Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 Feb 2011 (Wednesday) 22:02
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Problem with 5D MKII grip not working

 
scpictaker
Goldmember
Avatar
1,385 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Edgerton Wis
     
Feb 23, 2011 22:02 |  #1

Shot a wedding last sat and I would switch to portrait orientation for a bit and then back to landscape orientation and press the shutter button and..........NOTHING. I had to turn the camera off then back on again to get it to work then just shut off the grip all together. Anyone else have this happen?


My Flickr (external link)
Canon 5D MKIII l 7D MKII l 24-105L l 16-35 L II l Sigma 50 1.4 ART l 70-200 2.8 L II l 24-70L l EOS M l 2X III l Rok 14mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,925 posts
Gallery: 1738 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 5627
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Feb 24, 2011 02:18 |  #2

What most likely happened was the index finger wheel/dial on the grip was stuck between two clicks. This has happened to me on my 40D (which made me freak out for a bit), and once on my 7D, and I suspected as much (due to my experience on the 40D) and the problem was fixed immediately by just making sure the wheel moved to the next "notch/click".


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Andyman
Member
43 posts
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Feb 24, 2011 05:58 as a reply to  @ jwcdds's post |  #3

Is the grip tightened up on the thumbwheel firmly? I had both my shutter buttons lock up when my grip loosened itself off slightly.

Andy.


www.andyreedphotograph​y.co.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DetlevCM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,431 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Europe
     
Feb 24, 2011 07:56 |  #4

-> Original Canon grip?

On that note, even if the Canon grip were ever so slightly loose, it would still work correctly.

I've seen the "wheel stuck between positions" mentioned a couple of times.
On that note, does the camera work flawlessly with the grip turned off (off switch on grip)?


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Andyman
Member
43 posts
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Feb 24, 2011 08:12 |  #5

DetlevCM wrote in post #11904534 (external link)
On that note, even if the Canon grip were ever so slightly loose, it would still work correctly.

Definitely not true I'm afraid. As mine did just that. Tightening it solved the problem.

Andy.


www.andyreedphotograph​y.co.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DetlevCM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,431 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Europe
     
Feb 24, 2011 08:17 |  #6

Andyman wrote in post #11904571 (external link)
Definitely not true I'm afraid. As mine did just that. Tightening it solved the problem.

Andy.

-> If mine is slightly use it'┬┤ll still work.

Of course I don't mean loose in the term of wiggling around - but loose as in not fully tightened. That's why the pins are spring loaded by the way -> the only issue you get on a (non-faulty) grip when it's not attached well enough is the micro switch not being depressed enough in the battery door area.


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
moemoe6434
Senior Member
448 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Feb 24, 2011 08:32 |  #7

I am embarrased to say I have had the same issue... What was wrong with it? Nothing. I acidentally turned the grip switch to "off" on the side. Check to see if you have the same "problem".


https://photography-on-the.net …p?p=14246741#po​st14246741

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scpictaker
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,385 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Edgerton Wis
     
Feb 24, 2011 09:03 |  #8

Camera works fine with it off, I would go back to portrait angle and the grip would work still, so I dont think the wheel was stuck between clicks. As I stated I had to turn off the 5D and then turn it back on to get the shutter button to unfreeze. Weird huh? I just got the grip too.


My Flickr (external link)
Canon 5D MKIII l 7D MKII l 24-105L l 16-35 L II l Sigma 50 1.4 ART l 70-200 2.8 L II l 24-70L l EOS M l 2X III l Rok 14mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DetlevCM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,431 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Europe
     
Feb 24, 2011 09:10 |  #9

scpictaker wrote in post #11904770 (external link)
Camera works fine with it off, I would go back to portrait angle and the grip would work still, so I dont think the wheel was stuck between clicks. As I stated I had to turn off the 5D and then turn it back on to get the shutter button to unfreeze. Weird huh? I just got the grip too.

Make??? You still didn't answer that one... if it's some cheap third party product they might have messed up....

-> On that note, I don't think that could be an issue here, but if you remove it, are all pins at the same height? (they are spring loaded)


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scpictaker
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,385 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Edgerton Wis
     
Feb 24, 2011 10:03 |  #10

oops sorry, its a Canon grip. BG-E6


My Flickr (external link)
Canon 5D MKIII l 7D MKII l 24-105L l 16-35 L II l Sigma 50 1.4 ART l 70-200 2.8 L II l 24-70L l EOS M l 2X III l Rok 14mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DetlevCM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,431 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 20
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Europe
     
Feb 24, 2011 11:51 |  #11

scpictaker wrote in post #11905126 (external link)
oops sorry, its a Canon grip. BG-E6

Hmm, strange indeed... I just got home...

-> I can loosen my grip quite a bit before it stops working.
I also tested it on my shutter wheel at "half a notch" and the shutter still works fine...

So I really have no idea what could be going on there - whatever it is, it's not normal.

Something that does spring to mind right now is maybe dirty contacts?

Maybe also contact Canon? Because in that state you can't rely on the grip...


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
moemoe6434
Senior Member
448 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Feb 24, 2011 12:17 |  #12

Did you read my post? Did you make sure the grip is turned "on"?


https://photography-on-the.net …p?p=14246741#po​st14246741

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scpictaker
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,385 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Edgerton Wis
     
Feb 24, 2011 17:06 |  #13

Yes, the grip was on. I eventually just turned it off all together.


My Flickr (external link)
Canon 5D MKIII l 7D MKII l 24-105L l 16-35 L II l Sigma 50 1.4 ART l 70-200 2.8 L II l 24-70L l EOS M l 2X III l Rok 14mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scpictaker
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,385 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Edgerton Wis
     
Feb 24, 2011 17:06 |  #14

I will try to get it to do it again tonight.


My Flickr (external link)
Canon 5D MKIII l 7D MKII l 24-105L l 16-35 L II l Sigma 50 1.4 ART l 70-200 2.8 L II l 24-70L l EOS M l 2X III l Rok 14mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,487 views & 0 likes for this thread
Problem with 5D MKII grip not working
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is DudeInIndy
765 guests, 190 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.