Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Nikon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Nikon Cameras 
Thread started 05 Feb 2010 (Friday) 20:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Got a Nikon? Share your thoughts and photos here or ask a question! (II)

 
this thread is locked
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,986 posts
Likes: 361
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Mar 24, 2011 02:22 |  #1186

Don't worry too much, I know about how big an install will be, as long as it fits on the 60GB SSD that's the main thing - and it will.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Mar 24, 2011 08:14 |  #1187

tim wrote in post #12081645 (external link)
So 30GB maybe. You can move the iTunes library.

You're right, and I'd have to change a lot of bad habits such as using my desktop as a holding bin for large video files and keep my Downloads folder clear. I was up to 95GB at one point and the lowest I was able to get to (pre-iTunes) was around 60GB, which is why I can see if I move iTunes AND my Outlook pst files I will be close to 40GB. I'm at 80GB right now.

I'm going to try Treesize as you suggested and see where the other bloat is hiding. Right now I have about 8GB of unaccounted for "stuff".


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Mar 24, 2011 08:43 |  #1188

Treesize is pretty cool. Here's some results (out of 41.7GB for "Users"):


In my Users -> AppData -> Local folder (7.1GB total)


Microsoft: 4.2GB (including 2.9GB for Windows Virtual PC and 1GB for Outlook)

In my Users -> AppData ->Roaming folder (14.2GB total)

Adobe: 8.5GB (cache)
Apple: 4.5GB (MobileSync Backup???)


In my Music folder (19.5GB total)

iTunes Music: 17.0GB
Images sync'd w/iPad: 2.5GB


Everything else is tiny, and most is installed by Microsoft or other applications. I have less than 1GB of small folders of data on my desktop or in "Documents".

From the above I may be able to move:

1GB for Outlook
4.5GB for MobileSync (no idea if I can)
19.5GB from my Music folder
8.5 GB for Adobe cache

or 33.5GB total from my current 80GB. This would give me an a minimum requirement of 46.5GB.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JHutch
Senior Member
Avatar
595 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
Mar 24, 2011 08:44 |  #1189

I don't know much about computers. Is it still ok to post pictures taken by Nikon's in this thread?

IMAGE: http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5027/5555265484_9492050b81_z.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com …/39648228@N02/5​555265484/  (external link)

D700+Voigtlander 40mm+Nikkor 28mm f/2.8 ai-s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peterbj7
Goldmember
3,123 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: A Caribbean island in Belize and occasionally UK
     
Mar 24, 2011 10:53 |  #1190

tim wrote in post #12081127 (external link)
Just ordered two OWC SSDs - 60GB for OS, and 115GB for swap/cache! Will upgrade my Q6600 PC to 8GB of RAM as well, and i'll probably get Windows 7. Editing should fly!

I "upgraded" to Win 7 (ultimate) a while back, and I couldn't have been more disappointed. In most respects it's an advance on Vista of course, but then Vista was so awful that's not saying much. But in its use of multiple processors it's worse than Vista - MS don't seem to have a clue on how best to share processing. Even with a quad processor video and audio "stutter" as the one processor is swapped out to do something else, leaving the other three processors unused. It's a very bad joke.


5D & 7D (both gripped), 24-105L, 100-400L, 15-85, 50 f1.8, Tamron 28-75, Sigma 12-24, G10, EX-Z55 & U/W housing, A1+10 lenses, tripods, lighting gear, etc. etc.
"I prefer radio to television. The pictures are better"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Clevereddie
Member
48 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
Mar 24, 2011 18:35 |  #1191

For some reason I touched my cameras sensor with my finger last night -_-
then I tried to clean it with a q tip and made it worse lol
I bought a micro fiber cloth today and it helped, it cleaned the oil from my fingerprint, and now it looks good again lol. I've learned to never touch my cameras sensor again




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peterbj7
Goldmember
3,123 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: A Caribbean island in Belize and occasionally UK
     
Mar 24, 2011 19:18 |  #1192

Use Sensor Swabs!


