Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 Sep 2010 (Thursday) 20:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 60D Users, Unite!

 
this thread is locked
Canon_Lover
Goldmember
Avatar
2,695 posts
Likes: 102
Joined Jan 2011
Location: WA
     
Jan 20, 2011 21:26 |  #2221

Hardcore wrote in post #11682447 (external link)
It is a patriot 16gb LX Class 10. Rated pretty well according to the reviews. I will have to try the low level format on it.... haven't done that yet!

I bet $100 space bucks that is it. :cool:

Always low level format new cards. I don't even have to reformat mine much. I always dump files back and forth too.


My 500PX (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Hardcore
Goldmember
Avatar
2,668 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jul 2008
     
Jan 20, 2011 21:33 |  #2222

Low level format and it didn't help. It just buffers out when shooting raw. Switch to Jpeg and it can shoot repeated jpegs while shooting video without any buffer meter.


Name: Corey
GEAR
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
muskyhunter
Goldmember
Avatar
1,137 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jan 20, 2011 21:52 |  #2223

I use 2 x 16gb class 10 patriot and I have no buffer issues. I shoot raw only.



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
macroshooter1970
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,493 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Arizona
     
Jan 20, 2011 21:54 |  #2224

Tried with one of mine, didn't have any problems. SanDisk 16GB 16G SD SDHC Extreme Class10




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hardcore
Goldmember
Avatar
2,668 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jul 2008
     
Jan 20, 2011 22:00 |  #2225

muskyhunter wrote in post #11682673 (external link)
I use 2 x 16gb class 10 patriot and I have no buffer issues. I shoot raw only.

Can you get it to buffer out by misuse? Say you take 5 or so picture repeatedly while shooting 1080p video?


Name: Corey
GEAR
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Memory_Junction
Senior Member
317 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 4
Joined Dec 2010
Location: I live in the wilds of the yukon Territory.
     
Jan 20, 2011 23:43 |  #2226

Lighting is pretty low at the local arena. 1/80s f/4 iso 6400. I got the exposure right, but next time I think that I'll intentionally underexpose by a stop and a half and shoot RAW so I can pull back detail -that would give me a fast enough shutter speed to freeze the action.

I'll post em anyways -all part of the learning process!


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bow lines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. -Mark Twain.
http://www.memory-junction.com/external link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Memory_Junction
Senior Member
317 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 4
Joined Dec 2010
Location: I live in the wilds of the yukon Territory.
     
Jan 20, 2011 23:57 |  #2227

Memory_Junction wrote in post #11683203 (external link)
Lighting is pretty low at the local arena. 1/80s f/4 iso 6400. I got the exposure right, but next time I think that I'll intentionally underexpose by a stop and a half and shoot RAW so I can pull back detail -that would give me a fast enough shutter speed to freeze the action.

I'll post em anyways -all part of the learning process!

Same pic with noise removal and high pass sharpen. Interesting that the high speed noise reduction was enabled in the camera, but the reduction in noise in the computer software was dramatic.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bow lines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. -Mark Twain.
http://www.memory-junction.com/external link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Evil_Edge
Senior Member
Avatar
314 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Cobourg, Ontario
     
Jan 21, 2011 05:10 |  #2228

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png' | Redirected to error image by ZENFOLIO PROTECTED

Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Memory_Junction
Senior Member
317 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 4
Joined Dec 2010
Location: I live in the wilds of the yukon Territory.
     
Jan 21, 2011 09:09 |  #2229

Evil_Edge wrote in post #11684186 (external link)
IMAGE NOT FOUND
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png' | Redirected to error image by ZENFOLIO PROTECTED

I lightened up the highlights a bit. Hey, is this for crucifix for the black sheep?


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bow lines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. -Mark Twain.
http://www.memory-junction.com/external link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hentium
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Jan 21, 2011 14:12 as a reply to  @ post 11681506 |  #2230

Thanks muskyhunter,

I got mine to work last night. But the catch is, I had to remove the grip from the camera body, re-attach it, and it worked. I plugged two genuine LP-E6 batteries on the tray, registered the batteries, and it worked like a charm. BUT, the I switched the LP-E6 for a pair of 3rd party (coded) LP-E6s, and it won't re-register the new battery numbers, UNTIL I remove the grip from the body and re-attach it. I guess I'll deal with this quirk than to shell out for a canon one, which I'm not sure if it exhibits the same problem.


