Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 22 May 2010 (Saturday) 11:24
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Banding on 5d2 but not on another.

 
zincozinco
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Followers of Fidget-
Avatar
4,420 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Andalucía
     
May 23, 2010 14:29 |  #16

No HTP is on as I have both my cameras on the same settings Always. thats why I have 2.. its really worrying...Ive sent an email to CPS. Hoping they pick it up in teh morning.


Living the life, overexposing...
Web (external link), Blog (external link) Name: Mike, Maik, Micke or just zinco.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
jdizzle
Darth Noink
Avatar
69,419 posts
Likes: 57
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Harvesting Nano crystals
     
May 23, 2010 14:57 |  #17

I hope your fix goes smoothly. Good luck. :|




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zincozinco
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Followers of Fidget-
Avatar
4,420 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Andalucía
     
May 23, 2010 15:02 |  #18

jdizzle wrote in post #10231997 (external link)
I hope your fix goes smoothly. Good luck. :|

cheers.... im still quite pissed about it as im shooting "links" Golf courses by the sea and I really did not wanna change lenses on every hole with salt and sand in the air....


Living the life, overexposing...
Web (external link), Blog (external link) Name: Mike, Maik, Micke or just zinco.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zincozinco
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Followers of Fidget-
Avatar
4,420 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Andalucía
     
May 25, 2010 00:51 |  #19

Ok, so CPS Sweden have agreed to have a look at the camera eventhough im registered in Spain and I do not have proof of purchase with me. ( who does) fingers crossed...


Living the life, overexposing...
Web (external link), Blog (external link) Name: Mike, Maik, Micke or just zinco.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
czynot
Member
198 posts
Joined Sep 2008
     
May 25, 2010 08:08 |  #20

you will get the banding in HIGH ISO. try it. take a picture in a dark room or leave the lens cap on. set the ISO to highest and EV to +3. I promise you that you will see this banding.
You should not see banding at 100 ISO @ any F/stop. Check your Ev comp.


5D MKII, 24-70mm L, 18-55mm IS,70-200mm 2.8L IS, 50mm 1.8, 100mm Macro, 2-580EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HKGuns
Goldmember
Avatar
1,771 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 1639
Joined May 2008
     
May 25, 2010 08:51 |  #21

czynot wrote in post #10241991 (external link)
you will get the banding in HIGH ISO. try it. take a picture in a dark room or leave the lens cap on. set the ISO to highest and EV to +3. I promise you that you will see this banding.
You should not see banding at 100 ISO @ any F/stop. Check your Ev comp.

I take pictures like that all the time.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
8,833 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Sep 2005
Location: CT
     
May 25, 2010 08:58 |  #22

HKGuns wrote in post #10242181 (external link)
I take pictures like that all the time.

Me too, they look great printed BIG.


connecticut wedding photographer (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bacchanal
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,284 posts
Likes: 22
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
     
May 25, 2010 09:03 as a reply to  @ timnosenzo's post |  #23

Check out this thread:

https://photography-on-the.net …674155&highligh​t=5D2+maze

It's not a normal fault with the 5D2, but it's been seen before.


Drew A. | gear | photosexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zincozinco
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Followers of Fidget-
Avatar
4,420 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Andalucía
     
May 25, 2010 14:38 |  #24

they have recognized the problem and are working to fix it. itll be interesting when they let me know what it was. And it has nothing to do with ISO its a different band alltogether... :)


Living the life, overexposing...
Web (external link), Blog (external link) Name: Mike, Maik, Micke or just zinco.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zincozinco
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Followers of Fidget-
Avatar
4,420 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Andalucía
     
May 25, 2010 14:38 |  #25

bacchanal wrote in post #10242247 (external link)
Check out this thread:

https://photography-on-the.net …674155&highligh​t=5D2+maze

It's not a normal fault with the 5D2, but it's been seen before.

yeah thanks - this is it!


Living the life, overexposing...
Web (external link), Blog (external link) Name: Mike, Maik, Micke or just zinco.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Avatar
7,359 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 88
Joined Jan 2007
Location: DFW Metro-mess, Texas
     
May 25, 2010 15:30 as a reply to  @ zincozinco's post |  #26

I hear that pixel peeping is bad for one (at least, as long as it is the other guy's camera and not your's where you see something odd). I was barely able to detect some vertical stripes (I suppose that is what you are referring to).

