Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th of January 2011 (Thu)   #1
Mary G Photo
Junior Member
 
Mary G Photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Default Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Hoping someone can help me with this. I have been shooting in my studio with my Canon 5D Mark II. I have a on camera flash and 3 studio strobes. Im using 24-135mm lense, Radio Triggers and a white backdrop. It seems no matter what my settings are, I have BLOW OUT. Causing all my image to look blown out on the screen. I have tried new lenses and settings, and this never seems to help.

If I changed my radio triggers for a diffent frenqincy, do you think this would help. Please let me know
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II & Two Canon 50D.
Canon 70-200IS L 2.8, Canon 24-70 L 2.8
Speedlite 530EX & 480 EX
Mary G Photo is offline  
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of January 2011 (Thu)   #2
paradiddleluke
Goldmember
 
paradiddleluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,588
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

an example picture with exif in-tact would make it a lot easier to assist you
__________________
Website | Gear | Flickr | Blog | 500px | Youtube | Facebook

- Luke S -
paradiddleluke is offline  
Old 6th of January 2011 (Thu)   #3
FJ LOVE
Cream of the Crop
 
FJ LOVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: barrie ont. ca
Posts: 20,295
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

take the flash off your camera and just use your strobes, your flash is probably doing it, also turn down the strobes, try a higher aperature and make sure your in manual with a shutter speed of around 125, also check your using ISO 100 not 1600 or something
FJ LOVE is offline  
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of January 2011 (Thu)   #4
Sam_M
Member
 
Sam_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 518
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Need example with EXIF, what strobes, distance to subject, modifiers used, method of triggering, etc.
Sam_M is offline  
Old 6th of January 2011 (Thu)   #5
Roy_W
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Geneva
Posts: 126
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Couple of things come to mind,

Do you have a light meter, if so what are it's readings, have you measured the BG on it's own.
What ratio are you using between the backlights and the main lights ?
Which fstop are you working with ?
Why do you have on Camera flash - when you already have strobes. I am pretty sure that the on camera flash will definately be increasing the BG light?
How are your main lights orientated, do they also spill light onto the background ?
How are you lighting the BG, open strobes or with dishes/reflectors/modifiers ?

Cheers
__________________
5D MK11, 24-105L f/4, 135L f/2, 70-200L f/2.8 IS MKII
http://www.macraw.com
Roy_W is offline  
Old 6th of January 2011 (Thu)   #6
drdiesel1
Goldmember
 
drdiesel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3,369
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

What mode are you shooting in ?
__________________

drdiesel1 is offline  
Old 6th of January 2011 (Thu)   #7
Benji
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North east Indiana
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

When using studio strobes you must shoot in manual and you really should have a hand held light meter so you can adjust each light individually. The in camera meter is worthless for studio flash units, and the histogram is also nearly worthless for judging the correct exposure on the subject unless you are shooting them on an 18% gray background.

Benji
Benji is offline  
Old 6th of January 2011 (Thu)   #8
Mary G Photo
Junior Member
 
Mary G Photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

I have be shooting with my Canon 580 Ex 2 and strobes. I have them all tethered together by a radio trigger. I have a hard time lighting my subjects 100% with Strobes (3 Opus H150 Strobes with Modeling Light), so I have been using flash also.

I just got a light meter, and I am trying to figure it all out so far. I usually shoot in Program Mode, and I am learning Manual everyday. I will try to post a photo tomorrow, to show you what the blow out looks like. Its very random when it comes up. Thanks for all the imput.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II & Two Canon 50D.
Canon 70-200IS L 2.8, Canon 24-70 L 2.8
Speedlite 530EX & 480 EX
Mary G Photo is offline  
Old 7th of January 2011 (Fri)   #9
Dream Merchant
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 425
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary G Photo View Post
I have be shooting with my Canon 580 Ex 2 and strobes. I have them all tethered together by a radio trigger. I have a hard time lighting my subjects 100% with Strobes (3 Opus H150 Strobes with Modeling Light), so I have been using flash also.

I just got a light meter, and I am trying to figure it all out so far. I usually shoot in Program Mode, and I am learning Manual everyday. I will try to post a photo tomorrow, to show you what the blow out looks like. Its very random when it comes up. Thanks for all the imput.
I suspect that's the main problem.

Unless you're using say 4 or 5 580s, when you mix an ETTL enabled unit with manually controlled units, anything can happen, exposure wise.

