LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


7D Mirror lock problem

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 10 Feb 2011 (Thursday) 23:57   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
BobinClovis
Hatchling
Joined Feb 2011
5 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Are there any known issues with the 7D's mirror lock? Mine suddenly quit working.

I went back to the Menu to made sure it was still enabled, which it was. Still didn't work. I disabled it and of course it wasn't working and then re-enabled it. Still not working. I changed lenses with the same results and turned the camera off and on with no change.

Any hints or secrets or am I just out of luck.

Thanks in advance.

Bob

Post #1, Feb 10, 2011 23:57:35




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
M.Quick
Senior Member
M.Quick's Avatar
Joined Jan 2011
441 posts
Europe
[MORE/SHARE]

Try removing the battery(s) out of the camera, now turn the camera on (to drain any power left in the device) and then shut it off. Put the battery(s) back in and see if that helps.
Otherwise i would look at updating the firmware (if you don't already have the latest) and see if that helps.
How does the camera work otherwise with different shutter speeds?

Post #2, Feb 11, 2011 04:37:42


My "cheap" pro-setup;
Canon EOS 450D | Canon 50mm f1.8 II | Canon EF 70-200L f2.8 IS USM | YN-468 v2
8GB SDHC Class10 | BG-E5 + 4xLP-E5 | RC-4 | Canon E1 | Lowepro Exchange Messenger bag

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jens
Junior Member
Joined Sep 2005
29 posts
Ulsteinvik, Norway
[MORE/SHARE]

Do you have the flash activated, or an external flash or something else sitting in your flash hotshoe? I seem to remember reading somewhere that this will disable mirror lockup for some reason.

Post #3, Feb 11, 2011 05:37:01 as a reply to M.Quick's post 59 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
oldvultureface's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
3,933 posts
Northwest Indiana
[MORE/SHARE]

Not knowing your experience level, in single shot mode two presses of the shutter button are required, one to lock up the mirror, the second to release the shutter. If using the self-timer, only one press of the shutter is needed.

Post #4, Feb 11, 2011 06:21:28 as a reply to Jens's post 44 minutes earlier.


OVF

LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
gjl711's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
48,201 posts
Deep in the heart of Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

There is not enough info to make offer anything more than general help. A little more info would help. What is it doing exactly? You have MLU turned on and press the shutter button.. then what happens. Do you hear a click?

Post #5, Feb 11, 2011 06:35:40


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::external link
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
BobinClovis
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Feb 2011
5 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have been taking images of coins for collectors for 3-4 years. I use 100 and 180mm macro lenses.

I have the camera powered up via an AC power adapter and use a remote to trigger the shutter. I enable the mirror lock through the menu C.Fn III-13: Mirror Lockup > Enabled. This has worked without a problem for the past month. Different shutter speeds work perfectly, both before and after the current problem.

When Mirror Lockup is enabled there normally is the click, a delay of a couple of seconds and then the shutter is activated. When I went back to work after a break, the shutter activated immediately, not with the usual delay. Since I am not using batteries (Canon ACK-E6AC Adapter Kit) there is no battery to take out and discharge. I will take the coupler out and then back in to see if this resets it.

I am not using either the built in flash or any external. With the exception of the mirror lock not working, everything else is working normally. I haven't applied the latest firmware yet, but only because it seems to be a fix for flash issues.

Thank you for your comments. They are much appreciated.

Post #6, Feb 11, 2011 08:50:51




LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
gjl711's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
48,201 posts
Deep in the heart of Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

BobinClovis wrote in post #11821837external link
...
There normally is the click, a delay of a couple of seconds and then the shutter is activated. When I went back to work after a break, the shutter activated immediately. ....

It sounds as if the timer has been canceled. As mentioned earlier, MLU with the timer set to either 2 or 10 seconds will automatically trigger the shutter. Without the timer set, the sutter button needs to be pressed twice, once activating the MLU and the second to activate the shutter. You might check to see if that somehow got reset.

Post #7, Feb 11, 2011 08:54:36


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::external link
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
10,711 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

The self timer is still active, when this happens?

Beaten by a few seconds...

Post #8, Feb 11, 2011 08:55:08 as a reply to BobinClovis's post 4 minutes earlier.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
BobinClovis
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Feb 2011
5 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Duhhh!!

I don't know how or why, but I must have hit the wrong control somewhere.

Thank you JJ and Anders. Self timer was the culprit. After resetting it, mirror lockup works. You guys are Aces. I'm sure given more time I would be thanking more than the two I mentioned.

Thanks again. Back in business.

Post #9, Feb 11, 2011 09:17:45




LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
10,711 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

It works without the self timer too. You just have to press the button twice.

Post #10, Feb 11, 2011 09:30:31 as a reply to BobinClovis's post 12 minutes earlier.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
BobinClovis
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Feb 2011
5 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

apersson850 wrote in post #11822067external link
It works without the self timer too. You just have to press the button twice.

I didn't know that till now. I'll know what to do next time, but I do like one press better.;)

Post #11, Feb 11, 2011 09:39:14




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
lannes
Goldmember
lannes's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
4,374 posts
Perth, Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

Can I ask why you prefer MU to live view ? AF under live view is more accurate.

Post #12, Feb 11, 2011 09:48:11


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

LOG IN TO REPLY
BobinClovis
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Feb 2011
5 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

lannes wrote in post #11822184external link
Can I ask why you prefer MU to live view ? AF under live view is more accurate.

I don't think live view plays nice with my operating system. I can see live view, but it won't let me control any of the functions such as focus. I'm using Mac OSX 10.4. I think if I upgraded to 10.5 or had a newer machine it would work properly.

Post #13, Feb 11, 2011 11:52:26




LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
10,711 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

Controlling focus and such remotely, in live view, works fine for me. But then I use the old Windows XP, to run EOS Utility.

Post #14, Feb 11, 2011 14:11:37 as a reply to BobinClovis's post 2 hours earlier.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
oldvultureface's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
3,933 posts
Northwest Indiana
[MORE/SHARE]

BobinClovis wrote in post #11821991external link
Duhhh!!

Ah, CC. Camera Confusion. These machines are too darn complicated. If you have the time and would like a few laughs (at others' expense :)):

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=456878

Post #15, Feb 11, 2011 18:31:29


OVF

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
2,442 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Mirror lock problem
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00072 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
779 guests, 524 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is diegovanetti

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.