5D & 7D (both gripped), 24-105L, 100-400L, 15-85, 50 f1.8, Tamron 28-75, Sigma 12-24, G10, EX-Z55 & U/W housing, A1+10 lenses, tripods, lighting gear, etc. etc.
"I prefer radio to television. The pictures are better"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
monk3y
Totally Saturated
Avatar
46,198 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 57
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Cloud and Honey
     
Mar 24, 2011 20:52 |  #1193

tim wrote in post #12081694 (external link)
Don't worry too much, I know about how big an install will be, as long as it fits on the 60GB SSD that's the main thing - and it will.

I have not tried it last night..GF used the pc :(

Bob_A wrote in post #12082478 (external link)
You're right, and I'd have to change a lot of bad habits such as using my desktop as a holding bin for large video files and keep my Downloads folder clear. I was up to 95GB at one point and the lowest I was able to get to (pre-iTunes) was around 60GB, which is why I can see if I move iTunes AND my Outlook pst files I will be close to 40GB. I'm at 80GB right now.

I'm going to try Treesize as you suggested and see where the other bloat is hiding. Right now I have about 8GB of unaccounted for "stuff".

yeah I save everything on desktop before... I now save everything on drive D (1TB 7200rpm).


www.monk3y.com (external link) | My GEAR

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,986 posts
Likes: 361
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Mar 25, 2011 06:05 |  #1194

Any finger oil on the sensor can be cleaned off using the Copper Hill Method/equipment (external link). I've been using it for years, works great. Bit fiddly.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Southswede
Senior Member
950 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2004
     
Mar 25, 2011 07:08 |  #1195

tim wrote in post #12089099 (external link)
Any finger oil on the sensor can be cleaned off using the Copper Hill Method/equipment (external link). I've been using it for years, works great. Bit fiddly.

There use to be two types of solution. Did they do away with one of them? Does it make a difference which one you use on which camera?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peterbj7
Goldmember
3,123 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: A Caribbean island in Belize and occasionally UK
     
Mar 25, 2011 10:34 |  #1196

Use the one they recommend for your camera. They guarantee it won't cause damage.


5D & 7D (both gripped), 24-105L, 100-400L, 15-85, 50 f1.8, Tamron 28-75, Sigma 12-24, G10, EX-Z55 & U/W housing, A1+10 lenses, tripods, lighting gear, etc. etc.
"I prefer radio to television. The pictures are better"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,986 posts
Likes: 361
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Mar 25, 2011 14:21 |  #1197

Pretty sure they've decided either is fine for either camera, but check the chart on the Copper Hill website or the one below.

http://www.photosol.co​m/eclipseproduct.htm (external link)


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peterbj7
Goldmember
3,123 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: A Caribbean island in Belize and occasionally UK
     
Mar 25, 2011 22:02 |  #1198

There's a slightly heated discussion going on elsewhere on the merits of on-camera flash on high-end cameras. As a 5DC user I regret that that camera doesn't include it, nor does the 5D2 that replaced it. I do have a separate flash, but it's so convenient on occasion having the flash that's part of my 7D.

How many D700 users find any use for the on-board flash they have, and would they miss it if the replacement camera (whatever it's called) doesn't have it?


5D & 7D (both gripped), 24-105L, 100-400L, 15-85, 50 f1.8, Tamron 28-75, Sigma 12-24, G10, EX-Z55 & U/W housing, A1+10 lenses, tripods, lighting gear, etc. etc.
"I prefer radio to television. The pictures are better"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chippy569
Goldmember
Avatar
1,851 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Mar 25, 2011 22:24 |  #1199

On cam flash is the easiest way to make pics look flat and ugly. Plus accidentally hitting that flash button sucks. Good riddance.


Gear List
David Nichols (external link) - Sound Designer
How to export to Youtube HD from Quicktime

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,986 posts
Likes: 361
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Mar 25, 2011 22:29 |  #1200

I used the on camera flash on my 20D to take pics at a party once. Since then it's only ever gotten in the way.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

771,081 views & 0 likes for this thread
Got a Nikon? Share your thoughts and photos here or ask a question! (II)
FORUMS Nikon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Nikon Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gardenchefs
1180 guests, 346 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.