LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Color difference-processed on computer vs. walmart/walgreens prints

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 24 Dec 2010 (Friday) 11:32   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
denise69
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Can anyone tell me why my photos look different when they are printed at Walgreens or Walmart, for example, vs my lab.
HOW can I fix it?
:(

Post #1, Dec 24, 2010 11:32:40




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
tzalman's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
12,598 posts
Gesher Haziv, Israel
[MORE/SHARE]

A little more information would help.
Are you using a color managed application?
Is your monitor hardware calibrated?
What color space is your images in?
Are you letting Walgreen, Walmart and "my lab" do enhancements?
What is "my lab"?

Post #2, Dec 24, 2010 12:31:01


Elie / אלי
I look at the world and I notice it's turning, while my guitar gently weeps.
With every mistake we must surely be learning, still my guitar gently weeps.
Paul Harrison
Siteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Wilt is an old fart who has extensive experience with many brands and many formats of cameras, and extensive lighting knowledge of both studio lighting and speedlights
Wilt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
33,482 posts
SF Bay area, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

Many photo printing services have automatic color adjustment applied. You need to tell your processor to NOT ADJUST color, but print the file exactly as provided to them.

Post #3, Dec 24, 2010 14:15:52


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost!
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention
Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

And, what specifically do you mean by "different"? Are you saying one is "better" or just "different", and how?

Post #4, Dec 24, 2010 16:23:33


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
denise69
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

oK,
On my system i am using pS3 extended version.
I have never calibrated my monitor.
I use WHCC for my lab prints, however, I do have a CD session which allows customers to have the disk and make their own prints.
When the prints come back from other place than WHCC, they look washed out, BLAH.
I sent some photos to Walgreens yesterday for my niece and did be sure they weren't color corrected, however, still have that washed out, grey look to them.
I have made a couple of changes over the past weeks to my photoshop to try to recover the fabulous colors i had previously.

I switched to Canon from Nikon back in july, would that have made a differene??

I don't even know how to calibrate......like I mentioned earlier, the prints from WHCC seem just like i sent.........
SO, i am open for suggestions.
I don't mind offereing the disk to families, it keeps them coming back (in my area anyways) so to discontinue that would be bad for business.
I do warn people that the colors may vary from printer to printer, but just want to make sure i am doing all i can do on my end.
THANK you in advance for all your information and time!

Post #5, Dec 25, 2010 08:55:20




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
tzalman's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
12,598 posts
Gesher Haziv, Israel
[MORE/SHARE]

When the prints come back from other place than WHCC, they look washed out, BLAH.
I sent some photos to Walgreens yesterday for my niece and did be sure they weren't color corrected, however, still have that washed out, grey look to them.

Washed out prints from a print lab that doesn't use a color space aware workflow usually means that the images were sent to them in a space other than sRGB. I think WHCC does read the embedded color space profile and adjust accordingly. So, next question is in what space are you outputting the images.

I switched to Canon from Nikon back in july, would that have made a differene??

I don't think it would, but maybe you don't have the new camera set up the same way - like having it set to output AdobeRGB jpgs.

Post #6, Dec 25, 2010 09:14:08


Elie / אלי
I look at the world and I notice it's turning, while my guitar gently weeps.
With every mistake we must surely be learning, still my guitar gently weeps.
Paul Harrison
Siteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
denise69
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

The color space on my camera is set at Adobe RGB.

My Color Settings are as such: (due to recent changes)
Settings: Custom
Working Spaces; Adobe RGB (1998)
CMYK: US Web Coated (SWOP)v2
Gray: Dot Gain 20%

Color Management Policies
RGB
CMYK
GRAY
All set at preserve embedded profiles
(none of the boxes below this are ticked)

Conversion Options
Engine: Adobe (ACE)
Intent: Perpetual
both boxes below are ticked

Advanced controls
Neither box is ticked


Once a photo is opened:
I can then access the
'Assign Profile" settings.
They are as such:
(options)
don't color manage this document
working RGB: adobe RGB (1998)
Profile (this is ticked) Nikon Adobe RGB 4.0.0.3000
( think this is where my problem lies, i think i need to change this to
sRBB IEC61966-2.1

LASTLY,
the Convert to Profile settings are as such:
Source Space:
Profile: Nikon Adobe RGB 4.0.0.3000
Destination Space
Profile: sRGB IEC1966-2.1

Concersion Options:
Engine: Adobe (ACE)
Intent: Perceptual

Use black point compensation and Use Dither both ticked.

Does that help at all?

Post #7, Dec 25, 2010 17:24:16




LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

The "safe" color space is sRGB -- this is likely a big part of your problem. Some printer software knows how to handle aRGB, some does not, so will give not-so-good results. So, you want to either convert your images to sRGB as you are preparing to send them to an outside print lab/shop or for posting on the Web or sharing with people who don't have an app like Photoshop that is "color managed" or, alternatively, you can set up your camera and apps to use sRGB exclusively -- save yourself the conversion task.

Post #8, Dec 25, 2010 17:31:35


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
denise69
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

So that is going to be in that first section of settings where i am set to Adobe RGB.....correct?

Post #9, Dec 25, 2010 17:33:41




LOG IN TO REPLY
denise69
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

When i switched that setting to sRGB then it automatically switched my assign profile to
working RGB
instead of the profile that was ticked.
that is correct right?

sorry, i don't mean to sound like i don't know what i am doing, some of this stuff is foreign to me, so i am trying to learn as much as i can about it to make sure my prints are consistant.

Post #10, Dec 25, 2010 17:36:58




LOG IN TO REPLY
denise69
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

in my color settings i still have it set to custom, should that be set to north american general or pre-press instead?

Post #11, Dec 25, 2010 17:40:03




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
denise69
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

ok, i have switched my color space on my camera to sRGB as well.
:)

Post #12, Dec 25, 2010 17:43:15




LOG IN TO REPLY
denise69
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

So, i have a couple sessions on my computer that will still have the RGB settings from my camera,
I will have to manually change each one to sRGB desitnation correct?

Post #13, Dec 25, 2010 17:54:56




LOG IN TO REPLY
denise69
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined May 2010
273 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

One last question, is there a way to batch process those sessions to have their destination as sRBG? or do in need to adjust manually everyone?
THANKS!!!!!!!! for all the help!! it has been very much appreciated!

Post #14, Dec 25, 2010 17:58:44




LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

What I would do is first uncheck the assign profile option -- that can mess you up if you don't know what you are dealing wil. Check the Convert to working profile and if you want check the option to be alerted so you get a heads up.

So, yes, the RGB working space should be sRGB. If you have the Convert to working profile checked, like I said it should automatically convert the files that are currently in aRGB when you open them. You can check by using the Convert to Profile menu function -- it should tell you what the "source" color space is and if it's not in sRGB then go ahead and convert it, but it should be sRGB if you set the convert option in your color preferences.

Post #15, Dec 25, 2010 18:03:12


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
3,170 views & 0 likes for this thread
Color difference-processed on computer vs. walmart/walgreens prints
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00068 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
764 guests, 699 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is MoMoPhoto32250

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.