Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th of February 2011 (Thu)   #1
BobinClovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default 7D Mirror lock problem - SOLVED - Thank You

Are there any known issues with the 7D's mirror lock? Mine suddenly quit working.

I went back to the Menu to made sure it was still enabled, which it was. Still didn't work. I disabled it and of course it wasn't working and then re-enabled it. Still not working. I changed lenses with the same results and turned the camera off and on with no change.

Any hints or secrets or am I just out of luck.

Thanks in advance.

Bob

Last edited by BobinClovis : 11th of February 2011 (Fri) at 09:46.
BobinClovis is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #2
M.Quick
Member
 
M.Quick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Europe
Posts: 441
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Try removing the battery(s) out of the camera, now turn the camera on (to drain any power left in the device) and then shut it off. Put the battery(s) back in and see if that helps.
Otherwise i would look at updating the firmware (if you don't already have the latest) and see if that helps.
How does the camera work otherwise with different shutter speeds?
__________________
My "cheap" pro-setup;
Canon EOS 450D | Canon 50mm f1.8 II | Canon EF 70-200L f2.8 IS USM | YN-468 v2
8GB SDHC Class10 | BG-E5 + 4xLP-E5 | RC-4 | Canon E1 | Lowepro Exchange Messenger bag
M.Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #3
Jens
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ulsteinvik, Norway
Posts: 29
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Do you have the flash activated, or an external flash or something else sitting in your flash hotshoe? I seem to remember reading somewhere that this will disable mirror lockup for some reason.
Jens is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #4
oldvultureface
Goldmember
 
oldvultureface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,879
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Not knowing your experience level, in single shot mode two presses of the shutter button are required, one to lock up the mirror, the second to release the shutter. If using the self-timer, only one press of the shutter is needed.
oldvultureface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #5
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
 
gjl711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
Posts: 47,946
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

There is not enough info to make offer anything more than general help. A little more info would help. What is it doing exactly? You have MLU turned on and press the shutter button.. then what happens. Do you hear a click?
__________________
Not sure why, but call me JJ.

I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::
::Gear::
gjl711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #6
BobinClovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

I have been taking images of coins for collectors for 3-4 years. I use 100 and 180mm macro lenses.

I have the camera powered up via an AC power adapter and use a remote to trigger the shutter. I enable the mirror lock through the menu C.Fn III-13: Mirror Lockup > Enabled. This has worked without a problem for the past month. Different shutter speeds work perfectly, both before and after the current problem.

When Mirror Lockup is enabled there normally is the click, a delay of a couple of seconds and then the shutter is activated. When I went back to work after a break, the shutter activated immediately, not with the usual delay. Since I am not using batteries (Canon ACK-E6AC Adapter Kit) there is no battery to take out and discharge. I will take the coupler out and then back in to see if this resets it.

I am not using either the built in flash or any external. With the exception of the mirror lock not working, everything else is working normally. I haven't applied the latest firmware yet, but only because it seems to be a fix for flash issues.

Thank you for your comments. They are much appreciated.

Last edited by BobinClovis : 11th of February 2011 (Fri) at 08:53.
BobinClovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #7
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
 
gjl711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
Posts: 47,946
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobinClovis View Post
...
There normally is the click, a delay of a couple of seconds and then the shutter is activated. When I went back to work after a break, the shutter activated immediately. ....
It sounds as if the timer has been canceled. As mentioned earlier, MLU with the timer set to either 2 or 10 seconds will automatically trigger the shutter. Without the timer set, the sutter button needs to be pressed twice, once activating the MLU and the second to activate the shutter. You might check to see if that somehow got reset.
__________________
Not sure why, but call me JJ.

I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::
::Gear::
gjl711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #8
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,527
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

The self timer is still active, when this happens?

Beaten by a few seconds...
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #9
BobinClovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Duhhh!!

I don't know how or why, but I must have hit the wrong control somewhere.

Thank you JJ and Anders. Self timer was the culprit. After resetting it, mirror lockup works. You guys are Aces. I'm sure given more time I would be thanking more than the two I mentioned.

Thanks again. Back in business.
BobinClovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #10
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,527
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

It works without the self timer too. You just have to press the button twice.
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #11
BobinClovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by apersson850 View Post
It works without the self timer too. You just have to press the button twice.
I didn't know that till now. I'll know what to do next time, but I do like one press better.
BobinClovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #12
lannes
Goldmember
 
lannes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 4,374
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Can I ask why you prefer MU to live view ? AF under live view is more accurate.
__________________
1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6
lannes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #13
BobinClovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by lannes View Post
Can I ask why you prefer MU to live view ? AF under live view is more accurate.
I don't think live view plays nice with my operating system. I can see live view, but it won't let me control any of the functions such as focus. I'm using Mac OSX 10.4. I think if I upgraded to 10.5 or had a newer machine it would work properly.
BobinClovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #14
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,527
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Controlling focus and such remotely, in live view, works fine for me. But then I use the old Windows XP, to run EOS Utility.
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of February 2011 (Fri)   #15
oldvultureface
Goldmember
 
oldvultureface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,879
Default Re: 7D Mirror lock problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobinClovis View Post
Duhhh!!
Ah, CC. Camera Confusion. These machines are too darn complicated. If you have the time and would like a few laughs (at others' expense ):

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=456878
oldvultureface is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mirror-Lock Up Problem... leblancfoto Canon EOS Digital Cameras 1 13th of August 2009 (Thu) 06:09
5D2 mirror lock-up sagebrush Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 22nd of April 2009 (Wed) 10:57
Mirror Lock-Up Problem jr_senator Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 11th of July 2008 (Fri) 08:13
Mirror lock what is it? and what does it do? DerekRob General Photography Talk 11 20th of August 2007 (Mon) 13:25
Mirror Lock Rodreguez General Photography Talk 31 12th of April 2007 (Thu) 11:05


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.