Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 28 Sep 2008 (Sunday) 14:51
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What's Your Computer Build?

 
Tom ­ W
Canon Fanosapien
Avatar
12,747 posts
Likes: 23
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee
     
May 23, 2011 20:38 |  #661

AHWagner wrote in post #12465750 (external link)
Thanks for the input. When I get the money, I'm going to get at least 8 gigs of ram installed.

Yes, absolutely. And the 64-bit OS to go with it. I just jumped from 4-gig on a Vista-32 bit, to 8 gig on a Win-7 64-bit. Bit difference with Photoshop. I still "suffer" with a dual-core processor, but my Mobo is a little old and won't handle any but the oldest, slowest quads. Still, an E8500 at 3,8 GHZ isn't bad, and is certainly a little faster than the 6750 it replaced.

If I was a gamer, I'd be looking at things a little differently.


Tom
5D IV, M5, RP, & various lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
AHWagner
Goldmember
Avatar
2,590 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
     
May 23, 2011 21:38 |  #662

*sigh* wrote in post #12466208 (external link)
The yes the extra ram will help out. The SSD would be strictly for OS and programs. Mainly large programs like CS5, LR3, any games you want on there etc.

So then I'd have to reformat my computer onto the SSD, correct?

Tom W wrote in post #12466510 (external link)
Yes, absolutely. And the 64-bit OS to go with it. I just jumped from 4-gig on a Vista-32 bit, to 8 gig on a Win-7 64-bit. Bit difference with Photoshop. I still "suffer" with a dual-core processor, but my Mobo is a little old and won't handle any but the oldest, slowest quads. Still, an E8500 at 3,8 GHZ isn't bad, and is certainly a little faster than the 6750 it replaced.

If I was a gamer, I'd be looking at things a little differently.

Yeah, I have 64-Bit Windows 7. I'm hoping if I get 8 gig's that things would be sped up a noticeable bit then the 4 gigs I'm on right now.


www.andrewhwagner.com (external link)
Instagram (external link) | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
*sigh*
Hardware Master (or something like that)
Avatar
25,047 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
     
May 23, 2011 21:40 |  #663

AHWagner wrote in post #12466834 (external link)
So then I'd have to reformat my computer onto the SSD, correct?

There are ways to image it, but I'd suggest a fresh install.


-Nick | Gear | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AHWagner
Goldmember
Avatar
2,590 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
     
May 23, 2011 21:40 |  #664

hmm.. not really looking to do that. Maybe next year. :-P


www.andrewhwagner.com (external link)
Instagram (external link) | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dexinthecity
Senior Member
294 posts
Joined May 2011
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
     
May 23, 2011 22:42 |  #665

AHWagner wrote in post #12466852 (external link)
hmm.. not really looking to do that. Maybe next year. :-P

you don't have to, just make sure that when you install the SSD and install windows on it that the SSD is the only one connected and no other HDD is connected. After windows is installed you can shut down the PC and connect the other HDD and move files over to the SSD and install any other programs you want.

In other words the SSD becomes primary and the other HDDs are slaves or data drives.


Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mtnbkr1
Senior Member
257 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles
     
May 23, 2011 22:58 |  #666

About to build:
Apevia X-Cruiser 2
Thermaltake TR2 RX 850 Watt Ultra Quiet
Asus P8P67 Deluxe
i7 2600K and will OC it to 4.5-5
Liquid Cooling
16gb 1866 Corsair Ram
NVIDIA GeForce 1.5GB GTX 580
Dual boot Win7 and OSX Snow Leopard on OCZ Vertez 3's

any comments/suggestions?
This will be only the second time I've built a comp so still a bit nervous


5Dc | 85L | 1200 f5.6L | Lighting

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
plasticmotif
Goldmember
Avatar
3,174 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Tennessee
     
May 24, 2011 09:34 |  #667

mtnbkr1 wrote in post #12467206 (external link)
About to build:
Apevia X-Cruiser 2
Thermaltake TR2 RX 850 Watt Ultra Quiet
Asus P8P67 Deluxe
i7 2600K and will OC it to 4.5-5
Liquid Cooling
16gb 1866 Corsair Ram
NVIDIA GeForce 1.5GB GTX 580
Dual boot Win7 and OSX Snow Leopard on OCZ Vertez 3's

any comments/suggestions?
This will be only the second time I've built a comp so still a bit nervous

why dual boot?


Mac P.
My Zenfolio (external link) My Photo Blog (external link) My Equipment
https://photography-on-the.net …p?p=14172975#po​st14172975

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
musso
Senior Member
Avatar
662 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 37
Joined Dec 2007
Location: 36.039N - 114.981W
     
May 24, 2011 10:00 |  #668

CPU: i7-920 2.66 GHz

MOTHERBOARD: P6T DELUXE OC PLAM edition

CASE: antec-1200

POWER SUPPLY: 1000WATT AXP SUPER NOVA

MEMORY: G.SKILL 12 GB DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

HHD: 1 western digital velociraptor 300GB 10,000 rpm
1 Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"

VIDEO CARD: SAPPHIRE 100251SR Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit (256-bit x 2) and has Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 4870X2 VGA Cooler

DVD BURNER:I HAVE 2 DVD BURNERS 1 IS HP AND 1 IS SONY.

CASE FANS: MASSCOOL BLD12025S1M 120mm Blue LED Case Fan

CPU COOLING: CORSAIR H50

AND 2 HP w2408h




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
*sigh*
Hardware Master (or something like that)
Avatar
25,047 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
     
May 24, 2011 10:13 |  #669

plasticmotif wrote in post #12469243 (external link)
why dual boot?

