INFO

ChasP505 wrote in post #11333686external link
What this reminds me of is the result I would always get trying to calibrate a Samsung TN paneled monitor.

What calibration settings did you use in your Spyder3 software?
What adjustments did you make to the monitor controls?

How does Photoshop/Bridge look when you open a standardized test image (not one of your own)?

http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/downloada​ble_1/DL_page.htmlexternal link

Spyder settings:
Gamma: 2.2
White point: 6500K
Brightness: 120
Ambient Light: Off

Monitor controls: only brightness adjust.. I followed the instructions provided by datacolor --> Let monitor warm up for at last 30min, reset monitor to defaul, and I tried 2 times with different color setups, first Warm then RGB settings ==> same result

I just downloaded the SpyderProof picture and opened it in photoshop looks like in Spyder software, skin tones = yellowish
here's a preview: http://img403.imagesha​ck.us/img403/8583/ssho​t1r.jpgexternal link

Nov 23, 2010 18:06



LOG IN TO REPLY
ChasP505
"brain damaged old guy"
ChasP505's Avatar
5,566 posts

Joined Dec 2006

New Mexico, USA
MORE INFO

When it comes to TN panel LCD monitors, I've come to believe that some simply can't be properly calibrated... Or can't be calibrated with certain calibrators.

I had the exact same issue as yours with certain Samsung monitors at my old business office. After trying everything under the sun, including EyeOne Display 2, we gave up and settled for "eyeball calibration". Maybe your Acer unit is made by Samsung.

Nov 23, 2010 18:52 as a reply to RapGame's post 46 minutes earlier.

Chas P
"It doesn't matter how you get there if you don't know where you're going!"http://photography-on-the.net ...p?p=10864029#post10​864029

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jimmer411
Thank god Im green.
859 posts
Joined Sep 2007

Pacific, WA
MORE INFO

Any image you previously edited before calibrating will be "off" now that your calibrated. Im running a Samsung 206BW TN panel next to my Dell U2311H IPS panel with both calibrated and they are both spot on compared to my prints.

What are you selecting your monitor profile for? Color workspace? Monitor profile is not your workspace, aRGB, sRGB or ProPhotoRGB is.

Nov 24, 2010 06:07

50D | 5D3 | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM | EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | EF 24-70 f/2.8L II | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 430EX | YN-568EX II | YN-622c | YN-622-TX |
Selling Canon 50D, Sigma 30mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
ChasP505
"brain damaged old guy"
ChasP505's Avatar
5,566 posts

Joined Dec 2006

New Mexico, USA
MORE INFO

Jimmer411 wrote in post #11338041external link
...Im running a Samsung 206BW TN panel next to my Dell U2311H IPS panel with both calibrated and they are both spot on compared to my prints....

What method did you use to calibrate the Samsung 206BW? No color casts when you view images in Photoshop? What is your video card setup?

Nov 24, 2010 11:11

Chas P
"It doesn't matter how you get there if you don't know where you're going!"http://photography-on-the.net ...p?p=10864029#post10​864029

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jimmer411
Thank god Im green.
859 posts
Joined Sep 2007

Pacific, WA
MORE INFO

ChasP505 wrote in post #11339137external link
What method did you use to calibrate the Samsung 206BW? No color casts when you view images in Photoshop? What is your video card setup?



I am running a single HD4870. I enabled RGB in spyder3elite preferences and and adjusted my color temp using the RGB sliders on my monitor. I noticed on both Samsung 206bw and 1 226BW that I had to drop my RGB values significantly and increase my backlight.

The 206BW on my desk is using R12 G13 B34 with brightness of 90 to achieve 6500k and 130cd brightness. The 226BW had similar RGB values with 79 brightness. The default color temp from my spyder3 express was 5700 after calibration. Make sure that magic color is off as well.

Im able to view the test image without color casts on all the monitors in my house. Some of my personal images have a over saturated yellowish cast to them but that is because they were edited on an uncalibrated monitor. I have compared prints to my first calibration with the spyder3 express and my spyder 3 elite side by side, and the new setup matches prints perfectly, the old setup was acceptable.


In photoshop CS3 In my color settings I selected "North American Prepress 2." Under color management policys what do you have selected?

