Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 01 Dec 2010 (Wednesday) 05:27
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon offers locking mode dial upgrade for 5D Mark II, 7D

 
tekkie
Goldmember
Avatar
2,621 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Clarkston, MI
     
Dec 01, 2010 17:27 |  #46

100 bucks is BS the camera should have came with it from the beginning !


Canon 1DMKII, 7D, 5DMKII, 1D MKII
Canon 500L, 100-400L
, 70-200 2.8L, 17-40L, 24-105L, 24mm 2.8,50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 135mm 2.8 SF, 100mm Macro
Canon 430 & 580 flashes

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
krb
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,818 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
     
Dec 01, 2010 17:27 |  #47

tekkie wrote in post #11378519 (external link)
100 bucks is BS the camera should have came with it from the beginning !

Agreed. Hopefully the 5D mk III and 7D mkII will have this from teh beginning.


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickr (external link)
Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
midget
Senior Member
Avatar
511 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2007
Location: NY
     
Dec 01, 2010 17:32 |  #48

mansalim wrote in post #11376403 (external link)
im doing this for 50bucks.. 100+, not so interested

this. for $50, i'd be very happy to not lose shots again due to my camera being knocked into P(rofessional) mode, but for $100 i might just bear with it and check that dial more often


40d + 50mm f1.8 MK I + my feet.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
artyman
Sleepless in Hampshire
Avatar
14,402 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 69
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Hampshire UK
     
Dec 01, 2010 17:35 |  #49

One solution is to turn it to manual and a bit of super glue :lol:


Art that takes you there. http://www.artyman.co.​uk (external link)
Ken
Canon 7D, 350D, 15-85, 18-55, 75-300, Cosina 100 Macro, Sigma 120-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
18,508 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1560
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Dec 01, 2010 17:39 |  #50

If I needed to send the body in for cleaning/service I suppose I'd go for it, but certainly wouldn't send my camera away just for this to be done. The dial getting bumped while carrying on a strap *does* drive me a little nuts, though.


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mansalim
Goldmember
1,105 posts
Joined Aug 2010
Location: 16801
     
Dec 01, 2010 17:41 |  #51

Combatmedic870 wrote in post #11377102 (external link)
Well now this is a great idea! Im glad to see canon is actually thinking about the consumers!

actually they are looking for another $100 from the consumers!


:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Combatmedic870
Goldmember
Avatar
1,739 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Salem ,OR
     
Dec 01, 2010 17:47 |  #52

I think it is a good idea i used to change my modes all the time.

Yea another 100....But its the thought that counts :D


Nikon D700: 16-35 F4, 50 1.4G, 85 1.8,105 VR Micro, 135F2 DC, 80-200 2.8 AFS
Olympus XZ-1
,Ryan
Sometimes, I think Photography is worse than Crack.:oops:

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OneJZsupra
Goldmember
Avatar
2,378 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Guam
     
Dec 01, 2010 17:57 |  #53

Snydremark wrote in post #11378563 (external link)
If I needed to send the body in for cleaning/service I suppose I'd go for it, but certainly wouldn't send my camera away just for this to be done. The dial getting bumped while carrying on a strap *does* drive me a little nuts, though.

+165,352 I was just thinking about everything he listed.


Gear List | Feed Back | My Site (external link)
YN RF-603 O-ring solution


  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
krb
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,818 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
     
Dec 01, 2010 18:03 |  #54

artyman wrote in post #11378550 (external link)
One solution is to turn it to manual and a bit of super glue :lol:

The only problem is that B is a separate mode than M so you wouldn't be able to do any long exposure shots.


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickr (external link)
Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mansalim
Goldmember
1,105 posts
Joined Aug 2010
Location: 16801
     
Dec 01, 2010 18:09 |  #55

krb wrote in post #11378679 (external link)
The only problem is that B is a separate mode than M so you wouldn't be able to do any long exposure shots.

tada remote (external link)


:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
krb
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,818 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
     
Dec 01, 2010 18:21 |  #56

mansalim wrote in post #11378713 (external link)
tada remote (external link)

You either misread my post or you have no experience with that item. In order to use the timer in that remote you have to set the camera's shutter to "bulb" and, as I said in my earlier post, on the 7D that is a completely separate mode than M making that remote worthless if you follow the tongue-in-cheek suggestion of supergluing the mode dial to prevent it from being bumped into a different mode.


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickr (external link)
Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave ­ kadolph
"Fix the cigarette lighter"
Avatar
6,138 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Mar 2007
Location: West Michigan--166.33 miles to the Cook County courthouse
     
Dec 01, 2010 18:28 |  #57

Combatmedic870 wrote in post #11377102 (external link)
Well now this is a great idea! Im glad to see canon is actually thinking about the consumers!

Is this a rolling change and going to be a standard production item?

If not it's not such a magnanimous act. ;)


Middle age is when you can finally afford the things that a young man could truly enjoy.
Tools of the trade

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
18,508 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1560
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Dec 01, 2010 18:31 |  #58

dave kadolph wrote in post #11378826 (external link)
Is this a rolling change and going to be a standard production item?

If not it's not such a magnanimous act. ;)

They are only offering it as an aftermarket part, not rolling it into production. Probably for the very same reasons you're seeing a lot of dissent in this thread.


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mansalim
Goldmember
1,105 posts
Joined Aug 2010
Location: 16801
     
Dec 01, 2010 18:32 |  #59

krb wrote in post #11378786 (external link)
You either misread my post or you have no experience with that item. In order to use the timer in that remote you have to set the camera's shutter to "bulb" and, as I said in my earlier post, on the 7D that is a completely separate mode than M making that remote worthless if you follow the tongue-in-cheek suggestion of supergluing the mode dial to prevent it from being bumped into a different mode.

oops.. my bad
:oops::oops:


:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave ­ kadolph
"Fix the cigarette lighter"
Avatar
6,138 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Mar 2007
Location: West Michigan--166.33 miles to the Cook County courthouse
     
Dec 01, 2010 18:33 |  #60

Snydremark wrote in post #11378839 (external link)
They are only offering it as an aftermarket part, not rolling it into production. Probably for the very same reasons you're seeing a lot of dissent in this thread.

So they are "helping" the sheep over the fence?:D


Middle age is when you can finally afford the things that a young man could truly enjoy.
Tools of the trade

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

18,223 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon offers locking mode dial upgrade for 5D Mark II, 7D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Sofun111
877 guests, 218 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.