Why not? :p :lol:


-Nick | Gear | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rishu_pepper
Goldmember
1,044 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
     
May 24, 2011 12:30 |  #670

mtnbkr1 wrote in post #12467206 (external link)
About to build:
Apevia X-Cruiser 2
Thermaltake TR2 RX 850 Watt Ultra Quiet
Asus P8P67 Deluxe
i7 2600K and will OC it to 4.5-5
Liquid Cooling
16gb 1866 Corsair Ram
NVIDIA GeForce 1.5GB GTX 580
Dual boot Win7 and OSX Snow Leopard on OCZ Vertez 3's

any comments/suggestions?
This will be only the second time I've built a comp so still a bit nervous

This will be a beast. Are you a hardcore gamer? I'm just asking because you have the GTX 580 which is overkill for anything but the most intensive games and/or 3+ monitors setups.


~My SmugMug~ (external link)
~Gear List and Feedback~

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mtnbkr1
Senior Member
257 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles
     
May 24, 2011 12:53 |  #671

*sigh* wrote in post #12469455 (external link)
Why not? :p :lol:

Exactly, I think it'd be awesome to have a choice of OS.

rishu_pepper wrote in post #12470299 (external link)
This will be a beast. Are you a hardcore gamer? I'm just asking because you have the GTX 580 which is overkill for anything but the most intensive games and/or 3+ monitors setups.

No not at all, I was hoping that future versions of CS5 and other programs (I do alot of cpu intense science simulations/models) would utilize CUDA technology. I was hoping I could migrate that way and get significantly more power.

But then again I don't know if the technology will really pan out. I'll be using dual monitors and could get a GTX 480 for $100 less, do you think thats a better idea?


5Dc | 85L | 1200 f5.6L | Lighting

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
YP5 ­ Toronto
Senior Member
Avatar
499 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
     
May 24, 2011 15:16 |  #672

Updated...PSU died...Enermax replaced with an upgrade.

Updated:

Computer name: Haven
CPU: Intel i7 920 @ 4.2Ghz, 1600mhz QPI
Cooler: Koolance 350, Swiftech 655, MCR220 Rad, 4 x Scythe S-Flex Push Pull
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe V2
GPU: EVGA Limited Edition Nvdia GTX 590
RAM:
6x2gb OCZ 1600 Platinum 7-7-7-24
HD1: 1 x OCZ Vertex 2 Extended 100GB - OS
HD2: 2 x 60GB OCZ Summit SSD - Raid 0
HD3: 3 x 30GB OCZ Vertex SSD - Raid 0
HD4: 1 x Intel XM-25M 80GB SSD
HD5: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1 TB x 2 in Raid 1
HD6: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2 TB x 2 in Raid 1
Optical: 2 x Sony 18x DVD RW drives
PSU: Enermax ERV1020EWT REVOLUTION85+ 1020W
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Case: Coolermaster Cosmos S
Display: HP LP3065 30" Wide 2560 x 1600
Display: Dell 2005FPW - Inverted Portrait
Speakers: Logitech G51 Surround Sound Speaker System
IO: Logitech G15, MX518
Photo related: PS LR, Delkin USB 3.0 Universal Card Reader, ColorVision Spyder 3 Pro


Canon 7D Gripped |Tokina 11-16 | Sigma 30mm F1.4 |Canon EF 24-70L | |Canon EF 70-200L F2.8IS MKI |Sigma 530DG | Giottos 9360 | Giottos MH-1301 | Giottos MH656 | Spyder2Pro | Kata 3IN1-20 | Kata Bumblebee UL-222

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rishu_pepper
Goldmember
1,044 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
     
May 24, 2011 15:27 |  #673

mtnbkr1 wrote in post #12470442 (external link)
No not at all, I was hoping that future versions of CS5 and other programs (I do alot of cpu intense science simulations/models) would utilize CUDA technology. I was hoping I could migrate that way and get significantly more power.

But then again I don't know if the technology will really pan out. I'll be using dual monitors and could get a GTX 480 for $100 less, do you think thats a better idea?

As you already mentioned, your usages are CPU intensive (which you have it covered in spades with the 2600k), not GPU, so with a simple 2-monitors setup a GTX 480 is plenty. The 580 is super-duper hardcore 1337 haxorz pro gamer card. Save that $100 for a nice dinner ;)


~My SmugMug~ (external link)
~Gear List and Feedback~

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mtnbkr1
Senior Member
257 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles
     
May 24, 2011 16:21 |  #674

rishu_pepper wrote in post #12471327 (external link)
As you already mentioned, your usages are CPU intensive (which you have it covered in spades with the 2600k), not GPU, so with a simple 2-monitors setup a GTX 480 is plenty. The 580 is super-duper hardcore 1337 haxorz pro gamer card. Save that $100 for a nice dinner ;)

Haha alright makes sense, thanks for the money saver tip.


5Dc | 85L | 1200 f5.6L | Lighting

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dexinthecity
Senior Member
294 posts
Joined May 2011
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
     
May 24, 2011 16:26 |  #675

I'm assuming money is not an issue? Keep the 580, it runs cooler than the 480 and its the best single card solutions to date. Later down the road when you feel like you can't max out the new games get a second 580.


Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

505,444 views & 131 likes for this thread
What's Your Computer Build?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is PhotoEngineering
923 guests, 339 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.