Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 20 Dec 2010 (Monday) 14:26
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

CS5 PC

 
drisley
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,860 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Dec 20, 2010 14:26 |  #1

I built a nice high end PC about 5 years ago with 2.4Ghz dual cores, 2GB memory, Nvidia 7800GT video, and it's been treating me nice ever since. This is the longest I've gone without upgrading, but the time is coming for me to get a new quad core+ system. Actually if I had another couple gigs of memory I would be fine for a while longer.

Anyway, I've been running the Adobe CS4 Suite since it came out, and it performs really well, but I'm drooling at some of the new CS5 features. I've been putting off getting it until I upgrade, but I was wondering is CS5, specifically Photoshop, going to be much more of a system hog than CS4? Could I run PS CS5 well on this setup?

I'm running Windows 7 x64 Ultimate.

Thanks guys.


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
drdiesel1
Goldmember
drdiesel1's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
NorCal
Dec 20, 2010 14:50 |  #2

drisley wrote in post #11485792external link
I built a nice high end PC about 5 years ago with 2.4Ghz dual cores, 2GB memory, Nvidia 7800GT video, and it's been treating me nice ever since. This is the longest I've gone without upgrading, but the time is coming for me to get a new quad core+ system. Actually if I had another couple gigs of memory I would be fine for a while longer.

Anyway, I've been running the Adobe CS4 Suite since it came out, and it performs really well, but I'm drooling at some of the new CS5 features. I've been putting off getting it until I upgrade, but I was wondering is CS5, specifically Photoshop, going to be much more of a system hog than CS4? Could I run PS CS5 well on this setup?

I'm running Windows 7 x64 Ultimate.

Thanks guys.

Content-Aware as well as larger file processing will be slower with only 2gigs of ram.
I just upgraded my PC with the Intel 3.3 GHz - 980X 6 core Extreme CPU, 6 gigs of the new ram (3 stick kit) on Intel's DX58SO motherboard with windows 7 Ultra 64 bit.
I really like the speed, but the 5DMKII files can even slow this set-up down, a little ;)

The new boards, processors and ram have eliminated the FSB, allowing fast ram throughput.


Nikon D810 Nikon 50F/1.4G - Nikon 70-200F/2.8II
Canon 5DMKIII - Canon 24-105F/4L

LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,860 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Dec 20, 2010 15:26 |  #3

Thanks drdiesel1.
I'm going to research that motherboard too. It's SO hard to keep up with all the new chipsets!


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
drdiesel1
Goldmember
drdiesel1's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
NorCal
Dec 20, 2010 18:24 |  #4

drisley wrote in post #11486125external link
Thanks drdiesel1.
I'm going to research that motherboard too. It's SO hard to keep up with all the new chipsets!


I only use Intel processors and motherboards. Everything has a 3 year warranty and the boxed processor comes with the heat sink and fan ;)


Nikon D810 Nikon 50F/1.4G - Nikon 70-200F/2.8II
Canon 5DMKIII - Canon 24-105F/4L

LOG IN TO REPLY
bohdank
Cream of the Crop
bohdank's Avatar
14,060 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Montreal, Canada
Dec 20, 2010 18:28 |  #5

If you are running Win 7/64 bit you REALLY need more memory. I would add another 4 gig, minimum.


Bohdan - I may be, and probably am, completely wrong.
Gear List

Montreal Concert, Event and Portrait Photographerexternal link
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
solara
Senior Member
620 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Dec 20, 2010 19:01 |  #6

Wow, running Win 7 with 2 gb of RAM - I can guarantee you're using the pagefile while running CS4 - and that definitely slows things down.

Newegg has the G.Skill 2x4gb DDR3 1333 right now for 89.99 before tax with a $10 off code: EMCZNNY22 (I bought a set around Thanksgiving and it's been working fine - ran a few overnight Memtest on them to stress-test them, and no problems so far).


5D III, 7D | 17-55 f/2.8 | 16-35 f/4 | 24-105 f/4 | 85 f/1.8 | 135 f/2 | 70-200 f/4 IS | 580EX II | YN-560 | Manfrotto 190XPROB+498RC2

LOG IN TO REPLY
bohdank
Cream of the Crop
bohdank's Avatar
14,060 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Montreal, Canada
Dec 20, 2010 19:02 |  #7

His machine is most likey using DDR2 or older.


Bohdan - I may be, and probably am, completely wrong.
Gear List

Montreal Concert, Event and Portrait Photographerexternal link
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,860 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Dec 20, 2010 19:25 |  #8

Thanks for the info guys. Yeah, I'm not taking advantage of the 64 bit OS, but after running the 32 bit OS for a year initially (since the beta) I decided I might as well try the 64 bit OS before I upgraded. In fact, I've been running W7 for 2 years now, 1 year with each 32/64 bit, and they both run the same even with 2GB of memory. I was curious how drivers and software would play with the new 64 bit OS and for a year it hasn't been a problem at all.

I have an Asus A7n8X Deluxe with 2GB of DDR2. I theoretically CAN add another 2GB (if I drop timings), but it wouldn't be worth it. Definitely do the upgrade. I will check out Newegg, but being in Canada it might not be worth it (will check anyway).

Initially CS4 was paging a lot but I lowered the amount of memory used by PS to 30% last year, and it's been running nice and smooth ever since. I'm sure it's still paging, but I routinely stitch together 20-100 picture panoramas without many problems (using 10Mp , 16 bit Tiffs from Raw :) ) I just do something else while it's stitching, like surf the net or watch some TV.

I like the 3 year warranty and I never overclock, so an included hsf is definitely all I need (and less hassle for me).

Sort of slightly off topic, are there any i7 motherboards out there that support USB 3.0, SATA3 (6Gb), AND full speed PCI-Express (x16)? Most of the ones I've looked at say you have to throttle down the video card slot if you want to use USB 3.0 and SATA 3 (more of a futureproof question).


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
bohdank
Cream of the Crop
bohdank's Avatar
14,060 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Montreal, Canada
Dec 20, 2010 20:18 |  #9

I wouldn't bother with SATA3. There isn't a drive out there than can approach the bandwidth of SATAII. Hell, even SATA1 is barely slower than the curent consumer drives out there.

There are Mboards that support USB3. I had an order in for a MB, CPU and memory but cancelled it before it shipped. Came to my senses that my current system is perfectly fine ;-)a

Can't remember the model number but it was an Asus.


Bohdan - I may be, and probably am, completely wrong.
Gear List

Montreal Concert, Event and Portrait Photographerexternal link
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
solara
Senior Member
620 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Dec 20, 2010 20:44 |  #10

There will be SSDs that will surpass SATA1, and definitely there are SSDs in RAID that already surpass SATA1.

Worth it to futureproof (seeing as how he kept his last system for 5 years).


5D III, 7D | 17-55 f/2.8 | 16-35 f/4 | 24-105 f/4 | 85 f/1.8 | 135 f/2 | 70-200 f/4 IS | 580EX II | YN-560 | Manfrotto 190XPROB+498RC2

LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,860 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Dec 20, 2010 23:30 |  #11

solara wrote in post #11487894external link
There will be SSDs that will surpass SATA1, and definitely there are SSDs in RAID that already surpass SATA1.

Worth it to futureproof (seeing as how he kept his last system for 5 years).

Yes, this is what I was thinking... once again building the highest quality system I can afford to last me another few years at least (I used to rebuild my system every year prior to this last build, then started spending my money on cameras :))


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,597 views & 0 likes for this thread
CS5 PC
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00183 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is andrewwong927
790 guests, 319 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016