Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 10 Feb 2011 (Thursday) 23:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7D Mirror lock problem

 
BobinClovis
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 10, 2011 23:57 |  #1

Are there any known issues with the 7D's mirror lock? Mine suddenly quit working.

I went back to the Menu to made sure it was still enabled, which it was. Still didn't work. I disabled it and of course it wasn't working and then re-enabled it. Still not working. I changed lenses with the same results and turned the camera off and on with no change.

Any hints or secrets or am I just out of luck.

Thanks in advance.

Bob




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
M.Quick
Senior Member
Avatar
441 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Europe
     
Feb 11, 2011 04:37 |  #2

Try removing the battery(s) out of the camera, now turn the camera on (to drain any power left in the device) and then shut it off. Put the battery(s) back in and see if that helps.
Otherwise i would look at updating the firmware (if you don't already have the latest) and see if that helps.
How does the camera work otherwise with different shutter speeds?


My "cheap" pro-setup;
Canon EOS 450D | Canon 50mm f1.8 II | Canon EF 70-200L f2.8 IS USM | YN-468 v2
8GB SDHC Class10 | BG-E5 + 4xLP-E5 | RC-4 | Canon E1 | Lowepro Exchange Messenger bag

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jens
Junior Member
29 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Ulsteinvik, Norway
     
Feb 11, 2011 05:37 as a reply to  @ M.Quick's post |  #3

Do you have the flash activated, or an external flash or something else sitting in your flash hotshoe? I seem to remember reading somewhere that this will disable mirror lockup for some reason.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,213 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 213
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Feb 11, 2011 06:21 as a reply to  @ Jens's post |  #4

Not knowing your experience level, in single shot mode two presses of the shutter button are required, one to lock up the mirror, the second to release the shutter. If using the self-timer, only one press of the shutter is needed.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
They have pills for that now you know.
Avatar
53,988 posts
Likes: 1550
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Feb 11, 2011 06:35 |  #5

There is not enough info to make offer anything more than general help. A little more info would help. What is it doing exactly? You have MLU turned on and press the shutter button.. then what happens. Do you hear a click?


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BobinClovis
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 11, 2011 08:50 |  #6

I have been taking images of coins for collectors for 3-4 years. I use 100 and 180mm macro lenses.

I have the camera powered up via an AC power adapter and use a remote to trigger the shutter. I enable the mirror lock through the menu C.Fn III-13: Mirror Lockup > Enabled. This has worked without a problem for the past month. Different shutter speeds work perfectly, both before and after the current problem.

When Mirror Lockup is enabled there normally is the click, a delay of a couple of seconds and then the shutter is activated. When I went back to work after a break, the shutter activated immediately, not with the usual delay. Since I am not using batteries (Canon ACK-E6AC Adapter Kit) there is no battery to take out and discharge. I will take the coupler out and then back in to see if this resets it.

I am not using either the built in flash or any external. With the exception of the mirror lock not working, everything else is working normally. I haven't applied the latest firmware yet, but only because it seems to be a fix for flash issues.

Thank you for your comments. They are much appreciated.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
They have pills for that now you know.
Avatar
53,988 posts
Likes: 1550
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Feb 11, 2011 08:54 |  #7

BobinClovis wrote in post #11821837 (external link)
...
There normally is the click, a delay of a couple of seconds and then the shutter is activated. When I went back to work after a break, the shutter activated immediately. ....

It sounds as if the timer has been canceled. As mentioned earlier, MLU with the timer set to either 2 or 10 seconds will automatically trigger the shutter. Without the timer set, the sutter button needs to be pressed twice, once activating the MLU and the second to activate the shutter. You might check to see if that somehow got reset.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,783 posts
Likes: 193
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Feb 11, 2011 08:55 as a reply to  @ BobinClovis's post |  #8

The self timer is still active, when this happens?

Beaten by a few seconds...


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BobinClovis
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 11, 2011 09:17 |  #9

Duhhh!!

I don't know how or why, but I must have hit the wrong control somewhere.

Thank you JJ and Anders. Self timer was the culprit. After resetting it, mirror lockup works. You guys are Aces. I'm sure given more time I would be thanking more than the two I mentioned.

Thanks again. Back in business.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,783 posts
Likes: 193
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Feb 11, 2011 09:30 as a reply to  @ BobinClovis's post |  #10

It works without the self timer too. You just have to press the button twice.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BobinClovis
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 11, 2011 09:39 |  #11

apersson850 wrote in post #11822067 (external link)
It works without the self timer too. You just have to press the button twice.

I didn't know that till now. I'll know what to do next time, but I do like one press better.;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
Avatar
4,370 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
     
Feb 11, 2011 09:48 |  #12

Can I ask why you prefer MU to live view ? AF under live view is more accurate.


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BobinClovis
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 11, 2011 11:52 |  #13

lannes wrote in post #11822184 (external link)
Can I ask why you prefer MU to live view ? AF under live view is more accurate.

I don't think live view plays nice with my operating system. I can see live view, but it won't let me control any of the functions such as focus. I'm using Mac OSX 10.4. I think if I upgraded to 10.5 or had a newer machine it would work properly.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,783 posts
Likes: 193
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Feb 11, 2011 14:11 as a reply to  @ BobinClovis's post |  #14

Controlling focus and such remotely, in live view, works fine for me. But then I use the old Windows XP, to run EOS Utility.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,213 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 213
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Feb 11, 2011 18:31 |  #15

BobinClovis wrote in post #11821991 (external link)
Duhhh!!

Ah, CC. Camera Confusion. These machines are too darn complicated. If you have the time and would like a few laughs (at others' expense :)):

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=456878




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,856 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Mirror lock problem
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Angester
673 guests, 266 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.