Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 30 Jul 2010 (Friday) 08:13
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1D MKIII AF...I am feeling like a dummy

 
pprice
Goldmember
Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Gods Country (aka Mississippi)
     
Jul 30, 2010 08:13 |  #1

For some reason, I am having a time figuring out the AF on the MKIII. I am used to the 5D MKII.

I cant see any of the red squares for some reason (I know it has to be a setting). I get it to pick some red squares when I press the shutter halfway every now and then as it picks what it wants to focus on. Other times I just lock focus using the center circle and hope it works.

If anyone has a clue what I am doing/not doing, It would be great!

Thanks,
Paul


1D MKIII 16-35 2.8L MKII 24-70 2.8L 70-200 2.8L [COLOR=black]IS 300 2.8L IS (few others) Bunch of AB lighting
Southern by the grace of God

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
malla1962
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,714 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Walney Island,cumbria,uk
     
Jul 30, 2010 08:29 |  #2

pprice wrote in post #10630477 (external link)
For some reason, I am having a time figuring out the AF on the MKIII. I am used to the 5D MKII.

I cant see any of the red squares for some reason (I know it has to be a setting). I get it to pick some red squares when I press the shutter halfway every now and then as it picks what it wants to focus on. Other times I just lock focus using the center circle and hope it works.

If anyone has a clue what I am doing/not doing, It would be great!

Thanks,
Paul

Go and look at CF111-12


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Markitos
Goldmember
Avatar
1,615 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Durham, NC
     
Jul 30, 2010 08:35 |  #3

Also try pushing in the joystick on the back and see if that lets you select individual focus points. In AI Servo mode, pressing the joystick toggles between all AF points and one selected AF point (depending on your CF settings, too).


|Fuji X-E2|Fuji X-E1|Fuji 18 f/2|Fuji 35 f/1.4|Fuji 60 f/2.4 macro|Fuji 18-55 f/2.8-4|Fuji 55-200 f/3.5-4.8

http://www.newschoolof​photography.com/forum/ (external link)Where I Hone My Skillz (external link)
Where My "Serious" Stuff Is (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
52,880 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Behind A Camera
     
Jul 30, 2010 09:04 |  #4

This explanation of the custom functions may help (external link).


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuff (external link)
Gear List, My You Tube (external link)
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pprice
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Gods Country (aka Mississippi)
     
Jul 30, 2010 09:19 as a reply to  @ canonloader's post |  #5

I went to C. FnIII-12 and it is on 0:On

I still cant see any AF points, or the grid (red squares), when I press the shutter halfway.

I understand how to change the setting for different events or situations, but I cant figure out why I cant see the grid :confused:


1D MKIII 16-35 2.8L MKII 24-70 2.8L 70-200 2.8L [COLOR=black]IS 300 2.8L IS (few others) Bunch of AB lighting
Southern by the grace of God

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pprice
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Gods Country (aka Mississippi)
     
Jul 30, 2010 09:20 as a reply to  @ pprice's post |  #6

Oh, and I did try moving/pressing the joystick with no luck.


1D MKIII 16-35 2.8L MKII 24-70 2.8L 70-200 2.8L [COLOR=black]IS 300 2.8L IS (few others) Bunch of AB lighting
Southern by the grace of God

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
52,880 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Behind A Camera
     
Jul 30, 2010 09:39 |  #7

You need to go to C.Fn III-12 and set to 0. Then go to C.Fn III-13 and set to 1.


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuff (external link)
Gear List, My You Tube (external link)
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pprice
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Gods Country (aka Mississippi)
     
Jul 30, 2010 09:42 |  #8

canonloader wrote in post #10630977 (external link)
You need to go to C.Fn III-12 and set to 0. Then go to C.Fn III-13 and set to 1.

12 is on 0, and I just set 13 to 1 (brighter), but still no joy.

I see I forgot to put the -12 in my post above (just added it).


1D MKIII 16-35 2.8L MKII 24-70 2.8L 70-200 2.8L [COLOR=black]IS 300 2.8L IS (few others) Bunch of AB lighting
Southern by the grace of God

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kevinmcdade
Senior Member
603 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Jul 30, 2010 10:48 as a reply to  @ pprice's post |  #9

It sounds like your focus is set to "Ring of Fire". See if you can scroll through your focus points using the multi-direction controller. You can also try pressing the multi-direction controller in the center to see if there are any registered focus points.

With all of the customization available for the 1DIII these troubleshooting items may or may not work. Let me know if it works.


-KMc-
Canon 7D | Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 OS | Sigma 10-20 | Canon 70-200L f/4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pprice
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Gods Country (aka Mississippi)
     
Jul 30, 2010 10:50 as a reply to  @ kevinmcdade's post |  #10

macroshot Figured out what I was doing wrong (in PM). I was not pressing the button on the upper right corner on the back to enable them....I REALLY feel stupid now lmao!!!

Thanks so much for everyone helping me!!!!!


1D MKIII 16-35 2.8L MKII 24-70 2.8L 70-200 2.8L [COLOR=black]IS 300 2.8L IS (few others) Bunch of AB lighting
Southern by the grace of God

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
macroshot
Stuck by a stickie
Avatar
2,983 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Sep 2007
Location: nacho cheese
     
Jul 30, 2010 11:17 as a reply to  @ pprice's post |  #11

Glad I could help a fellow 1D3'er. Sometimes it is the simplest things, eh?


I photograph to find out what something will look like photographed.
~ Garry Winogrand

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pprice
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Gods Country (aka Mississippi)
     
Jul 30, 2010 11:32 as a reply to  @ macroshot's post |  #12

Ya, I figured it was going to be something simple, but sometimes the simple things are the hardest to find lol...that is when the fine people on here rock!!!


1D MKIII 16-35 2.8L MKII 24-70 2.8L 70-200 2.8L [COLOR=black]IS 300 2.8L IS (few others) Bunch of AB lighting
Southern by the grace of God

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
52,880 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Behind A Camera
     
Jul 30, 2010 12:56 |  #13

So the problem was, you had focus set to the back button and not the half press of the shutter button?


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuff (external link)
Gear List, My You Tube (external link)
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pprice
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Gods Country (aka Mississippi)
     
Jul 30, 2010 13:10 |  #14

That was the issue :-)


1D MKIII 16-35 2.8L MKII 24-70 2.8L 70-200 2.8L [COLOR=black]IS 300 2.8L IS (few others) Bunch of AB lighting
Southern by the grace of God

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
52,880 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Behind A Camera
     
Jul 30, 2010 13:13 |  #15

Good grief. I hate that function. Things are already complicated enough, without the confusion of retraining my trigger finger. :p


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuff (external link)
Gear List, My You Tube (external link)
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,563 views & 0 likes for this thread
1D MKIII AF...I am feeling like a dummy
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gabrielkmusic
1047 guests, 206 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.