Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 29 Aug 2010 (Sunday) 11:04
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

EOS1D displays "no image" on full card...

 
alfalfasprout
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Aug 2010
     
Aug 29, 2010 11:04 |  #1

Hi All, I shot 6GB of RAW photos for a festival yesterday on a 1Ds MK II. I don't have a card reader/firewire cable with me, so put the card into my 400D to transfer them as I have done before.

The camera read no image, and aperture also cant read any files from the camera. I then placed the card back into the 1D which also read no image. I know the data is still on the card due to the number of remaining shots on the card being only 14...

(this happened to both of the memory cards I used)

Any ideas as to how I may recover the files? or make them readable by the 1D?

thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
DetlevCM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,431 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Europe
     
Aug 29, 2010 11:38 |  #2

Go and buy a card reader?

A USB CF card reader wouldn't cost much - and would be your best bet - you might need recovery software too if there was any damage to the filesystem.


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
alfalfasprout
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Aug 2010
     
Aug 29, 2010 11:50 |  #3

Yeah I have one elsewhere, which I can try tomorrow, but i'm assuming the files may have been corrupted (obviously hopefully not). If they have been corrupted any ideas what software I could use that may help to recover them??

cheers




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DetlevCM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,431 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Europe
     
Aug 29, 2010 11:51 |  #4

alfalfasprout wrote in post #10810947 (external link)
Yeah I have one elsewhere, which I can try tomorrow, but i'm assuming the files may have been corrupted (obviously hopefully not). If they have been corrupted any ideas what software I could use that may help to recover them??

cheers

Recuva might be an idea.

There is Lexar Image Rescue - which is "free" for me as I have some Lexar Pro cards (the 300x ones) - not sure if it's worth buying though...

These are all that spring to my mind.


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,973 posts
Likes: 355
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Aug 29, 2010 16:50 |  #5

Take the card out of the 400D and download them in the normal way when you get home. If there's a problem, use a recovery program.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
obkcaptain
Member
Avatar
159 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Madrid (Spain)
     
Aug 30, 2010 02:23 |  #6

IMHO, a card (serious brand, of course) formatted in a 1Ds Mk II can't be read in the 400D Specially if the pictures were taken in Raw. The strange thing is when 1Ds MkII denies to be read....Download for Internet a "recovery" tool (there's a lot of them, free software) and try to download (properly) into your computer.


A Canon gear, some lenses, mono(tri)pod, flash and need to learn...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

750 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS1D displays "no image" on full card...
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Brdfotagrfr3
2017 guests, 284 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.