Set everything to MANUAL, including all the flash units, and set your aperture to what you need, and a manual speed of anything from 1/60 - 1/250. Doesn't really matter as the flash duration determines the 'shutter speed' so to speak ... unless you want motion blur, then you'll need to increase the ambient light(s) and set a slower shutter speed.

BTW, if you're mixing ambient with flash, and/or using CC or SFX gels, set your camera's WB to a custom dialed in amount.
__________________
Editing welcome
Dream Merchant is offline  
Old 7th of January 2011 (Fri)   #10
drdiesel1
Goldmember
 
drdiesel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3,369
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary G Photo View Post

I usually shoot in Program Mode. Its very random when it comes up. Thanks for all the imput.

Shooting in Program mode is the first problem. The second will be using the speedlite in ETTL mode.
It needs to be set to manual mode, just like the strobes are.

I would suggest removing the the speedlite and just use 1 strobe until you get use to working with it. Then you could add additional lighting later
__________________


Last edited by drdiesel1 : 7th of January 2011 (Fri) at 01:49.
drdiesel1 is offline  
Old 7th of January 2011 (Fri)   #11
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
Posts: 10,182
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary G Photo View Post
It seems no matter what my settings are, I have BLOW OUT. Causing all my image to look blown out on the screen. I have tried new lenses and settings, and this never seems to help.
Have you tried f/22? I'm sure it won't be blown out at f/22 Have you tried lowering your ISO, reducing the power of the strobes? If you are shooting in P, I can't figure out what settings you were changing. I'm willing to bet your shooting in P coupled with not knowing the basics of flash/strobe photography are causing your blowouts, and NOT your radio triggers.
egordon99 is offline  
Old 7th of January 2011 (Fri)   #12
drdiesel1
Goldmember
 
drdiesel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3,369
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by egordon99 View Post
Have you tried f/22? I'm sure it won't be blown out at f/22 Have you tried lowering your ISO, reducing the power of the strobes? If you are shooting in P, I can't figure out what settings you were changing. I'm willing to bet your shooting in P coupled with not knowing the basics of flash/strobe photography are causing your blowouts, and NOT your radio triggers.

If she's using P mode, it's semi automatic and the camera is only calibrating EV based on the cameras meter using ETTL with the speedlight.
Adding in the strobes will fool the cameras ability to control EV.

She need's to remove the speedlite and work with the strobes.

I would start with setting the camera to 1/125th at F11 and ISO at 100.
Set the strobes to 1/4 power and take a test shot.

You have a LM, so set it for 1/125th at ISO 100 and see what it gives you for an aperture reading.
__________________

drdiesel1 is offline  
Old 7th of January 2011 (Fri)   #13
Wilt
Cream of the Crop
 
Wilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 33,044
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Mary G Photo,
Your camera meter would NEVER EVER meter studio flash...it shows only the proper exposure assuming only the ambient light is used to make the photo!

Please, stop portraying yourself as a professional if such a fundamental understanding of camera functionality is over your head.
__________________
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention
Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.php
Wilt is offline  
Old 7th of January 2011 (Fri)   #14
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 16,239
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

I think we should cut some slack to her being the newcomer to this forum. I was a bit harsh in my earlier post which got some how deleted, I am sorry.
__________________
5dmk3, 6d, Sigma Art 35mm f1.4, 35L, 85mm f1.4, 85L II, 24-70mm f2.8 II, 70-200mm f2.8 IS II
bobbyz is offline  
Old 8th of January 2011 (Sat)   #15
Mary G Photo
Junior Member
 
Mary G Photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: Blow Out, using Canon 5D Mark II in Studio

Thank you to everybody for the positive feedback, and ideas I can try. My shooting space is very dark and I was having a difficult time lighting my subjects with just the strobes, since they are only 150w and 250 w. I will try some differnt settings with out my flash and go from there.

Wilt, Negativity will get you no where is life... and calling me Unprofessional and you dont know me at all. I will disregard your negative comment.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II & Two Canon 50D.
Canon 70-200IS L 2.8, Canon 24-70 L 2.8
Speedlite 530EX & 480 EX
Mary G Photo is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1d mark iii + studio Wild Style Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 20th of December 2009 (Sun) 05:46
Canon Red Channel Blow-Out convergent Canon EOS Digital Cameras 5 7th of September 2006 (Thu) 11:05
Canon Lens Caps BLOW lost Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 42 18th of March 2006 (Sat) 00:06


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.