Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 18 Apr 2010 (Sunday) 22:48
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 50D -manual mode- aperture won't adjust

 
Architective
Member
183 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2009
     
Apr 18, 2010 22:48 |  #1

The past week or so, when i've selected manual mode, I'm able to adjust my shutter speed but I can't seem to adjust my aperture how I normally would (turn the dial on the back). Any ideas on how to fix this? It's driving me crazy...
Thanks!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
That_Fox
"In the Witless Protection Program"
Avatar
1,386 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Southern California
     
Apr 18, 2010 22:50 |  #2

Is the on button in the right position?


Apparently I've been dubbed Foxy.
Alamy (external link), website (external link) and gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tehphil
Member
103 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Anaheim, CA
     
Apr 18, 2010 22:52 |  #3

On button needs to be all the way on...


-Phil
Canon 50D | Canon 5D2 | 17-40L | 24-70L | 70-200 F/4L IS | 480EX | YN-460 x2 | Cactus V2 Poverty Wizards :D | BlackRapid R-4 Strap

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Architective
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
183 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2009
     
Apr 19, 2010 08:13 |  #4

50D - Manual Mode - Aperture won't adjust

I've been having a problem in the last week or so. When I use Manual mode, I am only able to adjust my shutter speed and not my aperture. I would normally be able to adjust it by turning the knob on the back of the camera, but now nothing is changing when I try and adjust. It's set at 9.5 and will not change. When I switch to Av mode, it adjusts just fine.

Anybody know what might be going on? It's driving me crazy.

Thanks!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
backblast
Senior Member
319 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: USA
     
Apr 19, 2010 08:27 as a reply to  @ Architective's post |  #5

Do you have the 'on' switch all the way up to the line above the word 'on'?


1Ds MkIII - 1D MkIII & several lenses with red rings.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jenxin
Member
47 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Apr 19, 2010 08:28 as a reply to  @ Architective's post |  #6

make sure the power switch is full turned to the line and not just ON?
EDIT:
dang you got it first ha




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kayl
Senior Member
Avatar
411 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 47
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
     
Apr 19, 2010 08:28 |  #7

backblast wrote in post #10022906 (external link)
Do you have the 'on' switch all the way up to the line above the word 'on'?

+1
I've done that on my dad's 40d and it drove me crazy for a few minutes. :)


Rocking the 6d2 and SL2 and (mostly) the 24-105 f4 L, 50mm f1.8 STM, and 135mm f2 L along with a few others.
All of my Gear
Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Architective
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
183 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2009
     
Apr 19, 2010 08:38 as a reply to  @ kayl's post |  #8

That fixed it. That's a dumb feature, ha. Thanks for the help guys...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Apr 19, 2010 08:51 |  #9

Its not a "dumb feature" at all. Rather, is a safeguard so you don't accidentally change apertures.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
crashthenet44
Senior Member
Avatar
514 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Rails of the Lehigh Valley Line and Trenton Sub
     
Apr 19, 2010 08:55 |  #10

Definitely not a dumb feature.


FLICKR (external link)
http://blogspot.vision​sfromphilly.com (external link)

50D | OM-2n | OM-4T | Hasselblad 500C/M | Yashica GSN | Yashica A | NO2. Brownie Model F

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tiger ­ roach
Senior Member
Avatar
340 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Houston, Texas USA
     
Apr 19, 2010 08:57 |  #11

I could live without that two-position ON switch to be honest.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
10,247 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
     
Apr 19, 2010 11:48 |  #12

PixelMagic wrote in post #10023023 (external link)
Its not a "dumb feature" at all. Rather, is a safeguard so you don't accidentally change apertures.

Or EC when in Av/Tv ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
itzcryptic
Goldmember
1,174 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati
     
Apr 19, 2010 11:58 |  #13

crashthenet44 wrote in post #10023038 (external link)
Definitely not a dumb feature.

Then the design is dumb. I couldn't figure out what it did either after reading the manual because the wheel worked fine when reviewing my pics or for menu navigation.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigBlueDodge
Goldmember
Avatar
3,726 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: Lonestar State
     
Apr 19, 2010 14:28 |  #14

Is it just me, or did the OP completely ignore the first two responses and just ask the same questio again, after he was already how to fix it? The first two responses with the correct answer were made pretty much right after he made the original post. Then, 9 hours later, after the first two posts he asks the same question again (ignoring the first couple of responses). Then 3 more people tell him the same thing that the first to responses told him, and THEN he gets it.


David (aka BigBlueDodge)
Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mabviper
Member
54 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
     
Apr 19, 2010 14:32 |  #15

BigBlueDodge wrote in post #10025062 (external link)
Is it just me, or did the OP completely ignore the first two responses and just ask the same questio again, after he was already how to fix it? The first two responses with the correct answer were made pretty much right after he made the original post. Then, 9 hours later, after the first two posts he asks the same question again (ignoring the first couple of responses). Then 3 more people tell him the same thing that the first to responses told him, and THEN he gets it.

...does it matter?


7D | 15-85mm IS | 30mm f/1.4 | 50mm f/1.8 | 85mm f/1.8 | 580EX II | 430EX II | YN-560

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

10,362 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 50D -manual mode- aperture won't adjust
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is reservengineer
950 guests, 332 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.