I also see an indication that the image has been tone-mapped -- depending on the amount of tone mapping, that may explain what you are seeing. Anytime that you drag darker parts of an image out of the gloomy depths where they reside into the light of day, it will also drag along the ugliness of the dark areas. And, don't forget that even a one stop increase in brightness means that each incremental tone step will be equivalent to two incremental tone steps in brightness of a correctly exposed area. Although the effect is very faint, you might also want to take a peek at the histogram to see if any "picket fencing" is starting to develop.

Since it isn't my camera, I will say that you may be nit picking. ;) Something that is far more noticeable in the first image is the large amount of chromatic aberration. Don't know what software you are using, but Adobe Camera Raw or Adobe Lightroom both can easily correct the CA.


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
czynot
Member
198 posts
Joined Sep 2008
     
May 25, 2010 15:52 |  #27

HKGuns wrote in post #10242181 (external link)
I take pictures like that all the time.

try it tonight and tell me what you see. Go home and take a long exposure at high iso. tell me if you see banding. The grain/noise will show you the banding. TRY IT.


5D MKII, 24-70mm L, 18-55mm IS,70-200mm 2.8L IS, 50mm 1.8, 100mm Macro, 2-580EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zincozinco
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Followers of Fidget-
Avatar
4,420 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Andalucía
     
May 26, 2010 16:40 |  #28

Bill Boehme wrote in post #10244570 (external link)
I hear that pixel peeping is bad for one (at least, as long as it is the other guy's camera and not your's where you see something odd). I was barely able to detect some vertical stripes (I suppose that is what you are referring to).

I also see an indication that the image has been tone-mapped -- depending on the amount of tone mapping, that may explain what you are seeing. Anytime that you drag darker parts of an image out of the gloomy depths where they reside into the light of day, it will also drag along the ugliness of the dark areas. And, don't forget that even a one stop increase in brightness means that each incremental tone step will be equivalent to two incremental tone steps in brightness of a correctly exposed area. Although the effect is very faint, you might also want to take a peek at the histogram to see if any "picket fencing" is starting to develop.

Since it isn't my camera, I will say that you may be nit picking. ;) Something that is far more noticeable in the first image is the large amount of chromatic aberration. Don't know what software you are using, but Adobe Camera Raw or Adobe Lightroom both can easily correct the CA.

the tone mapping was just to exagerate the problem. - the guy over at tech has recognized the problem, I told him to shoot flat surfaces and zoom in on the raw file using, DPP, Aperture, ACR etc and He sees it. the other link to another thread on this maze problem is in fact A FACT. :) get those cameras back guys. Canon QC.....


Living the life, overexposing...
Web (external link), Blog (external link) Name: Mike, Maik, Micke or just zinco.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HKGuns
Goldmember
Avatar
1,771 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 1639
Joined May 2008
     
May 26, 2010 18:02 |  #29

czynot wrote in post #10244675 (external link)
try it tonight and tell me what you see. Go home and take a long exposure at high iso. tell me if you see banding. The grain/noise will show you the banding. TRY IT.

Sorry, I have 1D4 not 5D2 AND I have better ways to spend my time. If I can't see issues in the shadows of a real picture I'm not going to go looking for problems. by taking pictures of my lens cap.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zincozinco
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Followers of Fidget-
Avatar
4,420 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Andalucía
     
May 27, 2010 04:42 |  #30

HKGuns wrote in post #10251734 (external link)
Sorry, I have 1D4 not 5D2 AND I have better ways to spend my time. If I can't see issues in the shadows of a real picture I'm not going to go looking for problems. by taking pictures of my lens cap.

:) hehe I completely undetstand.

An update to those who suffer from the Mouse Maze syndrome... Ie not NOISE.

They have replaced the "System Buss" and the "Main Card" (which i guess in translation means the Main board) so there is definitely a problem. I will take it out for a test this evening and report back.


Living the life, overexposing...
Web (external link), Blog (external link) Name: Mike, Maik, Micke or just zinco.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,924 views & 0 likes for this thread
Banding on 5d2 but not on another.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is GeorgeV
830 guests, 167 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.