Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 03 Nov 2010 (Wednesday) 14:24
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 400D big problem, please help :(

 
Rade_MNE
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2008
     
Nov 03, 2010 14:24 |  #1

I have canon 400D for about 3 years and I have made about 15.000 photos with it.

Today i tried to take a photo but only thing i can "take" now is black photo...

Camera works great, but there is no photo, and preview is just black.

Everything else with my canon is ok, shutter, mirror, everithing works fine, but i supose it is problem with sensor, like dead sensor :(

I tried different lenses, baterries, CF cards, clearing contacts, udgrade firmware but nothing doesn`t help...

I would send it to service but there is no service in my country :(

Did anyone have problem like mine and what do you think the problem is?

* sorry if my english is not the best




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
photomom2one
Goldmember
Avatar
1,024 posts
Gallery: 29 photos
Likes: 176
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Louisiana
     
Nov 03, 2010 15:38 |  #2

I have no idea but you can call Canon repair services and ask them.


50D, XTI, gripped
28mm 2.8, 50mm 1.8, 85mm 1.8, Sears 135mm 2.8
430 EX, other accessories

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canondslr
Senior Member
940 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: USA
     
Nov 03, 2010 15:44 |  #3

Hi Rade,
If there is no service in your country, you can send it to another country which has service, but I think in that case, its cheaper to get a new one.
And what country are we talking about here ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rade_MNE
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2008
     
Nov 03, 2010 16:08 |  #4

Montenegro ;)

The nearest is Serbia, Belgrade city. but at now i have not cash to pay service so I would like to know what is wrong with camera so they can tell me how much that will coast me and I can send them camera ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
silvrr
Goldmember
Avatar
2,736 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Likes: 134
Joined Feb 2007
Location: Chicago,IL
     
Nov 03, 2010 16:20 |  #5

Can we assume your using a proper exposure? What mode are you in? What are the settings and lighting conditions?


Canon 6D l 24-70 f/4L l 100L l 430EX l 430EX II l Kenko Extension Tubes l Sigma 50 Art
flickr (external link) FeedBack

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rade_MNE
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2008
     
Nov 03, 2010 16:26 as a reply to  @ silvrr's post |  #6

Manual always ;)
I understeand photography excellent and technical stuff, but just can`t figure what is the problem. Like there is not input from sensor, and when I "take photo" now with broken camera, the size is always the same, 199KB / JPG, just black photo... But when I "take photo" in RAW, size iz over 6MB and when I transfer it to PC, photo is white.

I assume that problem is in electronic or software, but I have allready upgraded it...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
algold
Senior Member
538 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Israel
     
Nov 03, 2010 16:30 |  #7

if the camera seems to work, try resetting it to the factory settings and try to take a few shots in full auto mode and see what happens.


100D, 40D, 10-18 IS STM, 18-135 IS STM, Sigma 30/1.4, 40/2.8 STM, 60/2.8 macro, MP-E 65/2.8, 85/1.8, 70-200/4 L, 270EX, 430EX, MR-14ex, Metz 58 AF-1
EOS-M3 22/2, 18-55 is stm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rade_MNE
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2008
     
Nov 03, 2010 16:34 as a reply to  @ algold's post |  #8

Tried everything but nothing helps ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rade_MNE
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2008
     
Nov 03, 2010 16:39 as a reply to  @ Rade_MNE's post |  #9

I am not noob people :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
Avatar
4,370 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
     
Nov 04, 2010 01:45 |  #10

can you post the exif of one of the faulty photos


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Strayz
Senior Member
Avatar
691 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Alaska
     
Nov 04, 2010 11:10 |  #11

try shooing images on a second or third memory card.


Back to learning after a 5ish year break from photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JackProton
Goldmember
Avatar
2,348 posts
Joined Feb 2007
     
Nov 04, 2010 14:43 |  #12

Check all the pins in the camera's Compact Flash card slot. A bent memory card pin might explain why the camera doesn't seem to be recording any actual image data. If this is the case, you may be able to VERY carefully bend it back into place (but take great care because the pins can be somewhat brittle and break off).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thruthelens
Mostly Lurking
15 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Location: UK
     
Nov 04, 2010 15:05 |  #13

If you are super brave, like superman brave then go here http://astro.ai-software.com …es/mod_350D/mod​_350D.html (external link)
It's for the 350D but the 400D is very similar. I've posted for the step by step dismantling if you wish to go inside and have a look.

Good Luck




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Artem_Alf
Member
Avatar
148 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
     
Nov 04, 2010 16:47 |  #14

Or other thing you can try (if you didn't yet) is shooting with EOS Utility, this way its gonna save pics direct to your computer.


Canon EOS 50D / EF-S 18-55mm IS / 50mm f1.8 II / Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG MACRO / Sigma 17-70 / Sigma 70-200 F2.8 / Speedlight 580EX II / Speedlight 430EX II /

FLICKR (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rade_MNE
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2008
     
Nov 04, 2010 19:21 as a reply to  @ Artem_Alf's post |  #15

Checked CF pins, but they are ok...

I Monday, my friend is going to Belgrade and he will take it to service ! :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,472 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 400D big problem, please help :(
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Abdullah
947 guests, 289 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.