Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 03 May 2010 (Monday) 11:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Open in CS5 - CS4 - Driving me nuts!

 
taygull
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
May 03, 2010 11:25 |  #1

It is driving me nuts that the images open in a single window with tabs!!! I can't seem to find out how to change this. I want the images to open in their own window as it makes it easier to drag them into a new layer.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
TTk
Goldmember
Avatar
2,518 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Langtoft. England.
     
May 03, 2010 11:33 |  #2

Go to in CS4/CS5,
Edit
Preferences
Interface
Enable floating document window docking..:D


Terry.:cool:
http://www.terrykirton.co/ (external link)
http://www.ttkphotogra​phy.com/ (external link)
http://www.langtoftpho​tography.com/ (external link)

 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
May 03, 2010 11:55 |  #3

OK..it was the "tabs" check box! Just didn't see it before!

Thanks!


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ssim
POTN Landscape & Cityscape Photographer 2005
Avatar
10,884 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Apr 2003
Location: southern Alberta, Canada
     
May 03, 2010 11:55 as a reply to  @ TTk's post |  #4

It is a matter of personal preference but I have really taken a liking to the tabs. If you want to copy a layer to another image in all of those tabs all you have to do is being on your source image and the layer you want to copy. Having the Move tool selected drag from your image (not from the layers panel but in the image itself) and then hover your cursor over the tab you wish to copy to. Once this image opens on your screen let go of your mouse. If you select shift before letting go of your mouse, it will center the new layer on the target image.

I found it awkward at the beginning when they introduced this in CS4 but became a convert after using it for awhile.


My life is like one big RAW file....way too much post processing needed.
Sheldon Simpson | My Gallery (external link) | My Gear updated: 20JUL12

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hawkeye60
Goldmember
Avatar
2,079 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
     
May 03, 2010 11:58 |  #5

In CS5, in the top tool bar- float all windows:


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


It's a lens not a lense!
The truest test of character is what you do when you think no one is looking.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
May 04, 2010 04:38 |  #6

ssim wrote in post #10112788 (external link)
I found it awkward at the beginning when they introduced this in CS4 but became a convert after using it for awhile.

QFT.
Takes a bit of time to get used to, but it works.

You can (just like a web browser) also drag the tabs into a new order, or drag them into a separate window BTW.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
May 04, 2010 16:26 |  #7

I just don't see the need to have them in tabs? Maybe I'm missing something but how does it make it easier to drag one onto another when working with layers?

Typically I'll have one image open but may have various textures, album pages, sloppy borders, etc...


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
May 06, 2010 08:46 |  #8

It gives a cleaner interface IMO.
And it's easier to switch between certain images.

Then again, it's a personal preference thing ;)


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ssim
POTN Landscape & Cityscape Photographer 2005
Avatar
10,884 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Apr 2003
Location: southern Alberta, Canada
     
May 06, 2010 09:27 as a reply to  @ René Damkot's post |  #9

I agree with Rene on all points.

I already said in an earlier post that it is a personal thing and it really is. So many come on here and try to convince others (not this thread) that their workflow is the right one when the right one is the one that that the end user feels comfortable with and gets the job done.

I have found myself hating the floating windows, one is hidden behind another and then you have to resort to the drop down to select the right file. Perhaps I just wasn't organized enough on my workspace or had too many files open but I find the tabs great to work with. I'm not saying it is not without its trials and tribulations in the learning process but it certainly has improved my workflow and that is all that matters now.


My life is like one big RAW file....way too much post processing needed.
Sheldon Simpson | My Gallery (external link) | My Gear updated: 20JUL12

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
May 06, 2010 13:41 |  #10

I agree Sheldon, I always like the idea of a better workflow. I know mine is not very good.

So with that said if you use the tabs what is the best way to drag image on tab one on top of image on tab 3? I like the idea of tabs but adding them to other layers has caused me to be frustrated.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ssim
POTN Landscape & Cityscape Photographer 2005
Avatar
10,884 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Apr 2003
Location: southern Alberta, Canada
     
May 06, 2010 16:18 |  #11

taygull wrote in post #10133405 (external link)
I agree Sheldon, I always like the idea of a better workflow. I know mine is not very good.

So with that said if you use the tabs what is the best way to drag image on tab one on top of image on tab 3? I like the idea of tabs but adding them to other layers has caused me to be frustrated.

I am not sure I understand your question for sure but the process is really quite simple. On your source file (the one you are copying from) you select all the layers that you want to move to a new document. With your move tool selected you click and hold on the image (not the layers panel, has to be the image) and drag your cursor and hover over the file tab that you want to drop these into. This tab will open and you can move your cursor over the image and let go. Voila your selected layers from the source file are now there. If you hold now shift before letting go they will center on the new image.

The trick is to not let go of your mouse once you start to drag them from your image. Depending on your system resources it may take a moment for the target file to open when you hover over its tab.

I did a quick little screen capture video (this isn't my thing) that shows this. Drag Tab (external link)


My life is like one big RAW file....way too much post processing needed.
Sheldon Simpson | My Gallery (external link) | My Gear updated: 20JUL12

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
May 06, 2010 18:04 |  #12

aaahhhh...OK...now that I took an attitude that I don't know everything this actually works pretty well! I'll turn tabs back on and try it for awhile!

Thanks Sheldon!

Now if my plugins would only be 64 bit compatible life would be much better! At least I did figure out how to open CS5 in 32 bit mode!


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,996 posts
Likes: 364
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
May 06, 2010 19:15 |  #13

I like tabs now too, I didn't to start with. You can use window -> convert all tabs to windows (or whatever) if you need them in windows occasionally.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Badger
Member
Avatar
77 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: UK
     
May 07, 2010 04:20 as a reply to  @ tim's post |  #14

The thing I am having trouble with is the main document window doesnt seem to be joined to the panels at the edges.

If I want to go to another application that is open,,,it doesnt all go behind the other app (i'm on a mac by the way!) the toolbars go behind but the doc window stays wehre it is.

ie, if i use alt+tab to switch between open apps the document window always stays at the top even though the panels and bars disappear behind. :confused:


Janice
_______________
Canon EOS 40D, Canon 70-200mm f4, Canon 50mm F1.8, Tamron SP 28-75 XR Di f2.8, Sigma 10-20mm, Sigma 105 macro.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
May 07, 2010 10:04 |  #15

Badger wrote in post #10137269 (external link)
The thing I am having trouble with is the main document window doesnt seem to be joined to the panels at the edges.

https://photography-on-the.net …52311&highlight​=blue+line

Badger wrote in post #10137269 (external link)
If I want to go to another application that is open,,,it doesnt all go behind the other app (i'm on a mac by the way!) the toolbars go behind but the doc window stays wehre it is.
ie, if i use alt+tab to switch between open apps the document window always stays at the top even though the panels and bars disappear behind. :confused:

That's how it has always behaved...
Only difference is that since CS4 you now have an application frame, which is new for Mac.

Press Ctrl+Cmd+H to hide PSCS4.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,934 views & 0 likes for this thread
Open in CS5 - CS4 - Driving me nuts!
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Claydson
1309 guests, 305 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.