Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 Jun 2010 (Wednesday) 08:35
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Is it smart to leave "Highlight Tone Pri" on all the time?

 
ppucci
Senior Member
Avatar
376 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Brazil
     
Jun 23, 2010 08:35 |  #1

Well, I guess the topic pretty much says it all... Why should I (or shouldn't I) leave it on all the time? What would be the "price" to leave it on?

I am shooting RAW, I know it will actually only "flag" the picture was shot with HTP and the software will do all the work, and I understand that it will only be effective after processing the picture.


Canon EOS 5D Mark II (gripped) | Canon EOS Rebel 2000 (EOS 300) Film SLR | Canon EF 24-70mm f2.8L | Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 | Canon 430EXII | Canon SX210 IS | Fujifilm X100
Flickr
 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
10,247 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
     
Jun 23, 2010 08:54 |  #2

Do you use DPP to process your shots? Or Lightroom?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ppucci
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
376 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Brazil
     
Jun 23, 2010 09:03 |  #3

DPP... tried Lightroom but it is much more complex than I can or want to handle...


Canon EOS 5D Mark II (gripped) | Canon EOS Rebel 2000 (EOS 300) Film SLR | Canon EF 24-70mm f2.8L | Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 | Canon 430EXII | Canon SX210 IS | Fujifilm X100
Flickr
 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
spkerer
Senior Member
Avatar
953 posts
Likes: 30
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Leesburg, VA USA
     
Jun 23, 2010 09:20 |  #4

egordon99 wrote in post #10412288 (external link)
Do you use DPP to process your shots? Or Lightroom?

Why do you ask? I'm not trying to be a smart-ass in asking that - I honestly want to know why that's relevant. FWIW I use Lightroom and have always kept HTP disabled.


Leesburg, Virginia
http://photos.kusterer​s.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
"spouting off stupid things"
Avatar
56,287 posts
Likes: 2955
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Jun 23, 2010 09:21 |  #5

Personal preference I suppose. I choose not to, but then I'm a raw shooter so I can always be applied in post.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
10,247 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
     
Jun 23, 2010 10:22 |  #6

spkerer wrote in post #10412396 (external link)
Why do you ask? I'm not trying to be a smart-ass in asking that - I honestly want to know why that's relevant. FWIW I use Lightroom and have always kept HTP disabled.

LR ignores pretty much ALL "in-camera" settings (contrast, sharpening, picture styles, HTP, saturation) except the "as-shot" white balance.

DPP and Lightroom use different algorithms to "process" the raw data into a viewable image. DPP makes use of those in-camera settings during the processing. LR does not.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
IUnknown
Senior Member
738 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Jun 2007
     
Jun 23, 2010 10:33 |  #7

On the 7D at least, you loose iso 100, I thought.


Fiske | Film (external link)
5D Mark II | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon 35L | Sigma 85 1.4 | Helios 44M-6 58mm(M42) | Zeiss 50mm 1.4 (C/Y) | LEICA 50MM SUMMICRON-R F2 | Canon 135L | Elmoscope anamorphic lens | 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,491 posts
Likes: 205
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Jun 23, 2010 11:37 |  #8

What would be the "price" to leave it on?

The advantage (assuming DPP) is an extra stop of headroom - a safety net against blowing out the highlights. The price is a stop less in the shadows and the resultant possible increase in noise. if you don't need that extra range in the highlights, you are wasting DR. You are exposing to the left, exactly the opposite of best practice for RAW shooting. If you do need it with a high contrast subject, you are probably better off properly exposing to utilize all your DR (exposing to the right) and customizing your own tone curve to bring up the shadows. After all, RAW shooting is all about customizing your own processing rather than blindly accepting canned processing, whether it be in the camera or in DPP.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
spkerer
Senior Member
Avatar
953 posts
Likes: 30
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Leesburg, VA USA
     
Jun 23, 2010 11:43 |  #9

egordon99 wrote in post #10412685 (external link)
LR ignores pretty much ALL "in-camera" settings (contrast, sharpening, picture styles, HTP, saturation) except the "as-shot" white balance.

DPP and Lightroom use different algorithms to "process" the raw data into a viewable image. DPP makes use of those in-camera settings during the processing. LR does not.

Thanks. I didn't know how HTP was actually implemented, so I wasn't sure whether its effects were written in the raw file or not. Sounds like not. And since I shoot raw and use LR, there's no benefit for me to ever turn it on and there is the cost that I'd lose ISO100.


Leesburg, Virginia
http://photos.kusterer​s.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
stsva
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,360 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 285
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
     
Jun 23, 2010 12:10 |  #10

spkerer wrote in post #10413085 (external link)
Thanks. I didn't know how HTP was actually implemented, so I wasn't sure whether its effects were written in the raw file or not. Sounds like not. And since I shoot raw and use LR, there's no benefit for me to ever turn it on and there is the cost that I'd lose ISO100.

Some earlier discussions here and elsewhere indicate that HTP does have an impact on the RAW file. That being said, there's little or no obvious reason to use it when shooting RAW, as shown by the posts above.


Some Canon stuff and a little bit of Yongnuo.
http://www.pbase.com/s​tsva/profile (external link)
Member of the GIYF
Club and
HAMSTTR
٩ Breeders Club https://photography-on-the.net …=744235&highlig​ht=hamsttr Join today!
Image Editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ebann
Once an ugly duckling
Avatar
3,396 posts
Joined Jan 2003
Location: Chimping around Brazil since 1973! (Sometimes NYC)
     
Jun 23, 2010 13:05 |  #11

small benefit to be gained... better to leave it off and pay better attention to your exposure.


Ellery Bann
Fuji X100
6D | Rokinon 14 2.8 | 50 1.4
1D Mk IV | 24-70 2.8L | 70-200 2.8L IS | 135 2L | 400 5.6L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ingraman
Member
169 posts
Joined Mar 2009
     
Jun 23, 2010 13:09 |  #12

It should affect the raw file, at least in my experience. I'm a stickler for noise, so I always leave it off.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
omer
Goldmember
Avatar
1,193 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Likes: 205
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Israel
     
Jun 23, 2010 16:23 as a reply to  @ ingraman's post |  #13

Here is what the user manuel says -- page 209

"...noise in the shadow area may be slightly more than usual"
ISO will be 200-6400

i leave it off


_______________
My Flickr (old) http://www.flickr.com/​photos/omfoto/ (external link)
_______________

R6 | 80D | 7D | M6 |RF24-105 STM|RF35 1.8| EF-S 15-85 |EF 70-300 L |Sig 150-600 C| Sig 10-20 | 50 1.8 |100 2.8 macro|28 F2.8 | efs24| efm 15-45| 270EX | 430EXII |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dmo580
Senior Member
760 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jun 23, 2010 18:10 |  #14

ingraman wrote in post #10413598 (external link)
It should affect the raw file, at least in my experience. I'm a stickler for noise, so I always leave it off.

It should. HTP underexposes by 1 stop and then adjusts the shadows to make sure your darks are still ok in your photo. If it was purely a manipulation of curves then it shouldn't but HTP uses a default ISO200 and then exposes at 100 for the 1 stop underexpose....


Canon 7D & Rebel T1i: Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8, Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, Canon 55-250mm IS, Canon 28 f/1.8, Speedlite 580EX II, Speedlite 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,901 views & 0 likes for this thread
Is it smart to leave "Highlight Tone Pri" on all the time?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is m.nobles
834 guests, 220 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.