Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 02 Dec 2010 (Thursday) 21:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Which Mac for me???

 
cuteangeleyez31
Junior Member
Avatar
29 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Dec 02, 2010 21:56 |  #1

I am going to buying my first apple computer within the next month or so and I was leaning toward getting a Macbook Pro. Would you recommend a Macbook Pro for doing photo editing or would a iMac be better? I debate between having a nice big screen for editing and having something portable in which I could edit while away from the office. Any input would be greatly appreciated :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
MaxxuM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 20
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 02, 2010 22:09 |  #2

Well, what camera are you going to be using and how important is mobility? An iMac i5 or i7 is going to be much faster than a laptop.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dlpasco
Goldmember
1,143 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Sheridan, Wyoming
     
Dec 02, 2010 22:15 |  #3

I have the good fortune of having both - an iMac 27" and a MBP 17". I take the MBP with me when I travel but don't do any heavy editing until I get home. I also have a 24" Apple Cinema display that I hook up to my MBP.

The MBP paired with a good quality display is, IMO, a better option because you get the portability of a laptop and the real estate that comes with a large display. It is more expensive than the iMac option.

I love my iMac simply because of the 27" display.


Dan

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EmmaRose
Goldmember
1,311 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Antwerp, Belgium / Louisville, Kentucky, US
     
Dec 02, 2010 22:18 |  #4

The decision between laptop or desktop is a pretty big one, narrow that down first :p


Gear. Flickr. (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cuteangeleyez31
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
Avatar
29 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Dec 02, 2010 22:35 |  #5

Right now I have a 20D but I plan on getting a 5D in the near future....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shedberg
Goldmember
Avatar
1,122 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Terrace, B.C. Canada
     
Dec 03, 2010 00:40 |  #6

I have a 17" MacBook Pro and it runs PSE like a champ.


My Flickr Page (external link)
6D / 7D / 16-35 II / 35 2.0 IS / 60 macro / 85 1.8 / 135 2 / 100-400 / 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cuteangeleyez31
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
Avatar
29 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Dec 03, 2010 00:44 |  #7

shedberg, what are the specs of your 17" MBP? did you do any upgrades?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
toxic
Goldmember
3,498 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2008
Location: California
     
Dec 03, 2010 01:37 |  #8

A laptop will do fine, a desktop is just better, especially if you do any heavy editing.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cuteangeleyez31
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
Avatar
29 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Dec 03, 2010 01:59 |  #9

i have to ask...what is considered heavy editing? forgive me, i'm a newbie




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mattia
Senior Member
528 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Feb 2009
     
Dec 03, 2010 07:01 |  #10

Large photoshop projects in TIFF, tons of layers. Processing large panoramas.

I even consider fairly 'standard' RAW processing to be relatively heavy depending on the camera - I have an overly powerful system for photo editing alone (needed/wanted the speed for video and audio multitracking, mostly), but processing RAW files from my 5DII does take a bite out of memory and processor resources. I do run DxO most of the time, despite it being slower than Lightroom, because I prefer the results. It also does scale well for multiple threads and processors when it comes down to conversion.


5DII | 300D | 30D IR | 17-40L | 24-105L IS | 70-200/2.8L IS | 100-400L IS | 15 FE | 35L | 50/1.8 mk I | 135L | Sigmalux 50/1.4 | Sigma 105/F2.8 Macro | C/Y Planar 50/1.4 | C/Y Distagon 35/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shedberg
Goldmember
Avatar
1,122 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Terrace, B.C. Canada
     
Dec 03, 2010 10:50 |  #11

cuteangeleyez31 wrote in post #11386850 (external link)
shedberg, what are the specs of your 17" MBP? did you do any upgrades?

2.4GHz Core 2 Duo, I upgraded the RAM from 4GB to 8GB, but PSE worked awesome with just 4GB. The RAM upgrade was for running Win7 in Parallels. Also the 256GB SSD.

Just make sure you're using the high performance video card when editing photos, not the low power video card. My MBP is a year old, so you manually select which video card you want to use, I think the new ones might select automatically in which case forget I said anything.

Panorama shots aren't a problem on my MBP either.


My Flickr Page (external link)
6D / 7D / 16-35 II / 35 2.0 IS / 60 macro / 85 1.8 / 135 2 / 100-400 / 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MaxxuM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 20
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 03, 2010 11:31 |  #12

cuteangeleyez31 wrote in post #11387025 (external link)
i have to ask...what is considered heavy editing? forgive me, i'm a newbie

If you plan on using Aperture 3, it uses the video card as well as the CPU to do it's work. That means, the work will be split between the two. The reason I'm mentioning this is because if you plan on going the Adobe direction (Lightroom), it does not take full advantage of the video card and will require a little more CPU power to accomplish it's tasks. If you go with Aperture, you can get by with either an i5 MBP or i5 iMac, but if you went the Lightroom direction then I would go for the i7 (for either/both). In addition, if you want the power of Photoshop, but are not ready to put in the hours (and hours) it will take to learn it, I would highly recommend Pixelmator (link (external link)). It's powerful to the point of being a real Photoshop alternative and better, it relies heavily on the video card for rendering. That means, again, an i5 will be sufficient. 8GB of RAM and a fast HDD are always good no matter which you choose though.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,687 views & 0 likes for this thread
Which Mac for me???
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is AlanJr
841 guests, 251 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.