Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 24 Sep 2010 (Friday) 15:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What's wrong with my brand new 7D?

 
wvo
Member
165 posts
Joined Jul 2010
     
Sep 24, 2010 15:23 |  #1

When I first turned it on, it was like this also. I immediately went to go update the firmware from 1.1.0 to 1.2.2. I don't think the firmware fixed anything because the issue was still there for awhile and then magically went away.

I've been messing with the 7D for the past few hours and then decided to format the CF card that I've been using. This screen issue came back after I did that.

I've been powering it on and off, resetting settings, formatting the CF card, removing the battery...out of ideas right now.

IMAGE: http://williamvo.net/misc/IMG_0355.JPG

Here's a video of it also:

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=pwuTsuRmHfc (external link)

I've tried googling and searching the forums but either I don't know how to search or I'm by myself on this one because I can't find anything about this issue. Help

Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
artyman
Sleepless in Hampshire
Avatar
14,410 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 73
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Hampshire UK
     
Sep 24, 2010 15:28 |  #2

Did you turn it off and remove the battery for a few seconds as per the instructions. Try that and see if it sorts it.


Art that takes you there. http://www.artyman.co.​uk (external link)
Ken
Canon 7D, 350D, 15-85, 18-55, 75-300, Cosina 100 Macro, Sigma 120-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
snyderman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,084 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Wadsworth, Ohio
     
Sep 24, 2010 15:29 |  #3

My 7D has 'locked up' twice. Turn off, remove battery, reinstall, turn on, problem solved. Hopefully this will work for you.

dave


Canon 5D2 > 35L-85L-135L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
harcosparky
Goldmember
2,430 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 56
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Harford County - ( Bel Air ) Maryland
     
Sep 24, 2010 15:31 |  #4

How long have you had it?

Where did you buy it? (I'm hoping you bought it local and not Mail/Internet order)

Can you still take it back for exchange.

I've never had an issue with my 7D, so far.

Solution: Return for Refund or Exchange




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wvo
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
165 posts
Joined Jul 2010
     
Sep 24, 2010 15:35 |  #5

artyman wrote in post #10971823 (external link)
Did you turn it off and remove the battery for a few seconds as per the instructions. Try that and see if it sorts it.

snyderman wrote in post #10971835 (external link)
My 7D has 'locked up' twice. Turn off, remove battery, reinstall, turn on, problem solved. Hopefully this will work for you.

Yup, already tried that.

harcosparky wrote in post #10971843 (external link)
How long have you had it?

Where did you buy it? (I'm hoping you bought it local and not Mail/Internet order)

Can you still take it back for exchange.

I've never had an issue with my 7D, so far.

I've had it for almost 4 hours. Bought it from Amazon. I think I'm going to end up requesting an exchange...


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
19,031 posts
Gallery: 57 photos
Likes: 3319
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Sep 24, 2010 15:41 as a reply to  @ wvo's post |  #6

I think you just got the Australian model.


Seriously, though, it does look like a good candidate for an exchange.


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Trey ­ T
Senior Member
Avatar
994 posts
Likes: 35
Joined May 2009
Location: Texas
     
Sep 24, 2010 15:44 |  #7

that's a weird problem. I never heard of the menu problem like that. does it work?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sixsixfour
Goldmember
Avatar
1,781 posts
Likes: 25
Joined May 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
     
Sep 24, 2010 16:00 |  #8

never had that happen with my 7D.


Canon 7D / 50D / 30D / SL1 / XT

My photography-related addiction makes a crack habit look like a fiscally responsible pasttime.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
crn3371
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,198 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2005
Location: SoCal, USA
     
Sep 24, 2010 16:02 |  #9

Can you shoot with it at all, or is it locked in the menu setting? If you can't sort it out just contact Amazon and request a replacement.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wvo
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
165 posts
Joined Jul 2010
     
Sep 24, 2010 16:04 |  #10

Wow. I just submitted a request for an exchange to Amazon and got this response from them:

I'm so sorry about the problem you had with your Canon EOS 7D 18 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with 3-inch LCD (Body Only).

I've placed a new order for you at no charge. Here are the details:

Order Number: xxxxx
Shipping Speed: One-Day Shipping
Estimated Delivery Date: September 25

Got kind of sad for a moment. I thought it would take a whole week to send in the body and get my replacement body back. I just put everything back in the box and they're already sending me a replacement that'll be here tomorrow. Amazon just made my day :D


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Courierman
Goldmember
Avatar
2,010 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 10
Joined Feb 2007
Location: Chatham Kent England
     
Sep 24, 2010 16:07 |  #11

you have 2 batterys ,1 big and 1 small take them out for 20 mins ,but it look like the video sink is out ,what you are seeing is the top and bottom frane


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wvo
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
165 posts
Joined Jul 2010
     
Sep 24, 2010 16:07 |  #12

crn3371 wrote in post #10972026 (external link)
Can you shoot with it at all, or is it locked in the menu setting? If you can't sort it out just contact Amazon and request a replacement.

I can shoot and do practically everything else just fine, but nothing is displaying properly in the LCD. Wanted to make sure it was an isolated incident first before requesting a replacement and looks like it is. Oh well, Amazon is sending me a new one now :D


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,884 posts
Gallery: 1717 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 5442
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Sep 24, 2010 17:24 |  #13

OOo.... this has gotten me curious.

What happens when you chimp? (as in playback a stills image and view in LCD?) Is it also split half-@$$ backwards?


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
montanawild
Senior Member
680 posts
Joined May 2009
Location: Baker, Montana
     
Sep 24, 2010 18:49 |  #14

wvo wrote in post #10972039 (external link)
Wow. I just submitted a request for an exchange to Amazon and got this response from them:

Got kind of sad for a moment. I thought it would take a whole week to send in the body and get my replacement body back. I just put everything back in the box and they're already sending me a replacement that'll be here tomorrow. Amazon just made my day :D


Amazon is fantastic to work with.


1DmkIV, 5DmkII, 40Dw/grip
gear list:

http://dehaanphotograp​hy.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sigma ­ pi
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,204 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Los Angeles
     
Sep 24, 2010 18:52 |  #15

wvo wrote in post #10972039 (external link)
Wow. I just submitted a request for an exchange to Amazon and got this response from them:

Got kind of sad for a moment. I thought it would take a whole week to send in the body and get my replacement body back. I just put everything back in the box and they're already sending me a replacement that'll be here tomorrow. Amazon just made my day :D

That is kick ass


Don't try to confuse me with the facts, my mind is already made up.
http://www.flickr.com …6850267535/in/p​hotostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,172 views & 0 likes for this thread
What's wrong with my brand new 7D?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is pan21
729 guests, 287 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.