LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Aspect ratio for stills on Canon 5D Mark II

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 10 Feb 2011 (Thursday) 11:45   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
kpshulman
Hatchling
Joined Feb 2011
2 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have a client that would like her photos delivered 2560X2048 (5:4 aspect ratio). Is there a way I can change the aspect ratio of my 5DII or must I crop in post? Thanks

Post #1, Feb 10, 2011 11:45:53




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Andy ­ R
Goldmember
Andy R's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,213 posts
Nor Cal
[MORE/SHARE]

you have to crop

Post #2, Feb 10, 2011 11:51:08


5D
20mm f/1.8 > 17-40mm f/4 > 24-105mm f/4 > 28-75mm f/2.8 > 135mm f/2.5

LOG IN TO REPLY
TTk
Goldmember
TTk's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
2,518 posts
Langtoft. England.
[MORE/SHARE]

99% sure the 5DII has a aspect ratio of 3.2, so crop I would have thourght.

Post #3, Feb 10, 2011 11:52:49


Terry.:cool:
http://www.terrykirton.co/external link
http://www.ttkphotogra​phy.com/external link
http://www.langtoftpho​tography.com/external link


external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
jwcdds's Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
12,154 posts
Santa Monica, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

Yeah, crop in post. Many programs will allow you to do so but it's ridiculously easy with programs like Lightroom. Select the crop tool, select the ratio (or customize your own preferred ratio) and voila... the crop box is available and you just slide, move, rotate, yadda yadda and final output will have the correct ratio.

Post #4, Feb 10, 2011 13:57:55


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMugexternal link | Blogexternal link
My Review | "The Mighty One"external link
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Yeah, even the 1D bodies that show Aspect Ratio "guidelines" are only for framing a shot -- they won't crop the captured image.

Post #5, Feb 10, 2011 14:01:58


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
NinetyEight
"Banned for life"
NinetyEight's Avatar
Joined Sep 2008
3,070 posts
Bath - England
[MORE/SHARE]

You'll need a Nik*n D3 to get 5:4 aspect images direct out of the camera.

Post #6, Feb 11, 2011 12:54:12


Kev

LOG IN TO REPLY
madberry
Member
madberry's Avatar
Joined Sep 2008
83 posts
California At the Moment
[MORE/SHARE]

I'd like t add that this is also an easy task in Digikam's Image Editor.

Post #7, Feb 11, 2011 13:50:59 as a reply to NinetyEight's post 56 minutes earlier.


--[mad]Berry--
MBSnap.com(buy prints)external link | flickrexternal link | facebookexternal link | twitterexternal link | Ebay Feedbackexternal link
Gear: 20D, 50D Σ30 f1.4, Σ24-70 f2.8, Σ70-200 f2.8, Σ120-400 f4.5-5.6

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
10,703 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

Even Digital Photo Professional can do that, and even easier, if the aspect ratio has been set in the camera.

Post #8, Feb 11, 2011 15:21:09 as a reply to madberry's post 1 hour earlier.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
Joined Aug 2007
10,048 posts
San Jose, California
[MORE/SHARE]

Yep, you'll have to crop the images. It's super easy to do with Lightroom, too.

There are interchangeable focus screens available for 5DII that show the different aspect ratios. I think they are only sold in a set and are pretty pricey. But the focus screen merely helps you with framing the image.... I.e., the image itself will still need to be cropped.

Post #9, Feb 11, 2011 15:51:07


Alan Myers
"Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7D(x2), 50D(x3) & other cameras, various lenses/access. - FLICKRexternal link - PRINTROOMexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sorarse
Goldmember
Sorarse's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
2,193 posts
Kent, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

Just don't forget to shoot a littel looser to allow yourself room for the crop. You don't want to cut anything important off the final image.

Post #10, Feb 11, 2011 16:04:57


At the beginning of time there was absolutely nothing. And then it exploded! Terry Pratchett

http://www.scarecrowim​ages.comexternal link
Canon PowerShot G2

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
8,153 views & 0 likes for this thread
Aspect ratio for stills on Canon 5D Mark II
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00273 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
1065 guests, 806 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is dustinkn0ws

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.