Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 17 Jan 2011 (Monday) 12:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

sekonic 358L advice needed.

 
tommmy.star
Senior Member
Avatar
294 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: london
     
Jan 17, 2011 12:40 |  #1

Hi guys,

I'm thinking about buying sekonic 358L flash meter. I know its optional wireless module is compatible with Pocket wizards but does anyone use one with other brands transceivers. Right know I make do with Yongnuorf 602 and I don't really want to splash out on PW just yet and besides I'm hoping that one day I might want to go with Elinchrom lights which have their own skyport system. (will start another thread about elinchrom vs bowens soon:)

So let's say I won't be able to go wireless with my 358L and Youngou, how do you guys trigger your flashes? PC sync cord? I know that with the more expensive models you can press the button on your meter and then fire your flash(<- what's the proper name for it?) and then right exposure gets worked out. Can 358L do the same?

Thanks for your help and advice.


Canon 5DIII |Canon 30mm f2 | Canon 85mm f1.2L |Canon 100mm f2.4L| Canon 70-200mm f2.8II L
London Wedding Photographer (external link)
My 500px.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
thaking
Goldmember
Avatar
1,358 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Lex-vegas
     
Jan 17, 2011 12:53 |  #2

does the yongnuo rf-602 have a test button? i use cybersyncs and just carry the transmitter in my hand and use the test button to fire my flashes..when i've used with strobes, i use a sync cord...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DunnoWhen
Goldmember
Avatar
1,748 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Mar 2006
Location: South Wales
     
Jan 17, 2011 12:58 |  #3

tommmy.star wrote in post #11659118 (external link)
.. you can press the button on your meter and then fire your flash(<- what's the proper name for it?) and then right exposure gets worked out. Can 358L do the same?

Yes.

I too use RF-602's


My wisdom is learned from the experience of others.
...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stuart ­ Leslie
Senior Member
Avatar
611 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Location: New York
     
Jan 17, 2011 13:16 as a reply to  @ DunnoWhen's post |  #4

Me too! I use 602's with my 358. I normally just put it in the "wait for flash" mode - don't rememer what it is called either- and carry transmitter in my hand. I actually like that it slides on and off the camera so easily cause I do it all day! I did make a short cable to connect an extra transmitter so I could trigger the flashes from the 358 but don't really use it. Less bulky, and just as convenient to just put the 358 in the wait mode.


Gear: Canon 5D III, 5D and 7D | 300 f/2.8L IS | 70-200 f/2.8L IS | 85 f/1.8 | 17-55 f/2.8 [COLOR=navy]| 24-105 f/4L | 10-22 | Zeiss 35 f/2 | TS-E 24II | Alienbees
SmugMug Gallery (external link)
Model Mayhem (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tommmy.star
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
294 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: london
     
Jan 17, 2011 13:25 as a reply to  @ Stuart Leslie's post |  #5

Thanks guys.
Your good advice just saved me £30 on a sync cord!:) The rf 602 has the test button indeed so I will either use that or the 'wait for the flash' option.

Have you ever regreted buying L358 for the features of more expensive models? Don't ask me what features cause I only start playing with my speedlights?:)

Once again, thanks a lot for your advice.


Canon 5DIII |Canon 30mm f2 | Canon 85mm f1.2L |Canon 100mm f2.4L| Canon 70-200mm f2.8II L
London Wedding Photographer (external link)
My 500px.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stuart ­ Leslie
Senior Member
Avatar
611 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Location: New York
     
Jan 17, 2011 15:49 |  #6

tommmy.star wrote in post #11659392 (external link)
Thanks guys.
Your good advice just saved me £30 on a sync cord!:) The rf 602 has the test button indeed so I will either use that or the 'wait for the flash' option.

Actually you will use both at the same time...

358 is all you need for now... get one and enjoy!


Gear: Canon 5D III, 5D and 7D | 300 f/2.8L IS | 70-200 f/2.8L IS | 85 f/1.8 | 17-55 f/2.8 [COLOR=navy]| 24-105 f/4L | 10-22 | Zeiss 35 f/2 | TS-E 24II | Alienbees
SmugMug Gallery (external link)
Model Mayhem (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tommmy.star
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
294 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: london
     
Jan 17, 2011 16:25 as a reply to  @ Stuart Leslie's post |  #7

Of course, I will, stupid me!:)


Canon 5DIII |Canon 30mm f2 | Canon 85mm f1.2L |Canon 100mm f2.4L| Canon 70-200mm f2.8II L
London Wedding Photographer (external link)
My 500px.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike ­ Condax
Member
206 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Oct 2009
     
Jan 17, 2011 16:37 |  #8

I have the Paul C Bluff transmitters and I carry the receiver with me to trigger the flash....love the 358 as well!


Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 24-105L, Canon 135L, Canon 40D, Canon 50 f/1.4, Tokina 12-24

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,400 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 11
Joined Feb 2005
Location: Kalama, WA USA
     
Jan 17, 2011 17:43 |  #9

I use a Sekonic L-358 and have never regretted not going up to a better unit.

I use AB Cybersyncs and bought an BU transmitter, which I use to fire the flash when setting up and metering. The L-358 has an auto-reset cordless flash mode - press the meter button and it waits for the next flash, then you just fire the flash with the test button on your transmitter.


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jffuerte
Senior Member
648 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2010
Location: San Diego
     
Jan 17, 2011 17:48 |  #10

I also use RF602's and the L358, works great


-Jerel
Instagram (external link)
Fuerte Photography (external link)
Facebook (external link)
500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
Avatar
13,845 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 35
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Australia
     
Jan 18, 2011 04:51 as a reply to  @ jffuerte's post |  #11

I use a Sekonic L-358 and RF-602 triggers/receivers.. I have two transmitters, one mounted on my camera and another in my hand to fire my flashes for exposure checks..


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~G11~S95~GoPro Hero4 Silver
http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
20,475 posts
Likes: 154
Joined Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
     
Jan 18, 2011 06:41 |  #12

yogestee wrote in post #11664207 (external link)
I use a Sekonic L-358 and RF-602 triggers/receivers.. I have two transmitters, one mounted on my camera and another in my hand to fire my flashes for exposure checks..

I do precisely the same thing, but with Elinchrom Skyport Universal transmitters (and their receivers on my flash units, of course ;) ).


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
10,247 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
     
Jan 18, 2011 09:00 as a reply to  @ SkipD's post |  #13

I use my Sekonic with my Cactus V4 triggers. Works great and at a fraction of the price of a PW module/PW setup.

I actually wire up my "extra" (non-camera mounted) transmitter to the meter so pressing the measure button on the meter fires my lights.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,030 views & 0 likes for this thread
sekonic 358L advice needed.
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is PDXfoto
796 guests, 436 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.