Nov 24, 2010 15:01

50D | 5D3 | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM | EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | EF 24-70 f/2.8L II | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 430EX | YN-568EX II | YN-622c | YN-622-TX |
Selling Canon 50D, Sigma 30mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
ChasP505
"brain damaged old guy"
ChasP505's Avatar
5,566 posts

Joined Dec 2006

New Mexico, USA
MORE INFO

In my former office we had about a dozen 226BW and 225BWs. All were extremely blue at factory default settings. Measured white was up around 9000K. When calibrating with Spyder3 Elite, I took the Brightness to about 85, giving me 160cd/m2 in my bright corporate office. The RGB values ended up in the range of R-50 G-40 B-30 to hit 6500K. (Normally, I wouldn't even adjust the RGB sliders this much because it reduces your available color tones and causes banding)

This profile produced a brownish/sepia color cast, especially in Photoshop.

Calibrating at native white avoided the color cast, but left the original blue cast. Since these monitors were not used for true color critical work, by trial and error, we found a good OSD formula which put them in the ballpark.

These monitors are one by one being farmed out to administrative offices and replaced in my Marketing Dept with IPS paneled LCDs.

Nov 24, 2010 17:02 as a reply to Jimmer411's post 2 hours earlier.

Chas P
"It doesn't matter how you get there if you don't know where you're going!"http://photography-on-the.net ...p?p=10864029#post10​864029

LOG IN TO REPLY
RapGame
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Nov 2008
MORE INFO

I contacted DataColor and they told me to try the 3.1.5 pro software to see if the problem persists and it does, they said the problem might be from Spyder Hardware because I get the same skin tones on laptop as well.

I'm currently waiting for them to reply and see if they gonna change my spyder.
I'm also considering buying another Monitor in January or February.. I was thinking to go for Dell UltraSharp U2410 but seems some people have experienced some color casts on that model.

Anyway Jimmer411, I saw that you have a Dell U2311H, how is it? it was easy to calibrate? can you tell me some pro and cons about it ?

Nov 25, 2010 04:04



LOG IN TO REPLY
Jimmer411
Thank god Im green.
859 posts
Joined Sep 2007

Pacific, WA
MORE INFO

RapGame wrote in post #11343264external link
I contacted DataColor and they told me to try the 3.1.5 pro software to see if the problem persists and it does, they said the problem might be from Spyder Hardware because I get the same skin tones on laptop as well.

I'm currently waiting for them to reply and see if they gonna change my spyder.
I'm also considering buying another Monitor in January or February.. I was thinking to go for Dell UltraSharp U2410 but seems some people have experienced some color casts on that model.

Anyway Jimmer411, I saw that you have a Dell U2311H, how is it? it was easy to calibrate? can you tell me some pro and cons about it ?

Im very happy with it. The on screen controls make calibration a breeze and so far in heavy gaming I dont notice any input lag or ghosting. I would buy a second one if I had the space on my desk lol.

I cant think of anything that I dont like about it.

Nov 25, 2010 15:48

50D | 5D3 | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM | EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | EF 24-70 f/2.8L II | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 430EX | YN-568EX II | YN-622c | YN-622-TX |
Selling Canon 50D, Sigma 30mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
39,854 posts

Joined Feb 2005

enschede, netherlands
MORE INFO

RapGame wrote in post #11333429external link
First is a screen shoot from Bridge CS5 with DPP edited files then exported to tif.
http://img522.imagesha​ck.us/img522/7528/capt​urerhq.jpgexternal link

Second is a RAW file saved as JPG from DPP with NO settings applied.
http://img132.imagesha​ck.us/img132/3364/img6​263dpp.jpgexternal link

Third is a screen shoot of ACDSee and DPP side by side how they see the picture (natural colors)
http://img508.imagesha​ck.us/img508/3062/rawe​xportss.jpgexternal link

Fourth is a screen shoot how Photoshop/Bridge sees the picture
http://img535.imagesha​ck.us/img535/1240/phot​oshopsees.jpgexternal link


Or you can download all 4 files from here: http://rapidshare.com ...432683293/calibrati​on.rarexternal link

Well, the image straight out of DPP looks okay.
It's the only image with an embedded profile, so the only one something meaningful can be said about.

The others do look garish, but no idea what's the cause: Might be a bad spyder, or a bad (read: almost not calibrate-able) monitor...

Nov 26, 2010 07:45

"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

3,696 views & 0 likes for this thread
Need help with color management(Spyder3Elite and Photoshop/Bridge)
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00148 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is autocamerarig
675 guests, 633 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015