5D2 / 60D: 24-105 L | EF-S 10-22 | 50 1.4 | 85 1.8 | 580EX II | 430 EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hentium
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Jan 21, 2011 14:20 |  #2231

Does anyone know if triggering off-camera slaves (580 EX II, 430 EX II), with the 60D's pop up flash in Manual Mode (not ETTL), if the pop up fires a pre-flash.

I was planning to get some Alien Bees, and having them triggered via optical slaves. I would use the 60D as the master to trigger the 580 & 430 in manual with the flash pulse, but would the Alien Bee prematurely fire if it sensed the pre-flash if there was a pre-flash?


5D2 / 60D: 24-105 L | EF-S 10-22 | 50 1.4 | 85 1.8 | 580EX II | 430 EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
matthew.saji
Senior Member
Avatar
438 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Location: NJ
     
Jan 21, 2011 14:27 |  #2232

Hentium wrote in post #11686869 (external link)
Does anyone know if triggering off-camera slaves (580 EX II, 430 EX II), with the 60D's pop up flash in Manual Mode (not ETTL), if the pop up fires a pre-flash.

I was planning to get some Alien Bees, and having them triggered via optical slaves. I would use the 60D as the master to trigger the 580 & 430 in manual with the flash pulse, but would the Alien Bee prematurely fire if it sensed the pre-flash if there was a pre-flash?

I think there is a mode to turn off the pre-flash...hum now I will look into it.


5DMKII or 5D MK III
Enough gear for now... need to get out and shoot more.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Joe ­ Ravenstein
Goldmember
2,338 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: E Tx
     
Jan 21, 2011 15:19 |  #2233

Well with this thread I have posted in the new T!i owners, the new T2i and as of today my new 60D acquisition. MY gripped T2i is going to my youngest daughter who is passing her well used gripped XSI to one of her offspring.( Her oldest daughter got my T1i for her 21st birthday). I got the Canon branded grip and the Sigma 85mm f1.4 (specifically for portrait work). I got the body for the same price the larger online stores are asking and I got it in my hands at the store. Just sayin LOL


Canon 60D,18-55mm,55-250mm,50mm compact macro, AF ext tubes. Sigma 8-16mm uwa, 18-250mm, 85mm F1.4, 150-500mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Immaculens
creeped by the TF....
Avatar
13,208 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 3177
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Southern Canada
     
Jan 21, 2011 15:53 |  #2234

Joe Ravenstein wrote in post #11687204 (external link)
Just sayin LOL

Congrats Joe!


Will immaculens.com (external link)

7Dmk II gripped | 5Dc | 150-600 (Σ) OS C | 55-250 IS STM | 100L f/2.8 IS Macro | 15-85 IS | 50 f/1.8 STM | 30 Σ f/1.4 'A'
Learn to love to do well, and you shall. ~ C. Poseidon

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bespoke
Senior Member
Avatar
710 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 8
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
     
Jan 21, 2011 17:05 |  #2235

Hentium wrote in post #11686869 (external link)
Does anyone know if triggering off-camera slaves (580 EX II, 430 EX II), with the 60D's pop up flash in Manual Mode (not ETTL), if the pop up fires a pre-flash.

I was planning to get some Alien Bees, and having them triggered via optical slaves. I would use the 60D as the master to trigger the 580 & 430 in manual with the flash pulse, but would the Alien Bee prematurely fire if it sensed the pre-flash if there was a pre-flash?

edit: nvm. still trying to figure out how to do it

Oh and I just picked up the grip at Henrys for 150 today. Great deal if you want the canon one.


Toronto Fashion Photographer (external link)
5D3 & 5D2s | 24 TS-E II, 24-70 II, 85L II, 100L, 70-200L II, 35 & 85 Zeiss ZE, Samyang 14, Sigma 50
Hasselblads + Leaf Aptus MFDB, Fuji X100, Epson 3880/9890

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,649,453 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 60D Users, Unite!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dayuan99
797 guests, 307 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.