Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 22 Sep 2010 (Wednesday) 09:53
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5D MKII automatically changes aperture when filming

 
Ferosso
Member
159 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Denmark
     
Sep 22, 2010 09:53 |  #1

Hey POTN.

As the thread title says, my 5D MKII automatically sets the aperture when filming, if it's bright.

I tried filming in AV instead of M, but it still does it. Does anyone know what to do about this?

It's annoying I can't film @ 1.4 with my 50mm, and it automatically sets it higher so I don't get that much bokeh.


Help would be appreciated.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,361 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 441
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Sep 22, 2010 09:55 |  #2

As I don't have that model, I'm not sure if this was something that was addressed in the more recent firmware upgrade?
Do you have the latest firmware?

But of course, if it's sunshine you'll never be able to use f/1.4, not even at ISO 100. You can't shoot movies with shorter exposure time than 1/4000, and f/1.4 in sunshine at ISO 100 requires something like 1/12800 or so.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ferosso
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
159 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Denmark
     
Sep 22, 2010 10:03 |  #3

Yeah I have the newest firmware, and not even when I shoot on ISO 50, it can.

It's just weird, since it doesn't have to be bright sunshine. I was filming a set for a TV series in a basement with only some colored lamps, and it kept changing the settings everytime i pressed record.

It's not broken, I'm sure theres a solution for this.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,361 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 441
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Sep 22, 2010 10:05 as a reply to  @ Ferosso's post |  #4

Please tell me exactly what you set up (mode, ISO, aperture - whatever), and I'll see if my 7D does the same.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ferosso
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
159 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Denmark
     
Sep 22, 2010 10:20 |  #5

Well, for an instance when I film outside the window, I film at ISO 50, shutter 100 and F/1.4




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 559
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Sep 22, 2010 10:54 |  #6

I remember when the 5D2 was first released, there was an issue similar to this but I don't recall the details. You would probably find out more if you posted this in the video section.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JonK
Goldmember
Avatar
2,161 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2004
Location: PA USA
     
Sep 22, 2010 11:50 |  #7

You can't film at ISO 50. I have the latest firmware and ISO Expansion mode turned on, and when in video mode you can only shoot at ISO 100+


I believe you have the camera in "Stills + Movie" mode and then have it in "Exposure Simulation" - it will let you record a movie from that position, but it does weird things to the aperture. Put it in "Movie Mode" not "Exposure Simulation" and try again. ISO 100 should be the only one available and the aperture should lock.


7NE | 7D | 5DII | 16-35/2.8L II | 24/1.4L II | TS-E 24/3.5L II | 50/1.4 | 85/1.2L II | 100/2.8L IS | 70-200/2.8L IS II | 400/5.6L | PIXMA Pro 9500 Mark II
check my blog:
www.jonkensy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,361 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 441
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Sep 22, 2010 11:53 as a reply to  @ JonK's post |  #8

But outside the window, in daylight, at ISO 50 would require f/11 when using 1/100s shutter speed. Or f/16, if it's as said above that ISO expansion isn't used in video mode.
Something will have to change, or you'll get horrible overexposure.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JonK
Goldmember
Avatar
2,161 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2004
Location: PA USA
     
Sep 22, 2010 11:59 |  #9

If the OP wants to film at ƒ/1.4 in daylight he'll need to purchase an ND filter.


7NE | 7D | 5DII | 16-35/2.8L II | 24/1.4L II | TS-E 24/3.5L II | 50/1.4 | 85/1.2L II | 100/2.8L IS | 70-200/2.8L IS II | 400/5.6L | PIXMA Pro 9500 Mark II
check my blog:
www.jonkensy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ferosso
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
159 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Denmark
     
Sep 22, 2010 12:58 |  #10

JonK wrote in post #10956747 (external link)
If the OP wants to film at ƒ/1.4 in daylight he'll need to purchase an ND filter.

English isn't my native language, so I'm sorry, but what is an ND filter?

JonK wrote in post #10956697 (external link)
You can't film at ISO 50. I have the latest firmware and ISO Expansion mode turned on, and when in video mode you can only shoot at ISO 100+


I believe you have the camera in "Stills + Movie" mode and then have it in "Exposure Simulation" - it will let you record a movie from that position, but it does weird things to the aperture. Put it in "Movie Mode" not "Exposure Simulation" and try again. ISO 100 should be the only one available and the aperture should lock.

Tried following your instructions, but it still does it. I've uploaded the result to youtube, you can see it here (it might still be converting though):

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=ATz1k28nDLU (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kjj512
Senior Member
Avatar
471 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Yardley/ State College PA
     
Sep 23, 2010 01:39 |  #11

Make sure you have the latest firmware on your camera and that you are in M mode. Av mode will automatically change the aperture for a proper exposure. Manual mode will allow you to over or under expose and won't change your settings based on incoming light.


Kevin
flickr (external link) | vimeo (external link)
5D MKii | Contax CZ 135mm f/2.8 Sonnar*T | Contax CZ 50mm f/1.4 Planar*T | CZ Flektogon 35mm f/2.4 | Olympus Zuiko 24mm f/2.8
AE-1 and a bunch of fd lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
smythie
I wasn't even trying
3,785 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 710
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney - Australia
     
Sep 23, 2010 01:47 |  #12

Ferosso wrote in post #10957115 (external link)
English isn't my native language, so I'm sorry, but what is an ND filter?

ND=Neutral Density.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SeanH
Goldmember
2,055 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA.
     
Sep 27, 2010 08:34 as a reply to  @ smythie's post |  #13

Take it off "Exposure simulation". Second menu in the live view set up.


7D ......waiting on the 5D3
10-22, 17-40 4.0 L, 24-70 2.8L, 70-200 2.8L, 2 X 580EX's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ferosso
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
159 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Denmark
     
Oct 01, 2010 11:52 |  #14

That helped! Thanks.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,831 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D MKII automatically changes aperture when filming
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Kmag
558 guests, 237 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.